Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Showers Pass Mens Refuge Rain Jacket

Showers PassMen's Refuge Rain Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(82%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
(9%)
Was hoping it really would do everything....
by PDXCommutertron
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The Refuge is supposed to serve as a rain jacket for all (wet) occasions. It mostly can?

Cycling

I am between sizes in many many brands, and Showers Pass is one of them. The sleeves on the medium could be a full inch longer for cycling. The front is normal rain jacket length, so it's going to hit the legs when on a bike. That would be fine as you can fold the front into itself to make room, however, the stiff vent zippers cause the jacket to move with the legs. Not ideal, not horrible, and I actually prefer a little more length here as well. One more nit - it doesn't pack up as small as one might like for carrying in the pannier. On the plus side, the drop tail is very nice, the coat keeps me dry, the vents work well, and the fabric seems to breathe well.

Other Outdoor Stuff

The hood would ideally completely cover a baseball cap, but it's not quite long enough. I'm not sure why. On the other hand, the interface between removable hood and collar is excellent. And again the drop-tail comes in handy for wet seats and extra length to keep the pants dry.

All in all, it's a good jacket, but I wanted a great jacket.

Reviewed 4/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Refuge Jacket is only Marginally Waterproof
by nztraveler
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

The refuge jackets is coated DWR (durable water repellent) coating. The DWR wears off when the jacket rubs against other things, is waded up or used in the rain for a month.. After the DWR wears off the jacket becomes a sponge and soaks up the water. The jacket must be washed in expensive ($20) special Nik Wax detergent to possibly restore the DWR. There are CFP's involved with DWR as well.

Reviewed 4/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome jacket very happy with the purchase. Highly recommend.
by COPE
Daily Commuter
Danville, Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great quality will last for years of service. Excellent venting, storage pockets having the built in hood is a plus as well.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Med to Heavy Weight Rain Jacket I have owned
by Tom S
Cycling Enthusiast
Downtown Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Dry, comfortable, good looking, has detachable hood, pricey, seems to breath very weel and has great side vents - have used in rain up to mid sixties from 45 and amazing comfortable, may have to take layer off from underneath at some point in ride, Not easily pack able in Jersey. Hood attachment very nice - but does not fit over helmet but rather under - sometimes that can cause vision issues from side to side (use mirror) - all in all a great purchase

Reviewed 4/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keeps me dry in torrential rain, layer of warmth in cold and snow, and cuts through wind
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this rain jacket to replace a 2.5-layer Patagonia rain jacket that left me feeling damp, cold, and clammy. This jacket kept me bone dry in a torrential rainstorm for 45 minutes (at which point I got bored of playing fetch with my Labrador and went indoors). The hood is adjustable to accommodate both helmets or nothing, with a snug fit to keep the elements out. Velcro sleeve closures and a velvety cuff are snug and comfortable. The construction is solid and durable, and can withstand an overjoyed Labrador retriever's greeting of jumping and pawing. I've used this jacket while riding a bike, hiking, and running in all kinds of conditions.

Reviewed 1/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bullet Proof
by MurDog
Daily Commuter
Redding CA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a year-a-round commuter. I need solid gear that can handle anything mother nature throws at me...this is it. Keeps the water and wind out. It is not a thermal product so you will need your layers underneath to compensate for the level of cold that you may encounter. Only thing that falls short is the hood that doesn't actually fit over the bike helmet as claimed. Not a big issues as Taiga has the best product on the market for this solution that fits all helmets and has the proper features that no other manufacture covers inclusively for a helmet cover.

Reviewed 1/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Fat Biking Winter Shell
by Racer X
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin

I'm 5'10 and 160 lbs, 42 chest 32 waist. Size medium fits perfectly with room for snug fitting base layer, and a mid layer(I use a variety of Castelli form fittingrace fit road jackets as mid layer depending on temperature). Great design with vent options and plenty of pockets. Heavy shell that's wind resistant, and water resistant. Super product...but expensive.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Jacket!
by Skymollie
Casual Cyclist
Lincoln, Ne

I use this for rain and wind. It's great, has air ventilation pockets and back flap. Wrists have Velcro, so the men's small fits me, 5'4 and one for my daughter 5'7 fits her perfectly. Would buy again. Sale day was great!

Reviewed 5/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great jacket
by Mike
N ca
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Very breathable. Pit zips allow adjustment of ventilation. Keeps me dry even in pouring rain.

Reviewed 2/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Jacket
by duncomatic
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Yes it's expensive so it works like a dream. My commute is about 16 miles and I generate a lot of body heat, unlike other jackets I've owned this once does a great job venting.

I tested it last night in a hailstorm/rain deluge which lasted 45 minutes with 40 deg temps. I had 2 layers undeneath and the vents open halfway, and was completly dry when I got home.

The pockets are perfectly placed for me, the front vents seem to work better than pit zips and I love the longer arms.

The fit is snug which is great for riding, I bought a medium and I'm 5ft 9, 42 inch chest and can fit about 3 layers underneath.

Reviewed 12/3/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If I only had one jacket in winter this would be it.
by dr moreau
Cycling Enthusiast
fresno CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The jacket provides full wind and rain protection and would be fine in snow as well. Although warm, it has excellent ventilation which prevents overheating when exercising. With a good base layer and another wool layer this will be good to 20 degrees no problem - for hard core winter you can add a down vest and be good to about zero F.

I really like the shoulder reinforcements since carrying a pack is common for mountain biking, commuting, nordic skiing and of course backpacking. Good job Showers Pass!

Reviewed 8/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.