X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
TRP Spyre Road Mechanical Disc Brake

TRPSpyre Road Mechanical Disc Brake(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(5)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(64%)
(36%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Very good product
by Spokes
spokane wa

These calipers are a vital part of a budget gravel build. With a good rotor they have plenty of power when broken-in. Very hilly commute.

Reviewed 6/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best disc brakes for the cost
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida

Installed on our tandems

Reviewed 5/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
High quality, easily adjustable, good stopping power
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, CA

I bought this brake to replace a TRP HY RD , which I found to be very hard to re-adjust when changing to beefier wheels. The Spyre allows full adjustment of pads from both sides of the rim making for easy wheel changes.

I use it on the back wheel and find the stopping power more than adequate and in control.

It is a low maintenance brake with a very good value.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good product, for a cable brake
by DT
Portland

So far so good. These calipers replaced 6 year old Avid BB5s. They are certainly much easier to adjust than the BB5s. They have not squealed or otherwise made a horrible noise when used. They have done a decent job of shedding to muck of a winter commuter. They are not as powerful as I had hoped, but they are only cable actuated. I will replace my brake housings over the summer and that may help. I am still on my first set of pads so I cant say much on durability yet, but they dont seem any worse than BB5s. I am guessing they should be a bit better since they pull more uniformly from both sides and are easier to adjust so they dont rub. All in all a good brake if you have to go with a cable.

Reviewed 3/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Should have switched sooner
by Ed''s Shop
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, Oh

I took too long to discover these brakes. Totally eliminates fiddling and that annoying squeak whenever you remount your wheel. Replacement was vey simple. Cables were a perfect match to my old Avids. The entire install was less than 20 minutes.

Reviewed 5/3/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to adjust but be mindful if you're a bit heavy
by Ricky
Portland
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love these brakes and I will always buy them for disc road bikes or cross bikes. The only thing that sucks is that they are a bit burly and if you press on the handlebars too hard whole you're mashing away the spokes may flex and hit the brake itself. Aside from that these brakes are easy to adjust and way better than the Hayes cx expert brakes I had.

Reviewed 5/21/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nearly the best mechanical caliper you can buy
by Bryan S
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Outstanding product. Works beautifully. Takes a little tweaking to get them dialed in the first time after intial mounting, though, but once you have, they're awesome.

Reviewed 2/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Came with a rotor too
by Basement Troll mechanic
Competitive Racer
New England

Bought a flat mount for the rear and a post mount for the front. Thought it was odd that the post mount cost about $25 more. When it arrived, it came with a rotor. This was not obvious from the description. So now I have a spare. These brakes work quite well for a mechanical disc. Easy to adjust.

Reviewed 1/3/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Working great after 1,800 miles!
by schrapnel
Cycling Enthusiast
Renton, WA
11 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

The revised version of the Spyre that reached the market over a year ago is a fantastic mechanical brake. I replaced the HYRD on my Salsa Fargo after problems with needing to be bled (TRP did the exchange and was great about it). I like the Spyre so much, I spec'd the brake on my new road bike as well and I'm seriously looking at switching to the Spyke when my Avid hydraulics on the mountain bike need to be rebuilt.

Maintenance is a snap and the individual positioning of each pad using a 3mm hex lets you dial in freeplay to your preference. The original pads were good for over 1,500 miles of heavy commuting. The nearly ubiquitous Shimano M515 pad is interchangeable with the stock pads, so you can choose from many suppliers to get the pad type you want.

Reviewed 1/18/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Effective, light and pretty!
by Anonymous
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Since both pads move, they don't bend the rotors. This allowed me to use the XTR rotors with an aluminum core and heatsinking. The XTR rotors have a very stiff carrier which was clearly not intended to be flexed.

Being able to adjust both pads also makes adjusting t he pad clearance a LOT easier, And they do look really sweet on my black and white Ridley frame!

Reviewed 12/12/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Mechanical Disc
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have been running TRP Spyre brakes on a gravel race bike for a year now. I have several other bikes with the BB7 brakes and the TRP has far better modulation and the big plus is wheel changes don't require adjustment for each wheel change like the BB7. I will be converting my cyclocross bike to the TRP brakes this year.

Reviewed 9/3/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best mechanical disc brake yet!
by Boldaddy
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I am very impressed with these brakes. I have another bike with Avid bb7 brakes.

Setup was super easy - much easier than the avids. I haven't worn them down enough to find out how the pads last or hold adjustment.

The barrel adjust is also a nice plus.

I'm going to replace the Avids on my other bike with these, or their hydraulic version.

Reviewed 11/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Brakes Real Good
by treat_yo_self
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Straightforward to set up. Includes rotor. Good modulation for mechanical disc brake. 2-piston design is a game changer. Downside is you need to use the more expensive compressionless brake housing or they will feel lousy.

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
TRP Spyre mechanical disc calipers - a solid upgrade to my commuter
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced the stock disc brake calipers on my commuter bike with the TRP Spyre and I am very pleased with the improved braking performance. The dual pad actuation is a noticeable improvement over what I had on there. Installation and adjustment were relatively simple. Great product!

Reviewed 12/4/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.