X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano Ultegra PD-R8000 SPD-SL Pedals

ShimanoUltegra PD-R8000 SPD-SL Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(50 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(46)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(92%)
(8%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Long-lasting, simple pedals and cleats
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

I really like the simplicity and so far the reliability of these pedals and cleats. After nearly 4,000 miles, and many rides through rain, these have held up extremely well. Once the cleat position is dialed in, they just work, and I don't have to think about them. I do regrease bearings every 700-1k miles or so because of the rain, but even that might be overkill. Simple to do. I'm also still on the first set of cleats - maybe because I try to avoid walking in them. At the current rate, I expect these pedals to last for many thousands of miles to come.

I'll note that coming from (now ancient) Speedplay X2s with huge, non-adjustable float, the first rides on the SPD-SLs felt very restrictive even with the yellow cleats. In fact, I hated them at first, but it honestly didn't take long to adjust and realize that I didn't need all of that float the Speedplays had. Afterwards even new Speedplays just felt sloppy. If I could change one thing on the shimanos, it might be just 1-2 more degrees of float and was one reason I considered Look Keos. But I'm happy with my choice and see no reason to switch. Also if the cleats get a little dirty, no big deal. I once stepped on a single raisin with my speedplays and had to dig a sandy mess out before I could even clip in.

I do recommend taking an allen wrench on the first couple rides to adjust the cleats on the fly. And once you get them dialed in, mark or spray paint the cleat position to make it easier when you replace them.

Reviewed 2/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Superb pedal, large platform and reliable clip-in/out
by oaklandmark
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been a Shimano SPD user for around 20 years, starting with an old Ultegra pair, and then in a "what the heck" moment buying a DuraAce pair for a second bike. Those DuraAce, after around 15 years, started getting dangerously difficult to clip out of, and so after a little fiddling cleaning and lubing failed, I just went and bought these. I was going to spend the extra for DuraAce again, but between the Ultra being on sale, and admitting to myself that after multiple experiences with Ultegra and DuraAce in brakes, gears, and pedals, I honestly could not find any difference in performance between the two, I bought these.

Shimano has improved their design over the years, with these Ultegra pedals being about 25 g lighter per my scale than the 15 year old DuraAce. The platform is both a little wider and has a slightly larger surface area, both making for a reduction in the pressure on the ball of one's foot, which is the main reason one goes to these pedals in the first place. After riding Look and Keo in the past, as well as a miserable pair of Crank Brothers eggbeater pedals, I can attest that more contact area is a good thing, and less is a pain to the point of injury.

I heartily recommend theses pedals. They are light, smooth, easy to clip in and out of, include a pair of yellow (+/-3 degrees) cleats, allow you to adjust the clip-in tension, are long lasting, and have that large contact area you'll want on a road bike. Excellent product.

Reviewed 6/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good pedals
by Aaron
Duluth

I have an older pair of these Ultegra and the Dura Ace version on another bike. The Dura Ace of course is a bit better build and a tiny bit lighter but unless you are racing or have the extra money to spend the Ultegra is perfect. Like the newer pedals better than my old ones but the 5 year old version is still in great shape after thousands of miles. Put the new ones on a new bike build. No complaints and recommended.

Reviewed 8/22/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very pleased!
by Anonymous

I switched from Speedplay. Easy set up, very durable. Nice flexibility yet firm peddle motion without any knee pain. Have them on both bikes.

Reviewed 9/30/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wide spindle life!
by RipCity Ryan
Portland

Tired of rubbing your shoes on the inner heel? Tired of scuffing your cranks? Wanting the same incredible clipless system you've always loved from Shimano? If you, like me, are less narrow footed than most than these are the pedals for you! Not any those things? Then still get these in shorter spindle option. A little lighter than the 105, still cheaper than Dura Ace. Get 'em and don't regret 'em.

Reviewed 7/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Ultegra PD-R8000 SPD-SL Pedals
by Hard Drive
Central Illinois
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Just took delivery of a TREK 7.7FX this summer to keep riding a great all-carbon road bike with fitness bike handlebars and controls. Wanted the efficiency of road bike pedals to work with my Sidi Genius 7 road bike shoes. These Shimano pedals fit the bill perfectly. The pedal cleats give me the right amount of float and the manufacturing quality is top notch. Very easy to snap into and out of pedals with adjustable spring loading on pedals. Id suggest this set-up to anyone in their mid to late 60s who still loves the long rides on flats and hills.

Reviewed 9/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Secure, Easy to Clip In, Quick Cleat Wear
by Overlander
Cycling Enthusiast
Boulder, CO
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I got these pedals to replace Look Keos that I had used for a few years (the Keos were loosing a metal plate on the top of one pedal). These pedals seem solid. Getting the cleats into the pedals is fine, about the same as the Keos. Getting the cleat out takes a bit more effort at the factory setting, which I have not yet changed. I like the availability of a near-zero float cleat (the blue-cushioned ones). However, these cleats have worn quickly - on both shoes, the outside blue pad was gone after a week of riding, and now after a couple of months, the plastic has worn enough to make walking tilted. But the attachment to the pedals is still secure. Not sure I would buy these again because of the fast cleat wear.

Reviewed 8/20/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More power as registered by power meter than my previous pedal. Shimano is great!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cold mid west

I was having problems on swift with my pedal so tried this pedal and it worked great, I am older and have tried many pedals. I have not used them in town but zwift and country ridding is really much better with this pedal.

The construction is tough and easy on my feet I use yellow float.

Reviewed 5/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Pedals
by GDavey
Cycling Enthusiast
Fort Myers, FL

I use these on my road bike especially for long distance trips of 4 to 7 days. I don't weigh 150 lbs so the pedals get a good workout.

Reviewed 8/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Pedal
by Oleman53
Cycling Enthusiast
Vegas

I recently began converting my gravel bike to full road setup. New ties, and pedals . Shimano never fails to impress. To me better value than the Dura Ace model. The weight difference does not concern me..

Reviewed 3/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedal
by AzBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

After 15+ years on Speedplay Zero's I switched to Shimano, primarily for a larger platform to try to alleviate hot foot that I would get after 50-60 miles of riding. Unlike Speedplay, these are one sided, but it is in effect the same, since they are weighted so the clip in side is always up. I am clipped in much more securely with less wasted float (maybe I didn't have my zero set screws dialed in enough?) Entry and exit are a breeze. You still need to get used to placing your foot in the correct location for entry - same as when I switch from road to mountain and back. I also bought the cleat covers - much better than the useless Speedplay aero covers that fall off when you walk and get coated with dry lube so you can;t put then in your pocket anyway.

Reviewed 12/10/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Top of the line pedal
by Gene K.
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have three sets of these pedals on my three bikes. They are light and technically as good as the best, Dura Ace. It isn't a secret that Shimano uses the same technology in Ultegra as they do in Dura Ace. The major difference is the materials used, Ultegra being just a tiny bit heavier. It is the simple reason than most professional teams that use Shimano components use Ultegra on their bikes. The oldest set of my Ultegra pedals is on my BMC SLR O1 Team Machine. They have been on the bike for the last four years, and have accumulated somewhere north of 23,000 miles. I have never experienced a problem with them in all that time. They are a great pedal that holds the cleat well, but releases easily when they need to. I bought the third set a couple of months ago when I added a new bike to my stable. I have used a lot of different pedals over the years, but once I got the Ultegra pedal I decided that I had found something to stick with. I like the solidity of the platform and ease of entering and leaving the pedal. Cleats are reasonably priced and generally last a full season of hard cycling. What's not to like?

Reviewed 8/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long spindle makes a huge differrence
by Wild in UT
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah

I purchased these long spindle pedals. They feel so much better than my older narrower pedals. Love the simplicity of the SPD system.

Reviewed 4/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals, made even better
by Peloton21
Competitive Racer
Burbs west of Boston
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Fantastic value, excellent performance. These Ultegra pedals just keep getting better. The R8000 version has shorter distance by several millimeters between the spindle and top of the pedal.

If replacing older Ultegra pedals, you may need to adjust the seat height slightly lower to account for that, expecially if also putting on a bike with 172.5 mm cranks vs. prior bike of 170mm and older Ultegra pedals. The combon difference in height adjustment is 5-6 mm, which is noticeable. Ask me how I know this... lived it.

Reviewed 7/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good pedals; stiff, wider base, smooth bearings.
by Anonymous

I also have the dura ace 9100; these are very similar

Reviewed 3/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Some things just work exactly the way they should...
by CoppiThat
Cycling Enthusiast
Pittsburgh, PA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I had been riding some Look Keo carbon pedals for many years. They were getting sloppy and generally worn out. I decided to try the Ultegra pedals this time because the Shimano products are generally pretty solid and well thought out. I did add just a bit of weight to the bike with these but those extra grams were worth it. These pedals are so much easier to find with the cleat and they function so perfectly that I pretty much have to call them perfect. The other factor that was a massive improvement was the cleat. I can walk with confidence on all kinds of surfaces now that I would have avoided previously. I also switched to the blue cleats but that is only about float and nothing more. While I'm sure the Dura Ace pedals are just a little bit better, I highly recommend these as a fantastic intersection of quality, performance and price.

Reviewed 2/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrific pedals
by markpea
Cycling Enthusiast
Richmond, IN
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It has taken me aeons to find a combination of pedals and cleat that suit me. I like to take photographs on long rides which obviously involve stopping and getting off the bike. Having knackered innumerable Look cleats by walking on them (and hobbling myself) with my new steed (Trek SL6) I thought I would try these pedals & cleats. RESULT! Not only are they really easy to clip in, and provide a wide three point contact surface to ease pressure on the sole of the foot, the cleats also give a stable walking surface on the road. Brilliant product, terrific price, great website and super service. 5 stars all round!

Reviewed 9/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Clean design. Light. Secure.
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter

I used to ride Dura Ace components, but Ultegra is so good now that when my old components wore out, I bought all Ultegra components. Like everything Shimano --- they just work.

Reviewed 1/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The gold standard
by Steve F
Saugus

Seemingly flawless in their design, build quality and performance these pedals will handle years of abuse and look good doing it.

Reviewed 12/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New pedal for road bike
by Tom
WA state

I purchased these after I had bought the dura-ace version. These feel exactly the same. Small weight penalty but huge $ savings.

Reviewed 11/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page