X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Spurcycle Better Bicycle Bell

SpurcycleBetter Bicycle Bell(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(115 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(107)
(6)
(0)
(2)
(0)
(93%)
(5%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
by Grapes :)
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

It's now the year 2022 and I am ready to give you my two cents worth review....Enter the Spurcycle Better Bell. I purchased my bell way back when ... circa 2016 and have logged in over 10,000 miles of riding with the Spurcycle Bell attached to my bike. The bell has withstood the test of time and the elements of the Pacific NW. As for the function, it has a very nice ring to it, with a ton of sustain to carry to garner the attention of whoever is around you. I have used to alert other bicyclists, pedestrians and motorists. The sound of the bell commands respects as long as you don't mind having to ring several times or more. In essence, it has saved my voice and provided me with a margin of safety to alert and collision avoidance. Aesthetically, its top notch, well designed, plus it's made here in the USA. Lastly, the install with simple and easy.

Reviewed 6/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Possibly the finest bell in the market!
by TomRidesBikes
Cycling Enthusiast
Philadelphia Metro Area

It's not inexpensive but it is GREAT. Love this bell. Own three of them for different bikes (so I do not have to move the bell between bikes). Bell has a very unique, high quality sound with a long decay. Striker is high quality and supports loud thru soft ringing based on the energy you put into it. It is also compact in size (does not take a lot of space on the bar) and the mounting is very innovative and highly secure. The black finish holds up VERY well to rain, bike washes and salt air rides and stays at the beach. Here is when you know you have a great bell.... MANY riders, walkers, runners, dog walkers have complimented me on its sound. "Wow, nice bell!" is not uncommon to hear from people I am passing. It sure beats yelling "On your left" 100's of times on crowded/busy recreation trails! Highly recommend.

Reviewed 6/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best bell
by ben t
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX

I've got one of these on each bike. I tried different bells, but nothing compares to this one. It's rare to find someone listening to their music loud enough that this doesn't cut through it. Install is simple, they look good and they tuck up with the bar well enough on the mountain bikes to not get damaged in wrecks.

Reviewed 2/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This bell gets attention
by Jim
omaha
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I do a lot of trail riding and I've tried several bells to announce my presence as I approach slower traffic. This bell gets by far the best response. It has a very sharp tone resembling a tuning fork. I have recommended it to several fellow bicyclists and will continue to do so.

Reviewed 7/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This bell is fantastic. The craftsmanship is impeccable. Sounds great as well!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use this commuting as well as on MTB trails. It's plenty loud and not a harsh sound at all. I will be getting another for my wife's bike.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Loudest clean and clear sound
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Love this bell, so melodic and LOUD. Clear crisp sound, gets attention in friendly way

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Pricey But Worth It
by PK-Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This bell is at the pinnacle of all bells. First, the sound is amazing: loud but not obnoxious, crystal clear and resonates seemingly forever. Esthetically, it's museum worthy. Functionally, it simply works every time effortlessly. It took me forever to pull the trigger due to the high price but glad I did. If you have a bike you love, treat it w this one of a kind bell.

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Bell, Outrageously Expensive
by Evan Trent
Daily Commuter
Florida
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The Spurcycle Better Bicycle Bell is an excellent bell, well designed, allows for multiple mounting positions and has a very pleasing tone. I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 for the overall rating because the bell is not as loud as I'd prefer. It's loud "enough", but for $59 it should be the best darn bell ever made with volume to spare.

It's outrageously expensive for what it is, which is why I gave it 3 stars for value rating. It probably should be 2 stars for overall value, but the bell does what I need in terms of alerting other riders when I need to pass. I also really like the mounting system and small overall footprint. If the bell proves to be durable and long-lasting, and it does not need to be replaced in my lifetime, then I'd say it's good value for money.

Reviewed 3/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not only better, but the BEST.
by nc3man
Cycling Enthusiast
Solana Beach, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have had many bells over the years and this is the best. It is neat and unobtrusive. The ring is so pleasant and long. Even a small flick for certain situations works perfectly. The black bell on my lovely black Synapse is not an impediment at all to looking cool. I've used it for ~6 months, the time that other bells I've used give out, and the superb craftsmanship should make this last as long as I ride this bike.

I looked at a couple of negative reviews and concluded they couldn't figure out how to mount it as it tightens completely against the bar with the simple hex bolt that effectively changes the length of the strap to tighten it down. I will admit that I scratched my head over it for a few minutes, so perhaps slightly better instructions to hand-hold the less mechanically inclined might give this 100% 5-star reviews.

Reviewed 1/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice bell, but a little pricey
by Anonymous

I would say that overall I'm happy with the purchase. I think the price is definitely a little high. Only other complaint is you have to wait to do multiple rings in a row. When you try to hit it twice it gets muffled because it's still vibrating from first ring. The tone is pretty unique and I think a friendlier way to signal than all the other bells I have used. The look of the bell is sweet and installation was a piece of cake. Overall, I'd recommend as long as you are ok spending a little more than the average bell.

Reviewed 11/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bell
by Anonymous
massachusetts, on the Cape
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I often ride on rail trails. There are often other users, people walking, runners etc. the bell is loud, but not over bearing. It creates a pleasant tone. It clearly alerts people I am over taking. It is easier on my lungs to ring the bell than to call out �on your left� from 25 to 30 meters out from whom I am overtaking. I highly recommend the bell. Note: I opted for the silver vs the black. Personal feeling I am tired of all the blacked out components!!!

Reviewed 10/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must have item that I use frequently on every ride
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have this bell in the "raw" color on my road bike and have had it for almost 2 years now. The build quality and durability of this bell is second to none. The tone and volume of the ring of this bell is perfect and it does the job well. Even on a road bike, when you have walkers, runners, other riders that you need to alert of your presence, this bell does the trick. I pretty much use it on every ride and while you can simply tell people "on your left" - you can save your breath by simply using this bell and people seem to appreciate it as well.

I would like to add that my wife and I recently purchased gravel bikes and while we wanted bells for those bikes, in order to saves some money we decided to try the knock off bell from Amazon.com. After using both bells for almost 6 months now, while the knock of bell is not built as solid as the Spurcycle bell, the knock off bell does the trick and we've had zero issues with it.

Reviewed 8/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Beautiful tone, loud, and doesn''t look dorky
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pacific NW
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is obviously a lot of money to spend on a bell, but this bell is beautifully made, very discrete, and has a gorgeous tone that is easy to hear from a distance.

It is a bit of a pain to mount, but once mounted it stays in place and works well. I now have three of these - my two oldest have been on my wife and my commuter bikes for several years and still look and work as good as they did when new.

Reviewed 3/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I am down with the ding!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

I really like this bell. It sings.

Reviewed 8/2/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The sweet musical notes of overpriced indulgence
by BudgetPrivateer
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego Ca

It is a bell. When you press a lever with your thumb you get a high pitch ring. It is not particularly loud. The mounting and design are top-notch and well done. I wish it was louder too.

Reviewed 7/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Bell Made in USA
by ILeftNJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania USA

I got suckered into buying 2 knockoffs and I think this company wound up suing Asian firm over patent infringement. This one is superior and works great. Even 100 yards out, walkers, joggers hear it and react most all the time favorably. Get one for each bike.

Reviewed 6/30/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work of art bike bling
by David novak
Portland

And the tone lasts forever!

Reviewed 12/25/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it!!!!
by Sisophous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Rochelle, NY

I placed mine on the drop bar (over 2.5 Lizard Skin Handlebar tape) using the shorter strap so I can access it from the top or bottom bar. The bell is tiny yet loud. It is also warranted for life. No more yelling out ON YOUR LEFT or ON YOUR RIGHT. For someone not to hear this bell they have to either be deaf or blasting music into their earphones.

NOTE You need to have a 2.5 mm Hex tool to assemble this item. It is not provided by the company. All that comes in the box is the bell and two straps.

Reviewed 9/7/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
You can ring my bell.
by Mike in Richland
Cycling Enthusiast
Richland, WA

I have two of these bells - one on my commuter bike, and one on my road bike. I initially bought one for my commuter as I often ride on combination pedestrianbike paths here in Richland, WA. The bell sounds so clear, and the sound really carries to pedestrians and bikers. I put one on my road bike, as I start most of my rides in town. However, once out of town, I use the bell to say hello to other bikers on the road. I also bought one for my wife for her commuting bike, and she loves it. So much so that she says to me (creditcopyright to Frederick Knight)

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

The night is young

And full of possibilities

Well, come on and let yourself be free, yeah

My love for you (love for you, love for you)

So long I've been savin'

Tonight was made for me and you

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

(Ring my bell, ding-dong-ding)

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

(Ring my bell, ring-a-ring-a-ring)

You can ring my bell, ring my bell

(Ring my bell, ding-dong-ding)

Reviewed 7/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bell
by Mario
Edinburg, TX

I purchased this bell. It is loud and has a non-annoying sound. It makes people smile.

Reviewed 11/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page