CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
SRAM eTap / AXS Battery

SRAMeTap / AXS Battery(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(15)
(5)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(68%)
(23%)
(5%)
(0%)
(5%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Germanrazor

It's a battery
by Germanrazor
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very expensive for a battery, but this is the price most anywhere! But now to the review. Could you get by with only the two? Sure......if your rear goes out you can swap the front which is needed less and one can have a gear range to finish a ride. However, having both derailleurs working with a spare or even two is best for very long rides. Hold do they hold a charge and perform? Well, my usual 20 mile rides daily I get up to 7-8 rides of changing the rear anywhere from 180-250 times. The front, I get longer on but only change typical 10 times per ride. This kind of shows the battery life to those wondering. I see a lot of post on broken connectors and tabs??? I wonder sometimes if people change in haste by "monkey fisting" these things rather than taking your time which in all reality is like 5 seconds to change out??? So are they worth it? Yes......unfortunately you have to drop $60 on something SRAM has to produce these at maybe $5 each and in all reality should only be like $20 tops!

Reviewed 4/12/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Daniel

Just in case turned unnecessary
by Daniel
Cycling Enthusiast
Peru

Bought an additional for longer rides or in case the first battery drained while riding but it's been more than a month and +3 rides a week and derailleur still flashes green so 5-8 extra hours minimum. Still a good idea to have a 2nd one. Just in case.

Reviewed 5/9/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by GL

It is what it is, a must for AXS components and saddle bags.
by GL
Daily Commuter
Santa Rosa

A must if you run Axs components and having one in the saddle bag is also a must. Yes if you run a 2x then you could always switch but not many bikes these days run 2X So I keep one in the saddle bag for those special occasions.

Reviewed 12/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Des1958

SRAM eTap Battery
by Des1958
Cycling Enthusiast
Marietta, GA

I carry an extra battery with me when I ride. My front deraileur battery lost power on a ride and if I had the extra battery it would have been an easy fix. Small and light weight, just add it to your saddle bag.

Reviewed 9/21/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Needed a spare
by Anonymous

Just needed a spare just in case. Good price.

Reviewed 1/18/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JasP

Extra
by JasP
PDX

I got another battery for when I go for some really long rides up in the hills. Just a peace of mind purchase an easy charge too.

Reviewed 10/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Well worth it to keep an extra battery on hand
by Anonymous
Everett, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

SRAM advertises that these are supposed to keep a charge for a very long time but in my experience i'd rather not be stuck in a certain gear so i'll take the weight penalty and keep this with me

Reviewed 2/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Apassdore

Easy to use. Good to have a backup battery.
by Apassdore
Portland, Or

An inexpensive way to ensure your MTB is fully charged and ready to ride. I keep a spare battery in the charger so there is a fully charged unit when needed.

Reviewed 8/31/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Phil W

Long-lasting power and relatively durable
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The Sram Red eTap batteries hold a charge for many rides (I think Sram notes that they should last 600 km and I think I've been able to exceed that) and they have survived for a couple of years of hot summer and cold winter riding, much of which was on chipseal roads. However, recently I've had to replace a couple of them as the tabs that fit into the slot on the derailleur have broken off, no doubt due to the extreme temperature changes and the vibration caused by the road surfaces. It is also important to remove these batteries when traveling long distances with the bike on a bike rack as the derailleurs recognize the motion and keep the units on which will discharge the batteries.

Reviewed 7/26/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kirk

Great to have a spare
by Kirk
Cycling Enthusiast
Western New York
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought as a gift for someone who appreciates having a spare.

Reviewed 1/12/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Alanico

Back up battery
by Alanico
LA

My current bike has sram batteries. On a minimum of 2 occasions I have had my battery die on me due to my forgetfulness to keep them charged. So I purchased a "backup" battery to keep in my saddlebag for those moments. It also helps me to remember to charge my existing battery!

Reviewed 4/10/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Durendal

Use superglue if you break the tab.
by Durendal
Cycling Enthusiast
Fernandina Beach, FL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

The only weak spot, as mentioned numerous times, is the tab holding the battery in place. Use super glue sparingly to repair. Has lasted several years on all three batteries.

Reviewed 10/12/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by garage0racing

Battery tabs keep breaking
by garage0racing
Key West, FL
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

No matter what I did, the tabs on my eTap batteries would crack, break and would eventually fall. I went through 10 of these batteries on 2 different bikes.

Tried to use electrical tape where the plastic comes in contact with the metal part on the derailleur, tried glue as a preventative measure, tried to avoid any bike cleaning products, but I always ended up with using rubber bands to secure the batteries, because the tabs would break.

Reviewed 6/5/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AlanSM

reliable battery with fragile plastic tab
by AlanSM
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairfield County, CT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The SRAM Red eTap system is terrific and the battery can power things for quite a while between charges - if you run down in the rear, it just takes moments to swap with the front to finish your ride BUT the plastic tab on the battery is fragile and can chip or break off so be careful when inserting the battery into the bike or charger - a small 'price to pay' for an otherwise wonderful shifting system.

Reviewed 12/19/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by QUADZILLA

Works like a charm
by QUADZILLA
GLENVILLE

Good deal

Reviewed 12/19/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ercmicwil

Super long lasting!
by Ercmicwil
Spokane, WA

These batteries and the efficiency of the SRAM Electronic shifting system is impressive. I use mine on a new AXS system. I keep a spare with me on all of my longer rides but Ive never had to use it. Im pushing 50 hours of riding on the last full charge and all lights are still green! No complaints!

Reviewed 11/28/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent upgrade...Love it!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Phoenix, AZ

Easier shifting when on the drops.

Reviewed 7/19/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by twowheels2000

Just a spare battery
by twowheels2000
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've never had a battery on eTap run out of juice on the road, but with some longer multi-day tours coming up (with no easy access to recharging), a spare seemed a good idea. I also carry an extra pair of CR3032 button cells just in case a shift lever battery goes out.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff

Only product that powers the etap derailleurs
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is the only battery of SRAM Red eTap deraillieurs. The battery works well, but the tab securing the battery to the deraillieur is fragile.

Reviewed 5/10/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RCBird

The right battery but expensive
by RCBird
Competitive Racer
Auburn AL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Expensive but on a very light XC racing build this is key. Super reliable. Long life and an extra battery is just insurance in a long race.

Reviewed 2/4/2021
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page