X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
SRAM PC-870 6/7/8-Speed Chain

SRAMPC-870 6/7/8-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(13)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(52%)
(45%)
(3%)
(0%)
(0%)
So many bikes use this size chain
by bruce in CT
Cycling Enthusiast
manchester, CT

I worked on a lot of bikes this summer, including ones I refurbished to donate to kids in need. I jokingly started to say that "the chain is never good" when asked about how the work was going. For fixing shifting problems, jumping sprockets under load, and just generally getting an unrideable bike to work o.k., a replacement chain was second only to tubes for getting bikes on the road. I still need to order a couple more, and this size chain is the most commonly needed one for the multi-speed bikes I saw this year.

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain replaced a very worn-out 7-speed chain
by jeffreyethanlee
Daily Commuter
Philadelphia, PA

I used this to replace a chain with 5000+ miles, and it has been fine. Very easy to work with, but I did have to degrease it and re-lubricate it because the original grease was very thick and sticky, which is great for long term storage. But it would have attracted a lot of dirt on the roads.

Reviewed 9/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Low cost replacement
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF

Good replacement for that old, stretched chain. Easy to install with quick link.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shifting is good as new
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
Ann Arbor, MI

Good chain, SRAM quality.

Reviewed 6/20/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Tough, long lasting chain.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kirksville, MO

SRAM chains have always preformed well for me and I am very fond of their quick link system.

Reviewed 2/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great replacement for a shimano chain
by Tandemus
Cycling Enthusiast
Headland Al

I purchased this chain to replace a worn out shimano chain. The bike is an older Trek mountain bike my wife rides on the trainer. The fact you need no tools to install the chain makes for a easy installation.

Reviewed 2/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well made bicycle chain.
by chandler_cm
Cycling Enthusiast
Aurora, IL

I have bought this chain several times before and have not had any problems. I would normally put on about 550 miles before replacing this chain.

Reviewed 4/26/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Great!
by William
Vancouver, WA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Over the years I've used several of on my 8-speed and they just work and work and work until they finally wear out. I guess I've gone perhaps 20,000 miles on these chains and hope to go another 20,000.

Reviewed 1/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Silky smooth
by Anonymous

Quiet and smooth shifting on my new old Regina 7 speed freewheel.

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not as easy to remove as the you-tube videos might suggest.
by John B
Cycling Enthusiast
NW CT
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After a broken chain sent me to the pavement I figured it was time for a replacement. The new chain was easy enough to install but I miss-guessed the proper length and had to remove it to remove the extra links. That was not so easy. I resorted to Youtube for help and ended up using a loop of wire to pull the pins of the master link together to unlatch the chain. I suspect that this will become easier over time.

Reviewed 12/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight, reliable chain
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or

I am using this chain on my 7-speed touring bike. It goes on easy, comes with a quick link they call a Powerlink. I tried using another brand but after just 2 years a pin had worked it's way out. I have used Sram chains on my 8 speed commuter for decades and never had any problems so went back to Sram for loaded touring.

Reviewed 10/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my go to BMX racing chain and has been for years
by jshoag27
Competitive Racer
Tulsa, OK

Fits all chain rings in BMX - I usually put on a new chain if I need a longer one - never pin a chain back together unless you want to experience the pain of crashing when you break it. This is a 332 chain 6-7-8 speed width chain.

Reviewed 5/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable chain for rain commuter bike.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
OR

This chain seems to last longer and perform better than the 830 and 850. Looks better too.

Reviewed 3/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain with a master link included
by James Louis
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta, Georgia

I bought this chain as my old one was worn out. I like the fact that the SRAM chains come with a master link, as I always use them on my bikes.

Reviewed 9/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain, easy as that!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have tried the 830, 850, and 880 chains on my year round commuter in soggy Portland, OR. I found the biggest difference showed in how long they stayed lubed, the 870 lasting the longest, the 830 the shortest. It wasn't a big jump between the 850 and 870 though. The 870 chain lasted a good long while and shifted well with a Shimano derailleur and SRAM cassette setup. Overall it did exactly what it was supposed to: propel me along.

Reviewed 8/8/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great with old SunTour 67 speed New Winner and Winner Pro freewheels with 'ultra spacing'
by erob
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison, WI
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Super replacement chain. The price is a steal for a nickle plated chain.

This chain works great, crisp and precise gear changes on the freewheels mentioned. Those old Sedisport chains are getting hard to find but, since Sachs bought Sedis and SRAM bought Sachs bicycle parts division, it has good pedigree.

Reviewed 4/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Working great!
by alicia
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I was able to swap out my old chain with this chain so easily - a perfect fit! I've already put 600 miles on the new chain without any issues.

Reviewed 1/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain, so far!
by WSBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
White Salmon, WA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this chain for my old hardtail mountain bike that I now ride for exercise on the streets, mostly. Putting in on was a snap with the SRAM quick-connect link, best idea for bike chains. Not a new idea Shimano! Used master links in mill chains for years and years. Factory lube is still holding up in the rain. No skipping, etc. even on old, worn cassette. So far, so good!!

Reviewed 11/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
works perfect
by Steve
Cycling Enthusiast
Indiana
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Purchase for a replacement on my vintage Panasonic Touring Deluxe. Worked great. Easy to put on, correct length ad size. Took care of my slipping problem.

Reviewed 9/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Chain
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, Wa
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Chain works great, I love the power link, easy to install, cut easily and adjusted out nicely.

Reviewed 8/16/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page