Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
SwissStop FlashPro Shimano Brake Pads - Black Prince Carbon

SwissStopFlashPro Shimano Brake Pads - Black Prince Carbon(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(13)
(6)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(62%)
(29%)
(5%)
(5%)
(0%)
Better than Yellow
by Slade
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Collins, CO

I was using the Yellow pads with my Vision Metron 40 full carbon wheels but they were quite loud and the stopping power wasn't great so I switched to the Black - much better performance and almost no squeaking.

Reviewed 6/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good brake pads but wear out faster than i like
by MikeW
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area CA
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great pads just wished they last longer. I ride Mt Diablo and various rides that go up and down, down and flats with stops where I use the brakes. I think I change pads at least once a year if not sooner which becomes pricey.

Reviewed 4/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than Zipp grey pads
by Daniel
Cycling Enthusiast
Tualatin, OR

I bought the Zipp 404 Firecrest wheels in July 2016 and installed the included grey pads, giving me mediocre stopping power. I read good reviews about SwissStop pads and found out that Zipp approves of this brand, so I gave them a try and am much happier that my road bike stops better now. I will never go back to the grey Zipp pads, it is SwissStop pads only for me on Zipp carbon rims.

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great stopping performance and quiet braking!!!
by VeloMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Wa

I've had other carbon-specific brake pads on my rims, including ones made specifically for these rims. The Swissstop Flashpro pads outperform these pads, but are quieter as well! Love them!

Reviewed 9/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great stopping power
by CamasHillGrinder
Cycling Enthusiast
Camas, Wa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Black Prince Carbon brake pads really do what they say they do. I have cork pads previously and was not impressed with the stopping power as they seemed to create a hard surface on the pads. The Black Prince stay soft and i even have to watch out as not to lock the tires up on quick stops. Good stuff!

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work great!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Petaluma, CA

Works better than the Reynolds cryo blue I was using.

Quiet and has good brake moduation. Yes, they appear to be wearing

faster than some other pads but that is how it goes in a high performance

brake pad (on your bike or your car for that matter)

Reviewed 5/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hweeerrrrrererreeeeeee! I'm stopping.
by BKWyldStallyn
Brooklyn, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I absolutely love the sound my brakes make when I hit them. The whir of Swiss stops on 303's is magical. In races of course it can be a bit disconcerting since the sound can be noticeable even with a touch of the brakes but they obviously do the trick. Nice pads. No problems at all. Carbon's not so great in the rain of course so be careful no matter what pads you have ripping alpine descents in the rain.

Reviewed 5/25/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tried most - these are the best
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Boulder

I use these for CX with 303 tubs that are a few years old. The are noticeably better than any other pad, save the new zipps grey version. I'd say 20% better than the old yellows and %50 better than the cork (remember those goddamn things?). Obviously, you need to switch pads when using al training wheels, but that is a 3 minute job and you have clean the bike after each cx race anyhow.

Reviewed 10/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good option for Carbon rims and better than the Yellow King
by bradtipp
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I switched to the Black Prince pads from the Yellow King pads. The Black Prince pads seem to work much better than the Yellow Kings did. I get more confidence with the Black Prince pads and although they are still not as good as pads on Ali rims are they work well. I am pretty light so it may be harder for heavier riders, but so far so good.

Reviewed 6/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Pads (Black) for HED rims
by Anonymous
Indiana but my bike climbs the big mountains in Eu
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Went from cork Zipp pads which were good to Carbon specific Swiss Stop (YELLOW) pads-really bad, poor stopping power and lots of squeal from them. Went to the (BLACK) Swiss Stops and they are 100% better - no complaints - will purchase again.

Reviewed 6/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pads for your carbon wheels!
by moreaus
Cycling Enthusiast
Arizona
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My Easton carbon road wheels came with Swiss Stop yellow kings pads which worked pretty well but definately didn't come close to the breaking performance of aluminum wheels and rubber pads. I recently made the switch to these black prince pads and (WOW!) what a difference it made. The braking performance is awesome, pretty much on par with aluminum wheelsrubber pads and also they seem to be more quiet than the yellow king pads.

Reviewed 5/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good stopping power for my Easton EC90 Wheelset
by SManome
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I bought these to replace the Yellow SwissStop Brake Pads that came with my Wheel set. The Black Prince Carbon Pads have much better stopping power than the Yellow SwissStop Pads and after some downhill action at least to the touch, the wheels are not as hot. A good upgrade all around so don't hesitate to try them out.

Reviewed 3/3/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I replaced the SwissStop Yellow pads with the Black Prince pads and I really can tell a big difference in stopping power.
by SManome
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I am using the new SwissStop Black Prince Carbon pads on my Easton EC90 Carbon Wheels and they have a very similar braking performance to that of my aluminum wheelset. I have great confidence in the stopping power of these pads and am very happy SwissStop improved on their yellow pads.

Reviewed 1/26/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
does the job
by pizzaman
Competitive Racer
chicago

good for carbon rims

Reviewed 10/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great breaking, Impressive
by gobike
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I had used cork pads prior to purchasing the SwissStop pads and was very unhappy with my stopping power. The SwissStop Prince pads are great the difference is dramatic I highly recommend these brake pads.

Reviewed 8/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good but not mindblowing
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've ridden Black Princes on terrain with steep descents, in hot, dry, and wet conditions. I can't tell much difference from the Swiss Stop yellows or Reynolds blue pads, except that the Black Princes wear more quickly. My main reason for buying them is safety, specifically, Black Princes supposedly dissipate heat better so you're less likely to overheat and destroy your rims. Im willing to pay a little more for this safety feature even if the pads' braking action feels very ordinary.

Reviewed 7/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for carbon wheels
by Richard
Competitive Racer
Tacoma, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Switched the Yellow King pads for these (Black Prince) for my race wheels. There was a noticeable improvement in braking. Swiss Stop says that the Black Prince pads give the same stopping ability with carbon braking surfaces as their black pads do for alloy surfaces. This seems to be true based on my experience. I definitely like these more than the Yellow King pads.

Reviewed 7/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great stopping power with carbon clinchers
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Use these brake pads with my carbon clinchers. They have worked very well in the dry and do not seem to cause a lot of heat build up in the brake track of the carbon wheels. I am not a great desender, so the heat build up is critical for me weighing 190 lbs. I have 25mm wide wheels so fitting them to the TRP brake carrier was a challange with Shimano 7800 brake calipers. Not enough room, so I mounted them without the angle adjustment washer. They are now fully seated to the brake track. This took about two training rides to get all four pads to set fully to the brake track. I have great stopping power as I can lift my rear wheel off the ground and cause a rear wheel lock up if I do not modulate the front brake.

Reviewed 7/17/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best pads for carbon rims
by erwizy
Cycling Enthusiast
san diego, ca
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Swissstops had it good already with the yellow king but im glad they didnt stop there the black prince is better it grabs pretty good and best part it doesnt leave a yellow streak on the braking surfacem i use this on ec90s and sram red brakes i think imo is as close i can get to alu brake track

Reviewed 7/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth stopping power for carbon rims
by PatrickG
Competitive Racer
New York
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am impressed with how smooth and linear the breaking is with these pads. I find that they brake a lot like regular pads on aluminum rims. I find that they stop better than my swissstop yellow kings. They do wear down quickly, but the added security on my Mavic cosmic ultimates is worth it. The website suggests that they stop well in the rain, but I have not tested this out yet.

Reviewed 5/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page