X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Shimano Ultegra PD-R8000 SPD-SL Pedals

ShimanoUltegra PD-R8000 SPD-SL Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(36 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Shimano Ultegra PD-R8000 SPD-SL Pedals
by Hard Drive
Central Illinois
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Just took delivery of a TREK 7.7FX this summer to keep riding a great all-carbon road bike with fitness bike handlebars and controls. Wanted the efficiency of road bike pedals to work with my Sidi Genius 7 road bike shoes. These Shimano pedals fit the bill perfectly. The pedal cleats give me the right amount of float and the manufacturing quality is top notch. Very easy to snap into and out of pedals with adjustable spring loading on pedals. Id suggest this set-up to anyone in their mid to late 60s who still loves the long rides on flats and hills.

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Secure, Easy to Clip In, Quick Cleat Wear
by Overlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got these pedals to replace Look Keos that I had used for a few years (the Keos were loosing a metal plate on the top of one pedal). These pedals seem solid. Getting the cleats into the pedals is fine, about the same as the Keos. Getting the cleat out takes a bit more effort at the factory setting, which I have not yet changed. I like the availability of a near-zero float cleat (the blue-cushioned ones). However, these cleats have worn quickly - on both shoes, the outside blue pad was gone after a week of riding, and now after a couple of months, the plastic has worn enough to make walking tilted. But the attachment to the pedals is still secure. Not sure I would buy these again because of the fast cleat wear.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedal
by AzBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After 15+ years on Speedplay Zero's I switched to Shimano, primarily for a larger platform to try to alleviate hot foot that I would get after 50-60 miles of riding. Unlike Speedplay, these are one sided, but it is in effect the same, since they are weighted so the clip in side is always up. I am clipped in much more securely with less wasted float (maybe I didn't have my zero set screws dialed in enough?) Entry and exit are a breeze. You still need to get used to placing your foot in the correct location for entry - same as when I switch from road to mountain and back. I also bought the cleat covers - much better than the useless Speedplay aero covers that fall off when you walk and get coated with dry lube so you can;t put then in your pocket anyway.

Reviewed 12/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Top of the line pedal
by Gene K.
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA

I have three sets of these pedals on my three bikes. They are light and technically as good as the best, Dura Ace. It isn't a secret that Shimano uses the same technology in Ultegra as they do in Dura Ace. The major difference is the materials used, Ultegra being just a tiny bit heavier. It is the simple reason than most professional teams that use Shimano components use Ultegra on their bikes. The oldest set of my Ultegra pedals is on my BMC SLR O1 Team Machine. They have been on the bike for the last four years, and have accumulated somewhere north of 23,000 miles. I have never experienced a problem with them in all that time. They are a great pedal that holds the cleat well, but releases easily when they need to. I bought the third set a couple of months ago when I added a new bike to my stable. I have used a lot of different pedals over the years, but once I got the Ultegra pedal I decided that I had found something to stick with. I like the solidity of the platform and ease of entering and leaving the pedal. Cleats are reasonably priced and generally last a full season of hard cycling. What's not to like?

Reviewed 8/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals, made even better
by Peloton21
Competitive Racer
Burbs west of Boston

Fantastic value, excellent performance. These Ultegra pedals just keep getting better. The R8000 version has shorter distance by several millimeters between the spindle and top of the pedal.

If replacing older Ultegra pedals, you may need to adjust the seat height slightly lower to account for that, expecially if also putting on a bike with 172.5 mm cranks vs. prior bike of 170mm and older Ultegra pedals. The combon difference in height adjustment is 5-6 mm, which is noticeable. Ask me how I know this... lived it.

Reviewed 7/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Some things just work exactly the way they should...
by CoppiThat
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had been riding some Look Keo carbon pedals for many years. They were getting sloppy and generally worn out. I decided to try the Ultegra pedals this time because the Shimano products are generally pretty solid and well thought out. I did add just a bit of weight to the bike with these but those extra grams were worth it. These pedals are so much easier to find with the cleat and they function so perfectly that I pretty much have to call them perfect. The other factor that was a massive improvement was the cleat. I can walk with confidence on all kinds of surfaces now that I would have avoided previously. I also switched to the blue cleats but that is only about float and nothing more. While I'm sure the Dura Ace pedals are just a little bit better, I highly recommend these as a fantastic intersection of quality, performance and price.

Reviewed 2/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great set of pedals at a reasonable price.
by CHambley
Cycling Enthusiast

This is my 2nd pair of pedals (I have a set on another bike). They are high quality and easy to use.

Reviewed 9/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Los Angeles, CA

Pro-level pedals, work great, just what I had expected

Reviewed 3/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrific pedals
by markpea
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, IN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It has taken me aeons to find a combination of pedals and cleat that suit me. I like to take photographs on long rides which obviously involve stopping and getting off the bike. Having knackered innumerable Look cleats by walking on them (and hobbling myself) with my new steed (Trek SL6) I thought I would try these pedals & cleats. RESULT! Not only are they really easy to clip in, and provide a wide three point contact surface to ease pressure on the sole of the foot, the cleats also give a stable walking surface on the road. Brilliant product, terrific price, great website and super service. 5 stars all round!

Reviewed 9/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road pedal!
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've used Shimano road pedals forever and this design is their best yet. Previously being a Dura Ace snob, I built another bike to leave in another state so I didn't have to always travel with my bike. Ultegra seemed to fit the need. Since then I've purchased several more of these pedals as they work really well.

Reviewed 7/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic Pedals
by Anonymous
NM
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Upgraded from a set of Look Keo Carbon pedals. Love the silence of them. Even after dirt, rain, and multiple washes, they are still creak free. I have put roughly 1800 miles on them over the past three months.

Reviewed 5/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent pedals
by Anonymous
Windsor ontario
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great pedals for the price. Long lasting. My first set lasted well over 4 years

Reviewed 12/31/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent value
by Boywonder
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Barbara
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Best value,best functioning pedal for the money.

Reviewed 9/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They just work
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my third set of Shimano Ultegra pedals. They have a wide solid platform, are easy to clip in and out of, and they are durable.

Reviewed 9/15/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super.
by Al
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ

Switched from two-bolt cleat. Foot pain gone.

Reviewed 7/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent pedals
by edtown
so cal.

I have used Shimano Ultegra pedals for many years. These are a great replacement pedal.

Reviewed 8/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals used on my gravel bike that has drop bars.
by Jerome
Cycling Enthusiast
Ne.

Power transfer is great. Easy clip in and out. Sturdy and efficient. Cant go wrong for the price.

Reviewed 6/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to use
by trt501
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, TX

I have Shimano for years and the Ultegra pedals are equal or better than the Dura Ace pedals Ive used for years.

Reviewed 6/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product.
by Anonymous
Sonoma County
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent product at a good price. Arrived within a few days with regular shipping.

Reviewed 5/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bulletproof
by Michael
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

You never hear any complaints about Ultegra pedals. How can you possibly go wrong? Nothing weird, nothing but pedals you put your feet on and they work.

Reviewed 5/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page