Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain

ShimanoUltegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(55 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(10)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(80%)
(18%)
(2%)
(0%)
(0%)
My Cannondale caad10 Ultegra is so sweet to ride especially when I am sporting a new Shimano chain.
by pushing 60 but pedaling 20 mph
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

A new chain can make your bike run like a deer. I love my Cannondale caad10 Ultegra, but even more when my favorite mechanic Todd puts on a new chain and tightens up the derailleur. Ride safe, but wear a bracelet with your medical contact.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worthwhile Upgrade and Solid Component
by Fiddler
Cycling Enthusiast
Alexandria, VA

I recently purchased this chain as a replacement for a KMC chain I had previously. My bike had a mix of Shimano 105, KMC, and FSA components, but I've made a couple upgrades to Ultegra as I wore parts out. I found this chain to be easy to install and it's running smoothly on my bike now. I've noticed that my efficiency has increased slightly since installation, which has translated to several unexpected PRs on Strava segments. I am very happy with the high standard Shimano has set with their components, and Ultegra is a great balance of performance and price.

Reviewed 4/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
received quickly, no problem
by Michael D
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver CO

standard chain, good value, use tool for pin

Reviewed 8/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
High quality and durable
by Tae
Flushing

These chains never fail to exceed its expectations. Tried all the others but always came back to these.

Reviewed 7/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
no problem, prompt delivery, good price and value
by Michael D
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

need chain tool to shorten and put pin. Keep lettering on chain outside (to the right) per picture supplied with chain. easy to install

Reviewed 7/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
reliable.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Just a rock solid, well priced, chain. Have been using the Ultegra on all my bikes for years. Clean, lube, replace when my Go, No Go chain checker tells me to. No need to over sell it!

Reviewed 7/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain
by Old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my original chain after 3600 miles (still had life left) on trek road bike. The shimano is lighter and shifts smoother than the original even when new. I get good miles out of my chains as I clean them every 150-200 miles. I remove soak them in simple green, scrub with paint brush, rinse and blow dry with hair dryer, reinstall with master link then use Motorex road strong motor cycle lube. I know your thinking this guy is text book OCD my wife keeps telling me that, never the less my LBS tells me what ever I'm doing its working.

Reviewed 7/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most reliable bike chain
by cyclin c
Santa Rosa

I've tried other chains that cost less and was not satisfied.the shimano chain last many miles if you take care of your drive train by cleaning, etc.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Reliable, low-cost chain.
by Zoom
Competitive Racer
Des Moines, throughout the U.S., and Europe

Inexpensive yet smooth functioning chain.

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth and quiet
by Old enough to know better
Cycling Enthusiast
NW Wisconsin

I learned the hard way that 10 speed chains need more frequent cleaning than ancient 5 & 6 speed chains AND that you MUST read the manual. You must not break the chain and reuse the pin as we did years ago. That said - what a relief to return to quiet reliable shifting. From the amount of stretch over the past 900 miles on the identical chain I'm going to guess that I'll get about 2500 miles before replacing it with the chain I just bought.

Reviewed 6/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Road bike chain
by Anonymous
sf bay area

I purchased this for the price was right and sticking with Shimano ultegra items with ultegra gears only makes sense for they fit well together.

No noticeable difference or problems

Reviewed 6/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great, shifts smooth but installation not fool proof
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Okay the chain works great and is the high quality we expect and get from Shimano. My only caveat is that installation of this chain is not as easy or foolproof as with the SRAM or KMC products. I learned the hard way-the link pin must be inserted correctly or the chain can break. In my case the chain broke as I was climbing a hill, and locked up in the rear derailleur which then tore through the chainstay of my titanium Litespeed on its maiden voyage. A bitter pill for sure, for which I don't blame Shimano. I simply want to warn users of this system that installing this chain correctly is important. Since this disaster I have installed these without a problem and run them on more than one of my bikes, so all good now. But a tough way to learn I hope other buyers avoid.

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great always
by Tom R
Cycling Enthusiast
L.I.N.Y.all seasons 20degrees F

7,000 miles a year,replace at 0.75 wear indicator

Reviewed 5/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice durable chain.
by Keirin
Competitive Racer
Lodi, California

Cleans easy and last long.

Reviewed 2/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very smooth shifting
by tjg6548
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota

Easy install and very smooth shifting when used with shimano cassette

Reviewed 1/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain
by Anonymous

Great chain. Great price.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Once again why oh why pay so much more for a product to just save weight.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St Petersburg FL

It works great!

Reviewed 9/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
economical, durable, dependable
by p,orbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
portland, or

use on a road bike. Plenty long to fit big gears. Easy to install, just be sure chain writing is facing out as it is directional which improves shifting. I install a removable master link for easy cleaning. It would be nice if Shimano included one but the pin also works fine. Google the chain for specific installation instructions. In case the chain breaks, a spare master link will get you home.

Reviewed 4/21/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well!
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR

I guess a chain could be awesome but not sure. Got this one to replace worn Dura Ace chain on rain bike.

New chain works great. And the price was extremely reasonable.

In fact I sold some Dura Ace 10 speed chains (new) on eBay, bought and extra one of these and had extra $$$ in my pocket afterward. That's a win-win!!!!

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's Shimano! What else needs to be said!
by Mel
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA

A great chain for a great price. Keeps the wheels turning!

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page