Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Showers Pass Mens Elite 2.1 Jacket

Showers PassMen's Elite 2.1 Jacket(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(57 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(16)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(72%)
(28%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Excellent, but zippered back pocket is disappointing.
by richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Showers Pass Elite 2.1 jacket is what I use and like best. The underarm ventilation zippers make a big difference. Just wish for a more traditional 3 back pockets, the zippered back pocket is not very practical. Dealing with it while riding is difficult.

Reviewed 11/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still waterproof after all these years...
by Stacia (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
18 of 18 customers found this review helpful.

I have owned the Elite 2.0 jacket since 2008 (I think) and have worn it pretty much daily for winter commuting for most of those years. Except for dirt stains on the yellow fabric, it still looks brand new - ZERO loose threads, worn fabric, anything. On a long bike tour a few years ago, I brought another Showers Pass jacket (the Century, maybe? - trying to save weight) and loaned my Elite 2.0 to my riding partner. By the end of my three-month tour, the lighter jacket was destroyed - no longer waterproof, with the fabric layers peeling apart, the pit zippers stuck. The Elite 2.0 was still kicking, and continues to keep me totally dry and comfortable in all kinds of weather.

I am a woman, but have the men's cut of this jacket. It fits fine and I can fit it over another jacket or sweater easily. I do find that it's cut a little too short in the front, but the long back hem is awesome. It's possible this is improved in the new 2.1 cut, which I haven't tried.

My only caveat is the cuff fabric. It soaks up water like crazy and takes a loooong time to dry. Why Showers Pass didn't make the cuffs out of the same awesome eVent fabric that the rest of the jacket is made of, I will never understand.

Reviewed 9/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worth the extra dollars
by Jay (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
pdx
17 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the Shower's Pass Century jacket for the past couple years. The jacket has held up well, fits well and keeps the rain out, but it really doesn't breath particularly well. After a hard workout in Portland drizzle, I'm almost as moist as if I hadn't been wearing a jacket.

So this season, I decided to break down and spend the extra money on the Elite 2.0 jacket. Wow, what a difference. This jacket keeps me warm and dry without feeling like I'm wearing a plastic bag. Extremely well made with lots of venting options and the fabric seems to breath surprisingly well. I also feel a bit safer riding in the dark with the reflective stripes on the back and sleeves. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 1/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good jacket for commuter.
by Tim
Casual Cyclist
Kentucky
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using this jacket almost daily for a couple of months now. I commute by bike and or motorcycle 5 days a week. It has kept me dry even at highway speeds. The drop tail is nice for commuting, but looks strange when I'm out shopping. I find myself wearing this jacket even when it's not raining because of the the great venting. I bought goldenrod to be visible. It's definitely bright. In short I love this jacket. I just ordered some Showers Pass pants to keep my lower half dry.

Reviewed 9/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great rain jacket
by JRinTX
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleburne, TX
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this rain jacket in anticipation of encountering rain on RAGBRAI this year. I knew from weather patterns in Iowa that there would be a great chance this jacket would come in handy. Guess what, on Friday of RAGBRAI we had a big storm come through and we got to ride in very heavy rain. This jacket stopped the rain very well and I found it much more comfortable than typical cheap rain jackets. The breathable material worked great and the two vents under the arms worked great

I had a great ride in the rain that day while others thought they encountered their worst day ever. Based on that difference of opinion, I'd say the Showers Pass jacket is well worth the money.

Reviewed 8/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great Jacket for the wet PNW.
by Andrew S. (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR.
29 of 40 customers found this review helpful.

I love my Elite 2.0! I mostly commute but If it looks like I'm going to brave the downpour to get a great rain ride in, this is what I'll be wearing. Excellent waterproof quality, without over heating, or becoming drenched in my own sweat. If you need a top of the line do all waterproof jacket, this is it!

Reviewed 10/30/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I commute with this daily around 200 weekly
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I commute with this daily around 200 weekly. I ride in every condition imaginable and plow through heaps and heaps of rain. This does keep me dry however I am usually drenched when I get home, but I'm not sure if that's water or sweat. Nevertheless when I ride I dont feel like I am getting wet and that's pretty much all that matters. I stay dry (feel like I'm staying dry) and warm. I place my cell phone and my wallet in the left breast pocket and have never had a problem with water although water (condensation) does seem to penetrate although not enough to cause damage. I've unfortunately had a few crashes in the last 7 months and the jacket has faired well - There are some battle wounds, but this jacket has many more years of life left - I would without hesitation buy another if needed.

Reviewed 4/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is the Gold Standard of rain gear with superior design and attention to detail.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Hartford, CT

I use this coat whenever the weather looks threatening at all. If it doesn't end up raining I don't worry about it because it provides excellent wind protection and the event fabric breathes very well so it's a great coat to have along most of the time.

Reviewed 1/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well designed and great fit
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Idaho

Have used it down to 0 degrees F with layers and have stayed warm. Haven't taken a real long ride in the rain with it, but short ones have been warm and dry

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
breathable, waterpoof, durable, comfortable
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympic Peninsula, WA

I bought it on sale and like it a lot. It's been wet and cold this fall and I appreciate it's breathability. Pit zips are easy to use, allows me to regulate with the varying conditions we have in the northwest. The goldenrod color has good visibility for poor weather conditions.

Reviewed 1/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
everything you need in a daily commuter rain jacket
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is a great jacket with plenty of room for layering. Only (minor) complaint I have is that Shower's Pass jacket sleeves tend to run on the long side and bunch up near the wrist. Or maybe my arms are just short...

Reviewed 1/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, nice comfortable material
by Monacomsw
Brookline, MA

Roomy enough for layering, vents for temperature regulation.

Reviewed 1/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice jacket
by Keith
Cycling Enthusiast
Corvallis, OR

I bought this to replace an old REI rain jacket that wore out. The Elite 2.1 is kind of expensive, but it is very nice. It seems well-made. I expect it to last a while. I like the more snug fit, but I can still wear it over a sweatshirt without problem. My use is primarily for commuting, but I'll take this out on other rainy rides as well. I'm 5'11, 175 lbs.

Reviewed 1/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very happy - least overheating I've experienced with a rain jacket
by richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
N. Illinois S Wisconsin
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First time use on a rainy 45 degree day with a wool jersey underneath - 105 mile ride

Worked fine and did not overheat. Side vents were easy to open and close while riding. Back pocket takes getting used to.

Reviewed 5/2/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Close fitting, easy to zip and unzip, lots of coverage.
by cycal
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland,Or

I ride for enjoyment and I prefer to stay dry and comfortable. I saw this jacket last year and it looked good to me so I found out how its made and heard a lot of good things about the brand. I have been adding better visibility to my biking outfits and I bought this in the cayenne color which I think really holds your attention and I feel safer when I ride with it. I saw reviews which were mostly very favorable but I saw a few in which the writer was disappointed not to have side pockets. I also would prefer that but the pit zips open to the inner layer so wear a base layer with side pockets and reach inside to use those pockets, problem solved. It really is a great jacket.

Reviewed 5/3/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Over all good product
by Anonymous
Illinois

Breathes with out the draft. Wear it down into the upper teens. Little pricey but works great

Reviewed 11/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great jacket and loved your price.
by jdcbiking
Cycling Enthusiast
Fishers, IN
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have used my jacket a couple of times, loved the fit, I ordered the large even though I am 5'10 and it fits great. really like that you can zip and unzip the underarm zippers while you are riding. great jacket. Look forward to using this for years to come.

Reviewed 11/17/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
La Jolla, CA
0 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I use the jacket when it rains.

Reviewed 6/1/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Costly but effective
by Wilhelm
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Well-constructed with tight stitching, wind-resistant, relatively light and compressible, somewhat tightrestrictive in the chest area, price is only major negative the mark-up must be extraordinary for an item made with cheap Chinese labor!

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The perfect rain jacket
by SeattleCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Terrific all-purpose rain jacket. Collar is perfect, just the right balance between snug and comfortable, and water never gets in. Great fabric, cut, zipper placement, breathability, and venting options for changing weather. The sleeves occasionally get waterlogged (not leaky, but heavy) and need a coat of revive-x to start shedding water, but that's pretty standard for Gore-Tex-like fabrics.

Reviewed 5/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page