X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Teravail Washburn 700c Gravel Tire

TeravailWashburn 700c Gravel Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(10 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(2)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(50%)
(20%)
(30%)
(0%)
(0%)
Tried them because my go to Gravel Tire is unavailable
by JS
Cycling Enthusiast
Little Rock, AR

I've been using Panaracer Gravel King SKs only because I could not find SK+ available anywhere...I didn't think there would be much difference. Unfortunately the SKs kept getting lots of pin hole on the gravel I ride and even thought the sealant would fill the holes most of the time, I had one very small hole that kept opening up and oozing sealant. Friend of mine runs Specialized Pathfinder Pro tire that looks like the Washburn so I read a little bit about the Washburn and decided to try one on the back wheel where I was getting most of the leaks. I ordered the 42 but like others have said once mounted it only measures 41 and the inner width of my wheel set is 25m, so if your wheel is narrower your tire might air up a little narrower than mine does. I got the DURABLE version because of the gravel I ride. The tire is a bit heavier than the gravel king SK and definitely you can feel the beefiness of the tire (maybe the tire's only downside...but I decided I'd give up a bit of weight for a little more flat protection). It was very hard to get onto the rim (tight tolerance...at least for my wheel set) but once on it aired up without sealant with no problem. Added sealant and have not had a leak anywhere since. I have put about 200 miles on the tire and have yet to have a pinhole or leak. The tire rides well in gravel with minimal slippage despite the slick center tread (this was one thing I was concerned about and have paid close attention to). I've been surprised and happy with sealing and performance...so far.

Reviewed 2/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Center Slick Tire
by Dave
Wyoming

I bought the 700x42 durable casing for my all-around bike. These tires perform very well on my commute to work. I've run them on many gravel roads and even taken them on nearby mountain bike trails and they performed quite well. As others have said they can get a bit squirrelly in loose material, but so did my last set of Donnelly 700x35 center slicks. My only flat so far is from a goathead thorn. I have yet to run them in rain or snow conditions. My riding is probably 60% pavement, 30% gravel, and 10% trails. If I rode less pavement and more gravel I'd look at the Cannonball, or if I was riding more trails maybe the Rutland.

Reviewed 10/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough Tire
by Ed T
Shrewsbury NJ

I have found that this tire to be one of the toughest I've ever had. I've put these tires through the wringer and have at least 1,500 miles on them and still going strong. They mount tubeless very easily with only a floor pump. If you put 60-70psi in them they roll quite fast on the smooth center, let air out to 40psi the shoulder bites gravel quite well. My only complaint is that they are heavy - but I'm not out there trying to set speed records.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for all-around fast rolling gravel
by Jerry D
Cycling Enthusiast
Grand Rapids, MI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden nearly every tire from Teravail. Most closely to this tire, I'd say it is somewhere in between Rampart and Cannonball. It rolls on pavement like the rampart, but corners on gravel like the cannonball. The 'best of both worlds' if you need a tire to ride lots of pavement TO the gravel, or if your gravel is basically hard packed dirt. It gets dicey with things get loose, but I attribute that more to the size rather than the tread. There's no substitution for a tire bigger than 2.0.

Reviewed 10/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New brand to me, but I like it
by Dr. Sonny
Cycling Enthusiast
Memphis, TN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these to replace the tires that came on my Specialized e-assist gravel bike, Pathfinder Pro 2Bliss Ready, Transparent Sidewall, 700x38c. During the pandemic, those tires were unavailable. These "looked" like the tires that I had, and from what I read, Washburn tires had good reviews. I must say I bought these because they were available at the time I needed them. I have put a couple of thousand miles on these and they are great. I ride more road than gravel, but for pavement riding they are very smooth and responsive. The gravel ride is not as aggressive as some, but I am not an aggressive gravel rider. They corner great. They may be wearing on the center strip a little quick, but it's still too soon to tell. I am completely satisfied with these tires and would recommend them.

Reviewed 6/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice rolling but very troublesome leaky tires
by BCarl
Cycling Enthusiast
Quincy, MA
13 of 13 customers found this review helpful.

Tires do roll pretty nice, find them very comfortable on roads and packed gravel/dirt. Acceptable once the terrain gets loose or rocky, would not want them on long singletrack sections. They are a bit noisy for having a center slick thread. If I was doing alot of road riding to my gravel/dirt destination, would use these.

Really do not suggest these tires because BOTH were very leaky and took alot of sealant to get them from seeping from the sidewalls. Dipping them in water, you can see the air escaping from the tan sidewalls. Added more sealant, laid them on their sides for 4hrs to get all the leaks sealed. But after each ride, one of the tires continues to loose air. After 3 rides removed them and likely give them away.

Reviewed 11/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good
by Ed T
NJ

200 miles in and this tire has given me great first impressions. They mounted easily for tubeless with only a flour pump. Pumped up they roll very fast on pavement with the slick center. They slipped a bit on gravel till I let air out to 35-40 psi then the shoulders help firm. Would definitely recommend

Reviewed 11/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Single track, Gravel, Pavement? YES!!
by Anonymous
St. Louis MO area
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire!! Rolls and rides well!! Tough!

Not 42 wide, measures 39.8.

Really like the tire. Disappointed in the claimed width.

Reviewed 11/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Narrow and slow
by Anonymous
Sacramento
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

They look good. They are slow on pavement. 42mm is narrower than 40mm other brands

Reviewed 11/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not 42 wide 39.5
by Scott
St Louis
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Tires are nice and durable but not 42 wide. I wanted to step up on width from a 40 and these are actually narrower than the 40s I had. Should have stuck with the Donnely MSO.

Reviewed 10/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.