CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
SRAM Red XG-1290 D1 12-Speed Cassette

SRAMRed XG-1290 D1 12-Speed Cassette(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(17 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(1)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(82%)
(6%)
(6%)
(6%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by [email protected]

Switched from Force to Red
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego

I have now used both the Red 33T and Force 33T cassettes on my Red drive train. I bought the Force due to the high cost of the Red but, the Force wore faster than the Red. I had to replace it sooner. I got 21,000 miles on the original Red cassette (I generally run stuff longer than recommended) but I only got about 9,000 miles on the Force before it would not hold a gear with a new chain. So back to Red since the prices have started to drop for the Red level.

Reviewed 5/2/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Light, well made and shifts smoothly.
by Anonymous
Seattle

I only have a few hundred miles on the cassette, but so far it�s performing great. I purchased the top line because I read that it runs more quietly than the other options, but I have no experience to know if this is true.

Reviewed 5/10/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SCIRICA

Great upgrade from SRAM Force!
by SCIRICA
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX

As a SRAM AXS Force drivetrain owner, I was always feeling it was a touch noisier that I would like. Upgraded front the Force to Red 10-33 cassette. What a difference! Smooth shifting, whisper quiet, giving me added confidence. A highly recommended upgrade, and the fact that it was on sale was just a bonus!

Reviewed 5/10/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Quiet, light and smooth
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bucks County PA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have a red 11 speed cassette on another bike with 1st gen eTap, so I had some idea of what to expect. First, the cassette is an engineering marvel, given that most of the cassette is machined as a single piece of steel. It�s incredibly light. Finally the rubber elastomeric bands between the cogs do an amazing job of quieting the drivetrain. I have a force axs cassette on my gravel bike. I can�t discern any difference in shift quality, which is excellent for both; however the red cassette is noticeably quieter (and lighter), making the whole drivetrain silky smooth.

Reviewed 1/9/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ML

Keeps my Aethos running like butter!
by ML
Cycling Enthusiast
Tucson
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Living in Tucson allows year round riding and weekly rides to Mount Lemmon..

These roads and other Southwest routes have been the proving ground for these parts.

While I like performance of Red, its durability is suspect particularly if you like to put the power to the pedals. Riding high end stuff isn't cheap, so if this is a consideration, a Force cassette (XG-1270) would work equally well with a much better price point.

PROs

Lightweight

Clean shifting

CONs

Wears out quickly

$$

Reviewed 10/27/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by The Wolf

Worth the price
by The Wolf
Arizona

Smooth quite beautiful!

Reviewed 4/26/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Helps save the legs
by Anonymous
Florida

Big fan of this gearing changing from a 10-33. I�m 100kg+ living in a flat area and the smaller jump in gearing with the 16 tooth cog has helped limit the spikes in power, smoothing out my group rides and helping me conserve energy for when I want to put it down.

Reviewed 2/16/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mike D

RED XG-1290 D1 12 Speed Cassette
by Mike D
Seal Beach, Ca

Just received this new cassette. Installation was a breeze. It's very light and shifts very smooth. Much better than the Force cassette that came with my Trek Emonda. The factory Force cassette was still shifting well with over 9,000 miles on it, and likely a lot of life left. I will keep it as a backup. I did not opt for the fancy multicolored cassette as I personally like the silver titanium sort of look. I'm sure this cassette will be as good as the factory cassette. I expect to get many many miles from it. Hope this helps

Reviewed 8/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brad

Good Looking and Crisp Shifting!
by Brad
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased the new rainbow colored option to replace my XG-1290 silver one that was at the end of it's life. The rainbow and black looks great with my matte black bike frame and of course the shifting is excellent. As a side note I also love the very low weight, build quality and easy install. Of course all this comes at a cost to the pocket book but if properly cared for these cassettes last a really long time and are a good value overall IMO. I would highly recommend purchasing one if you are a total bike nerd like me and love running the best!

Reviewed 6/2/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Tim

Light weight work of art!
by Tim
Central PA.

Light weight work of art!

Reviewed 2/22/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by [email protected]

Excellent cassette
Memphis Tn.

Great savings on a great cassette and the buying experience was just as good. Extremely fast shipping.

Reviewed 2/23/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SWF Rider

Shifty liittle ....
by SWF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida

The SRAM Red XG-1290 D1 12-Speed Cassette is quiet, smooth and fast shifting. That's its job and it does it very well. Not much more to it. Have this cassette on my AXS compatible wheels.

Reviewed 2/23/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Baltobike

SRAM Red XG-1290 D1 12-Speed Cassette - A High Quality Product
by Baltobike
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore

An expensive, high-quality cassette that is a decent value when it goes on sale.

Reviewed 1/11/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

Best made cassettes ever
by John
viera, Florida

Super strong and creak free. After running Dura ace 12 speed cassettes for awhike, they were frequently making creak nooses. The Sram Red cassette is better made and quiet, efficient , and lightweight.

Reviewed 6/29/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by John

best Cassette range ever
by John
Competitive Racer
Viera, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The price is high, but the quality is worth it, super solid and light cassette and the gear ranges are perfect. I run the 11-26 for fast flat lands and the 11-33 for hilly areas. The 10 tooth cog is worthless until screaming down the backside of a mountain at full speed, then you learn to appreciate the 10 tooth cog. Its creak free unlike some of the dura-ace cassettes I have used in the past, Sram has nailed their cassette design!

Reviewed 2/27/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jerry

SRAM RED Cassette
by Jerry
Competitive Racer
SE US
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Works great. Light and bulletproof while it last. Wears out pretty quickly, doubt I would buy this group set again .

Reviewed 10/5/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jerry

Expensive , wears out quicker than most.
by Jerry
Competitive Racer
SE USAS
0 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

It's a nice unit, but has never lasted as long as my Ultegra cassettes. I would STAY AWAY, if you can

Reviewed 5/19/2023
Thank you for your feedback.