Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Showers Pass Mens Elite 2.1 Jacket

Showers PassMen's Elite 2.1 Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(62 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(46)
(16)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(74%)
(26%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Nice jacket
by Keith
Cycling Enthusiast
Corvallis, OR

I bought this to replace an old REI rain jacket that wore out. The Elite 2.1 is kind of expensive, but it is very nice. It seems well-made. I expect it to last a while. I like the more snug fit, but I can still wear it over a sweatshirt without problem. My use is primarily for commuting, but I'll take this out on other rainy rides as well. I'm 5'11, 175 lbs.

Reviewed 1/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
La Jolla, CA
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I use the jacket when it rains.

Reviewed 6/1/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect rain jacket
by SeattleCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Terrific all-purpose rain jacket. Collar is perfect, just the right balance between snug and comfortable, and water never gets in. Great fabric, cut, zipper placement, breathability, and venting options for changing weather. The sleeves occasionally get waterlogged (not leaky, but heavy) and need a coat of revive-x to start shedding water, but that's pretty standard for Gore-Tex-like fabrics.

Reviewed 5/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Over all good product
by Anonymous
Illinois

Breathes with out the draft. Wear it down into the upper teens. Little pricey but works great

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
very workable
by Rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Nor-Cal
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Love the fit and colors, also that it breathes fairly well. A little warm/wet on long hill climbs but everything does a little. The stash pocket in back could be a little more accessible and a possible extra pockets for snack/water/keys, quick grab stuff. reliable and weather tough. I'd buy another, especially if there was a hood attached that would roll or stash away.

Reviewed 2/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A touring essential to have when it counts.
by Tom / Naples
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After seven cross-country runs this is still the go-to rain gear. Other truly breathable jackets are waterproof in any condition except rain. At 5'10 and 190 I like the large for layering when necessary. The material refreshes in the dryer and my yellow is still fine after 8 years so I got a blue one anyway. No such thing as too much good stuff.

Tom J

Naples, Florida

Reviewed 1/26/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best rain wear company at the best price! Win win
by Colnago C40
Cycling Enthusiast
Port Coquitlam BC
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I got tired of borrowing my friends jacket, so when the chance came up to buy the same jacket at the best price I could find, I snapped it up. There is nothing better on a wet day than cycling dry.

Reviewed 1/1/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great goat, marginal hood accessory, pretty good value
by Dork
Competitive Racer
central idaho

This is a pretty good value but I waited until it was on sale at which point I felt it was a totally good value.

Jumping the gun perhaps as I haven't worn this in a heavy rain storm yet but the quality is excellent. If I could do it over I would buy a size up from my normal size just for a little more room and coverage (I am 6'2 with a long torso so XL instead of L). No need for a super tight race fit because the material is rigid enough that it won't flap in the wind. Bought the hood separately and am a little disappointed that it doesn't mesh better with the jacket. It fits and looks like an add-on and could at least 'look' a little more integrated.

Reviewed 10/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Costly but effective
by Wilhelm
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana
1 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Well-constructed with tight stitching, wind-resistant, relatively light and compressible, somewhat tightrestrictive in the chest area, price is only major negative the mark-up must be extraordinary for an item made with cheap Chinese labor!

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent quality, fit and comfort
by Tom Fisher
Michigan
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Michigan springtime frequently starts with 32 degree mornings and 65 degree afternoons with rain. This jacket kept me comfortable all day without getting a clammy feeling. The vent system is incredible and the fit allowed for easy movement while keeping me covered.

Reviewed 6/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent quality, fit and comfort
by Tom Fisher
Michigan

Michigan springtime frequently starts with 32 degree mornings and 65 degree afternoons with rain. This jacket kept me comfortable all day without getting a clammy feeling. The vent system is incredible and the fit allowed for easy movement while keeping me covered.

Reviewed 6/2/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
showers pass elite 2.1, this is the rain jacket i've been waiting for. it's the one
by Dr.Jabb
Cycling Enthusiast
mad river valley, vermont
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

by looking on the calendar you would think it's time for the light shell, but it's not the case, still riding in the 40's and this jacket is not only a warm shell, but when the rain comes down you are no warmer, and dry, the vents do open it up without taking in the rain and keeping you from overheating, this is the best rain jacket and cold weather shell i've ever had

Reviewed 5/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent hard shell against tough weather
by Terry
Daily Commuter
MN - MINNESOTA

First time using the jacket was a 37 degree ride in raincorn snow for 68 miles in northern Minnesota. Cold, but survived 6 hours.

Reviewed 6/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great jacket!
by tarwheel
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh, NC
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Very impressed with my Showers Pass Elite 2.1 jacket so far. Ventilation is excellent, which is the most important feature in a rain jacket for me. Lots of reflective items and bright yellow color are nice safety features, although I personally would prefer neon yellow for even more visibility. Nice pocket in the front. I am actually wearing this as a my everyday rain jacket, not just for cycling, and was surprised to get some compliments on its appearance from non-cyclists.

Sizing was a little tough for me, as I seem to fall between a Medium and Large with Showers Pass sizing. I initially ordered a medium based on the SP size guidelines, but it felt too small. The large is a little too roomy, but that is better than being too small. The large actually fits perfect when worn over street clothes, but is a little bag when worn over a cycling jersey and/or base layer. The jacket is shorter than expected in the front with both sizes, but I think it is purposely cut that way so it doesn't bunch up when leaning forward on a bike.

Reviewed 12/2/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Jacket! well worth the money
by Northwester
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver BC
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have used this jacket in a few downpour start to finish rides and love it. Nice and light,No flapping etc...works great! I have no issues at all with Zippers and it appears to be of good quality. Very happy with the blue colour. Size is M and I am 5'6, seems to fit well, just a touch long on the arms but no real issue there. Seems to breath well, with zippers in the armpit region. Nice setup for a headphone jack in the breast pocket (I don't use a lot, but did once). Has reflective material on it in back and front. I was considering the MEC Derencho and compared the weight and colors and think this jacket was far superior. All in all good value. I live in the Northwest and wanted a jacket from a company that is based in the Northwest, that understands our weather. Thanks!

Reviewed 11/25/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very light, waterproof, reasonable wind protection
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Vancouver, Canada
10 of 10 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this after a lot of reserach. The biggest challenege was getting reliable sizing info, especially since I had no choice but to buy it online as none of the local stores either carried it or had the right size. According to the sizing chart I should have been a medium (based on chest measurement), which is what I ordered. It was definitely a little tight in the chest but way too short in the arms so I sent it back for a large. The large was a much better fit across the chest (if a little loose) and the arms are marginal, but acceptbale. I am tall with relatively long arms so I do sometimes find it difficult to find clothes that fit well. However, given the specific purpose of the jacket (cycling) the arms should be a little longer. I also ended up contacting Showers Pass directly to discuss their sizing, which varies by jacket type. If the elite 2.1 in a large fits you there is a very low likelihood that the sizing will apply to other Showers Pass jackets. As an aside their rain pants are too short for me by a couple of inches (I have 32 waist and 34 inseam) - very frustrating.

Aside from the sizing the jacket is very light, has proven to be waterproof (and mostly breathable but it can get moist under heavy efforts). It does provide wind protection but is not a wind barrier. Love the layout and pockets - well thought out. Great ventilation.

Highly recommended, even at the price.

Reviewed 11/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well, a bit small
by pGolay
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It works great, nicely made. I found the sizing a bit small compared to a previous SP jacket, but fine none the less for me. The zipper is on the girly side, I am not sure why that might be, but combined with the smaller than expected sizing, I think maybe mistakes were made. The tag does say men's

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great jacket
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NY
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been wearing this jacket in weather between 35 and 50 F since I got it in January. I have zero complaints. Fit is great and the features all work as advertised.

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great to knock off the wind in the winter.
by onecycler
Cycling Enthusiast
piedmont
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I use this as an outer shell in the winter. The weather in North Carolina allows for year round riding, as long as you have proper gear to protect you. This jacket works very well for my application

Reviewed 12/16/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Serious cyclist
by Starth15
Cycling Enthusiast
Davison, MI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been cycling since March 2011 as my main transportation. First cycling jacket I purchased was the Netti D4 that was waterproof for a few months and excellent for single digit temperatures. Like I said for a few months it was waterproof and no longer is the insides of the jacket started to fall apart. Jackets Junk.

This Showers Pass Elite 2.1 Jacket I purchased so I have a waterproof upper body cover. From how the inside was designed I'm sure this will last as a true waterproof cycling jacket compared to the Netti D4 that falls apart on the inside. I like how much the wrist area can be velcroed tight or snugged. For the waist the left and right side can be tightened to make the bottom more snugged so less to no air flow throw the bottom of the jacket.

This jacket is much warmer then I imagined it would be which is a plus for when I try it out during winter use.

Reviewed 9/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page