X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Shimano XC701E Wide MTB Shoe

ShimanoXC701E Wide MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(21 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(8)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(57%)
(38%)
(5%)
(0%)
(0%)
Perfect fit, great for XC
by Wolfgang
Cycling Enthusiast

I first tried the Lake MX238-X. As others mentioned the heel in the Lake is to wide and I did not get a good fit. What I liked on the Lake is the easy step in and adjustment with the L6 BOA Push/Pull lacing system in tightening AND loosing. The micro adjustment in both directions is missing in the Shimano which use a more simple BOA system.

However, on the end the fit was the decision maker, even if it takes a little longer to step in and adjust. I wish I could have the Shimano fit with the Lake BOA system. BTW, test of multiple shoes is very easy.

On the bike the shoe is perfect, walking is also no problem on different terrain.

Reviewed 9/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They Fit!
by 1EyedTexan
Cycling Enthusiast
So. East Texas
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Finally a pair of shoes that fit my feet. I have one pair that are the right length but are too narrow, these are uncomfortable but I've endured. Another pair look like clown shoes on my feet but they are wide enough. These Shimano extra wide are just right. No pain and no clown shoes. I Only ride around 80 too 100 miles a week around my hood. Ride on good asphalt, grappy asphalt, and no ashalt. Then there is the crappy chip seal. The shoes feel good and Would recommend them to anybody with wide feet.

Reviewed 5/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for long distances
by Anonymous
Virginia

I bought this after initially planning to buy Shimano's new gravel shoe for a three-day, 350-mile off-road bike packing trip. The reviews for the gravel shoe suggested it would be too racy (i.e. thin and stiff) for my use, so I opted for this MTB model instead. So glad I did! It's still stiffer than my casual commuter shoes but padded enough for full days of riding, and the soles are great for pavement walking and hike-a-bike situations. I will say that I got some minor hot spots when really putting in an effort over several miles or more, but chances are you're not buying these shoes for that kind of roadie riding. I also love Shimano's wide fitted shoes (I have the road ones as well) but everyone's fat feet are different. Can't speak for real mountain biking, but I highly recommend these shoes.

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe with a sharp tongue
by milwaukieor
Daily Commuter
Milwaukie, OR

I like this shoe, I upgraded from Sidi MTB shoes to these and the stiff sole gives me way more spring in my pedal stroke than the Sidi shoe did. I also love the wide toe box for my wide feet. The entire shoe is perforated, so these may be 2 season shoes unless over boots are in the mix.

The con is that the tongue is a very narrow piece of material and it can pinch at the base of the ankle, I wish that Shimano had made it a little longer with some sort of soft fabric rolled over the tongue's edge to help soften the bite in that area at the front of my ankle.

I would buy this shoe again, I've taken to wearing a little longer sock to help protect my ankles from getting pinched and am resigned to having dorky tan lines in the summer months.

Reviewed 6/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well made shoes. Could be a little wider.
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
MA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I use these about 150 miles per week - mostly on road and gravel. They are longer, but not as wide as the same-size (47) Sidi Mega. The width is adequate, but there is only 2 or 3 clicks worth of slack in the lower boa. In winter with heavier socks, I'll probably need to go back to the Megas. The added length results in a bit of toe overlap on a couple of my bikes which can make slow speed turns a bit awkward. But I'm getting used to that.

What I really do like are the Michelin soles. The lug inserts on the Sidis work loose over time and I have to keep re-gluing them. The Michelin soles on these look like they will hold up much better. The cleat mounting position is also slightly more inboard, so I don't need spacers on the pedal axles.

Reviewed 9/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome shoe
by Muck
Jacksonhole

Best brand of shoes imo, very stiff, soft fabric, and durable.

Reviewed 6/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome shoes!
by Anonymous

These shoes fit perfect! I have a wide foot and it can be difficult to find a shoe that is comfortable. This shoe is plenty wide enough but not overly big. Will definately purchase another pair when these wear out!

Reviewed 1/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome shoes!
by Anonymous

These shoes fit perfect! I have a wide foot and it can be difficult to find a shoe that is comfortable. This shoe is plenty wide enough but not overly big. Will definately purchase another pair when these wear out!

Reviewed 1/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pleased with this shoe
by KeePedalin
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Comfortable, well made, pleased quality. One simple recommendation is to extend tongue or have loop to hold up tongue while putting on the shoe- tongue wants to slip down and isn't way to pull up or to hold in place while putting them on.

Reviewed 1/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the best cycling shoes (road or MTB)I have ever worn in 20 years of cycling
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Morro Bay, Californias
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I MTB with my dog 3 days per week, 2.5 to 3 hour rides, lots of climbing and downhill.

Reviewed 2/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
light, stiff and comfortable!
by Tony
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacto CA

I always fit in between sizes with Shimano shoes so I went ahead and tried the wide hoping it would work. Fit was perfect! One thing I feel that is difference than other cycling shoes I presently use, including specialized s works is the front of the foot bed has a mold thats fits between your toes and the ball of your feet. I like the way it feels while pedaling, good design!

Reviewed 5/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The XC 701 shoes are excellent. They are wide for my feet.i
by Peter
Casual Cyclist
Hawaii

I use the shoes with my road bike. SPD pedals are great. I have to get used to the Boa straps.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Superior shoe
by Anonymous
chicago
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great :-)

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Finally a pair shoes that fit my 4 eeee feet.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Michigan

So far I like everything about these shoes.

Reviewed 6/20/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not what I expected
by Sarto
Competitive Racer
Livermore Ca.
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is a 46 wide like my Shimano road shoes. Unfortunately unlike my road shoe these come with the one way Boa dials. Once you set the tension you have to pull on the dial to release then reset tension to the desired feel. Unlike there road shoe the upper strap cut into my ankles. Took the shoes to cobbler and had the strap arched. Your thinking why didnt he just send them back. Well after spending hundreds of dollars on different shoes and insoles, Shimano is the only one that has been pain free on my feet. One last word.the 46 wide MTB model is a little roomier at the toe box than the road version.

Reviewed 4/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Toe Room and Heel Hold
by Mike
Cycling Enthusiast
Pocono''s PA
Review for Shimano SH-XC7E Wide MTB Shoe

Order your size, these aren't made small, toe box is roomy too! I have a high arch, these don't have the arch support I would need, but that's not unusual. I also have a high in-step US 8.5, and there was plenty of room to get these shoes on. I mention heel, because there is a material used in the heel pocket that resembles a fish scale. The scaling faces down toward the heel acting as a heel hold down. The heel slides in easily, but the scaling holds the foot in... pretty cool!

I wish I would have ordered a half size smaller, but for my riding, these are fine. I use these for road, gravel, and when they get ugly, they'll be my MTB Shoes. Not many miles on them yet.

Reviewed 10/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lite shoe -needs better insole
by markb129
Greenville SC
Review for Shimano SH-XC7E Wide MTB Shoe

I bought the wide because of recent toe joint replacement on both feet. I am still working with getting the shoe to fit comfortably and recently added a cushion insert. Put several long rides in on them including Pisgah climbs and knarl. Easy to use and look neat but wish the insoles were more supportive.

Reviewed 10/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you just want a wider toe box
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
sacramento ca
Review for Shimano SH-XC7E Wide MTB Shoe
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I got these for gravel bike riding, so I wanted a stiff road bike shoe with a treaded sole and these are. I have a duck foot shape i.e narrow heel and wide at the forefoot with a overall lower volume foot and these fit great. The glossy finish makes it easier to clean. One thing kinda wierd is the lacing is different on each shoe I guess so the BOA tighten and loosen the same direction.

Overall a great shoe stiff and light,I ended up throwing some mtb pedals on my roadie so I can use them all the time!

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for cyclocross and gravel riding
by Spartan Cyclist
Competitive Racer
Chicago, IL
Review for Shimano SH-XC7E Wide MTB Shoe
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

This is a mid-level cycling shoe. It has a composite carbon fiber sole which is between something like a nylon sole and a full carbon sole. So they are a bit heavier than a high end full carbon shoe.

I upgraded from a cheaper nylon soled shoe because that shoe was giving me foot cramps when I would do some high intensity cyclocross riding.

I'm giving this shoe a very good rating because of it's place on the food chain of shoes. If you want the highest level of performance from your shoe there are more expensive and betterlighter shoes. However, for a value and utility perspective this is a really great shoe that will keep you happy.

I also noticed that the shoe has good traction and is comfortable to wear on the cyclocross course, when nothing else is comfortable!

If I could ask for something more from this shoe it would be another boa for the front of the shoe instead of the Velcro strap which does not really add too much tightness.

Reviewed 11/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit
by Anonymous
portland michigan
Review for Shimano SH-XC7E Wide MTB Shoe

Very impressive shoe, innovative lacing,

Super fit for my wide hoof!

Reviewed 10/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page