CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Silca Impero Ultimate II Frame Pump

SilcaImpero Ultimate II Frame Pump(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(0)
(1)
(5)
(0)
(54%)
(0%)
(8%)
(38%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Chan

Serious pump for hassle free on-the-road inflation
by Chan
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati OH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As with all things Silica, this product is the result of uber obsessive detail oriented engineering aiming for perfection in every degree except price :-). I've been cycling for 20+ years now and have progressed through every imaginable approach to reducing the annoyance factor of a flat on a ride. Switching to tubeless was the biggest improvement, and for everything beyond that, I enthusiastically recommend this pump.

Yes CO2 is smaller, lighter, cheaper. It's also one and done, meaning you've either got to be very good at finding/repairing the puncture and the inflation process, or you're carrying multiple spares.

Tiny frame pumps are also lighter, cheaper, more reliable than CO2 but we cyclists tend to have awesome quads but tiny T Rex arms and don't want to spend 15 minutes trying to inflate a tire at 0.001 PSI per stroke, especially when once you get above 60-70 PSI you often have to put your entire body weight into those strokes.

This pump uses an adjustable spring tension system with protective rubber ends to securely fit in the frame without damaging. Removing for use is < 2 seconds. Connecting to valve works perfectly, first time, every time. It pushes huge air volume with low effort. Putting back in frame is < 2 seconds. Try this ONCE compared to your current process and you'll never go back. It's why I have now equipped all my bikes with one of these and retired donated all my mini pumps, though I did wait for sale pricing before snapping up multiples.

Reviewed 12/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Doc

Better than I expected.
by Doc
Cycling Enthusiast
Racine, WI

Exactly what I was looking for. I've owned the classic Impero frame pumps and this is the same type but made stronger and with better materials. Expensive but worth it.

Reviewed 1/8/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bicycle Bob

Amazing pump - won't go anywhere without it!
by Bicycle Bob
Competitive Racer
Washington D.C.
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Yes it is expensive and heavy - but simply amazing, won't leave home without it! I've been using Silca frame pumps since 1974 - this iteration is beyond such versions. Using this pump in the Breaking Away sequence, Dave wouldn't have been able to ride home. Can't wait to use it on anything (dogs and sketchy neighborhoods in DC where I've been punched in the face) chasing me.

Reviewed 8/17/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Like a floor pump
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Much quicker to pump up a tire than the mini pump and was able to get it up to 110 psi with ease.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Warwickian

A truly nice thing
by Warwickian
Cycling Enthusiast
Warwick, MA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Yeah, these pumps are obviously insanely expensive. Most of us will never own a Mercedes, a Maserati, or a Monet, but we can own a small handful of truly nice things. This is one of mine.

The build is beautiful, it works flawlessly, and though it's not a floor pump, it does fill up tires without a lot of effort. It fits easily in the frame of both of my bikes, and does not budge when I fly down steep gravel roads.

Reviewed 5/24/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Pricey and not up to expectations
by Anonymous
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Had the original silca frame pump eons ago that had the campy metal head w two prongs coated in rubber as well as a pump w plastic head. The current version is like the latter and my top tube was sized for a large pump.

I found the head of the pump slid down the head tube no matter the orientation of the pump. This was within a minute of install....no riding required. I called Silca support. No suggestion other than go one size up but...the new pump may not compress enough to fit the top tube. Of course that is what happened.

I don't think such an expensive product ought to have this issue. Bike is classic geometry.

I stuck on some handlebar gel at the junctions and the issue is fixed. I would have sourced an old campy head but pictures didn't show it would fit the pump.

Have not tried the pump but expect it to be good like in the olden days.

Reviewed 6/12/2016
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Florida Cyclist

Doesn't work
by Florida Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Harbor, FL
1 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I am not sure if I'm using this pump right. But finally got to use it after purchased it a year later. First of, my spare presta tube does not even stay inserted. It keeps coming off, which makes it hard to pump in any air. Then I thought it must have been my spare tube. So I came home and tried to pump another spare tube with the same result. Now, it's just a pump on my frame for decoration and maybe use it to defend myself against aggressive drivers here in Florida. So, if anyone has any pointers on how to use this pump, please let me know. I've tried youtube but doesn't seem to show any.

Reviewed 5/3/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by David Baker

Head size
by David Baker
Seattle, WA where CBC has 3000 rides year
1 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

There needs to be a reversible head with shrader option. Why be so elitist, when in fact by not having a shrader option you are only second best at best?

Reviewed 1/21/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kagielu

Issues inflating presta tubes
by Kagielu
Competitive Racer
Clearwater, FL
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have had issues inflating my tubes when I had a flat. I ended up using my CO2 in order for me to get home. At first, I thought it was my valve, but when I got home I tried it on other valves. It was the same issue. I'm not sure if it is the pump itself because I can't exchange it locally to test out this theory. But, will likely contact silca customer support after the holidays to see what kind of support I can get for my pump, since it's still new.

Reviewed 12/24/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kagielu

Issues inflating my tubes
by Kagielu
Competitive Racer
Palm Harbor, FL
0 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Had issues inflating my tube after getting a flat. It would not inflate my presta valve, so I had to use my CO2. Thought it was my valve so I tested it with my other tubes when I got home, and the same issue occurred. It would not inflate.

Reviewed 12/15/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

nice pump-heavy
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

pump weights a lot, not like the vintage Silca pumps at all.

Reviewed 5/10/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cyclismo

The Best, not the Lightest
by Cyclismo
Cycling Enthusiast
New Engand
7 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I don't have to sit here and tell anyone that Silca makes extremely well designed, highly engineered and flawlessly executed products. This cyclist has used a Silca Impero plastic pump, since the 1970s, on many bikes, the new Impero Ultimate pumps better (which is saying a lot), looks to be indestructible, and weighs more. Unfair perhaps to compare it to it's predecessor, which was for decades by far the lightest pump with real capabilities. Fact is, it weighs in a bit heavier than the aluminum competition, too, but not by much. This mechanic has disassembled the new Impero Ultimate completely (for a baked-on paint job) and found, at 10X magnification, no flaws anywhere. It stays on the bike on rough rides. The five sizes will satisfy all but a very few. It is clearly capable of decades of service with it's replaceable wearing parts, so the price, which is higher than any other frame-fit pump that I have seen, seems reasonable to me. Couldn't find a reason not to give it five stars.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Kevin

Simple, effective, and looks great too!
by Kevin
Portland, OR
4 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The best frame pump on the market for good reason- Well-constructed, and after figuring out the 'no lever required' system to affix to a valve stem, inflates like a champ.. I also really dig the matte black, which looks good on the top tube!

Reviewed 8/7/2017
Thank you for your feedback.