X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Showers Pass Mens Elite 2.1 Jacket

Showers PassMen's Elite 2.1 Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(77 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(56)
(20)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(73%)
(26%)
(0%)
(1%)
(0%)
Excellent for Challenging Weather
by George
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Nice fabric that provides protection against the rain and the cold. Zippers under the arms are great for ventilating when you get warmed up. And the zippered chest pocket and rear pocket provide great storage for the gear you need at hand. High visibility in the day time (yellow) and at night (reflective stripes). There are other excellent products out there, but it would be hard to find one better at this price point. Not cheap, but you'll never regret spending a few extra dollars here for years of good wear.

Reviewed 1/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rain jacket but no side pockets
by PDX bike wanderer
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced my original Showers Pass Elite rain jacket after 7 years of use. I got a great deal on this jacket that I couldn't refuse. It's nice to have a new jacket that repels the rain. I bought the same size as before but this one fits a little tighter. One downside for me is the lack of side pockets. There is now one large pocket in the lower back that is not so usable for me. Perhaps I will get use to it but it seems more awkward. No where to easily put my gloves when stopping. Overall I am happy with the jacket and look forward to dry rides in the rain. One other thing, the tag said Mens but the zipper is on the opposite side.

Reviewed 12/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love this layering jacket
by Cavi19
Casual Cyclist
chicago, IL

Perfect with a light shirt for >40F, add some warm layers for colder. Great looking, nice and bright, great cut. I bought 2, and both people love them.

Reviewed 1/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Jacket
by CDavis
Casual Cyclist
CT

Jacket is great, it feels right when riding. Front zipper pocket holds my car keys, Iphone 6s, and nutrition bar. Does not impede the ride, and keeps you warm and dry. Goldenrod is a great color.

Reviewed 11/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the best rain jacket I have ever own!!!
by wjmurphy
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, Colorado

I use this jacket frequently during winter training, It is completely waterproof, very well constructed and durable. The front pocket has worked very well protecting my phone, the collar is ample and keeps most everything out of the jacket. I'd buy this jaclet again today.

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still waterproof after all these years...
by Stacia (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
24 of 24 customers found this review helpful.

I have owned the Elite 2.0 jacket since 2008 (I think) and have worn it pretty much daily for winter commuting for most of those years. Except for dirt stains on the yellow fabric, it still looks brand new - ZERO loose threads, worn fabric, anything. On a long bike tour a few years ago, I brought another Showers Pass jacket (the Century, maybe? - trying to save weight) and loaned my Elite 2.0 to my riding partner. By the end of my three-month tour, the lighter jacket was destroyed - no longer waterproof, with the fabric layers peeling apart, the pit zippers stuck. The Elite 2.0 was still kicking, and continues to keep me totally dry and comfortable in all kinds of weather.

I am a woman, but have the men's cut of this jacket. It fits fine and I can fit it over another jacket or sweater easily. I do find that it's cut a little too short in the front, but the long back hem is awesome. It's possible this is improved in the new 2.1 cut, which I haven't tried.

My only caveat is the cuff fabric. It soaks up water like crazy and takes a loooong time to dry. Why Showers Pass didn't make the cuffs out of the same awesome eVent fabric that the rest of the jacket is made of, I will never understand.

Reviewed 9/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Amazing Commuter Jacket
by Golfwheels
Daily Commuter
Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is hands down the best cycling jacket I've ever owned. Granted, I don't have a fleet of jackets that I interchange throughout the year. I take my time, do a lot of research, then buy an item that I use regularly. It's replacing a 30 year old Burley cycling jacket that was showing it's age. As far as cycling goes, I commute year round on a gravel and fat tire bike so whatever I buy gets regular usage and aside from recreational trail riding I live in this jacket during a 32 mile round trip suburban commute. I'm 6'2, 200 lbs so and struggle to find clothing that fits longer arms and smaller torso (much of the gear out there is too short in a L and too baggy in an XL). Either way, this jacket fits perfectly in an XL with room for layers underneath. The material is truly water and wind tight and I recently rode in a snowstorm with large, wet flakes and nothing got in. Paired with the Shower pass convertible pants, I truly feel watertight and breathable when I ride. One warning, if you carry a cell phone, I wouldn't recommend using chest pocket to carry it. The moisture you generate from sweat tend to collect on the phone (it's not from water outside the jacket, this thing is water-tight!). The vents are perfectly placed and catch just enough air to keep me cool once I start to warm up. Great jacket, well made and I'm looking forward to years of hard use out of it!

Reviewed 1/28/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth the extra dollars
by Jay (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
19 of 19 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Shower's Pass Century jacket for the past couple years. The jacket has held up well, fits well and keeps the rain out, but it really doesn't breath particularly well. After a hard workout in Portland drizzle, I'm almost as moist as if I hadn't been wearing a jacket.

So this season, I decided to break down and spend the extra money on the Elite 2.0 jacket. Wow, what a difference. This jacket keeps me warm and dry without feeling like I'm wearing a plastic bag. Extremely well made with lots of venting options and the fabric seems to breath surprisingly well. I also feel a bit safer riding in the dark with the reflective stripes on the back and sleeves. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 1/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for cold weather
by Anonymous

Great shell for cold weather riding.

Reviewed 12/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Need to modify my review
by Maven
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate New York
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I wish to add that the Showers Pass Men's Elite 2.1 Jacket DOES have a zippered rear pocket, which will help keep the elements away from you and your gear. I've therefore upgraded my review to 5 Stars for the product, and 4 Stars for value (price varies; shop carefully for sales).

Reviewed 8/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great Jacket for the wet PNW.
by Andrew S. (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR.
30 of 41 customers found this review helpful.

I love my Elite 2.0! I mostly commute but If it looks like I'm going to brave the downpour to get a great rain ride in, this is what I'll be wearing. Excellent waterproof quality, without over heating, or becoming drenched in my own sweat. If you need a top of the line do all waterproof jacket, this is it!

Reviewed 10/30/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Waterproofing did not last
by Jim
Daily Commuter
Rochester NY
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I am a commuter who puts on about 2500 miles a year riding to work. The jacket was on a good sale and my previous rain jacket that was 15 years old was leaking so I figured I would try this one. It is about 3 years old and is already leaking. Of course it is just beyond the warranty. Disappointing considering it was not cheap.

Reviewed 7/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good jacket for commuter.
by Tim
Casual Cyclist
Kentucky
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using this jacket almost daily for a couple of months now. I commute by bike and or motorcycle 5 days a week. It has kept me dry even at highway speeds. The drop tail is nice for commuting, but looks strange when I'm out shopping. I find myself wearing this jacket even when it's not raining because of the the great venting. I bought goldenrod to be visible. It's definitely bright. In short I love this jacket. I just ordered some Showers Pass pants to keep my lower half dry.

Reviewed 9/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rain jacket
by JRinTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleburne, TX
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this rain jacket in anticipation of encountering rain on RAGBRAI this year. I knew from weather patterns in Iowa that there would be a great chance this jacket would come in handy. Guess what, on Friday of RAGBRAI we had a big storm come through and we got to ride in very heavy rain. This jacket stopped the rain very well and I found it much more comfortable than typical cheap rain jackets. The breathable material worked great and the two vents under the arms worked great

I had a great ride in the rain that day while others thought they encountered their worst day ever. Based on that difference of opinion, I'd say the Showers Pass jacket is well worth the money.

Reviewed 8/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Price on a great Jacket.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
portland OR

lightweight sprint rain jacket, perfect for biking in PDX spring showers. Quality materials, easily packed into a bag when the sun comes out. Bright high visibility colors and tape make you easy to spot when visibility is low.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Jacket
by Lunchrider
Portland

Does a great job of keeping you dry, I miss the two way zipper of the old style but use this jacket when its raining

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great windrain gear
by Michael Rubenstein
Portland

Ive had many waterproof biking specific jackets over the past 40 years. The Showers Pass Elite is my favorite of the bunch. For winter, the high lined collar provides excellent neck protection. The back vent minimizes the classic exertion soaking back. The only improvement I would like is a snap closure at the neck. This would allow closure from the wind at the collar while adding some extra sweat cooling with the zipper down a bit. ( I did DIY a solution with a Velcro leather strip to anchor the existing neck hood Velcro patches.) And of course as a Portland cyclist, always happy to support a local bicycle business.

Reviewed 2/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No sweat!
by Michael Rubenstein
Sauvie Island, Oregon
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ive had many great rainwind jackets in over 40 years of NW winter riding. The Elite has the best combination of rainwind protection and ventilation to keep me from cooking in my own sweat midway through a winter ride.

Reviewed 1/3/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Essential equipment for the NW
by NW BG
Daily Commuter
Troutdale, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very light weight, easy to store and use as needed.

'Elite' means the fit is for buff riders, so over size by one if needing to layer, over size by two if carrying a spare through the middle.

This jacket will save some $ by extending the riding season.

Reviewed 2/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
XXL Fits
by BigBike
Portland, OR

6'-4, 230 lbs. Room for layers underneath.

Would love to know why zipper is backwards from typical male coats.

Zipper pulls could be larger.

Reviewed 7/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page