X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain

ShimanoUltegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(84 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(68)
(14)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(81%)
(17%)
(1%)
(1%)
(0%)
Worthwhile Upgrade and Solid Component
by Fiddler
Cycling Enthusiast
Alexandria, VA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I recently purchased this chain as a replacement for a KMC chain I had previously. My bike had a mix of Shimano 105, KMC, and FSA components, but I've made a couple upgrades to Ultegra as I wore parts out. I found this chain to be easy to install and it's running smoothly on my bike now. I've noticed that my efficiency has increased slightly since installation, which has translated to several unexpected PRs on Strava segments. I am very happy with the high standard Shimano has set with their components, and Ultegra is a great balance of performance and price.

Reviewed 4/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Chain, chain, chain..
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland

Of fools. Pandemic allowed me to ride more miles in 2020 that normal and led to the rookie mistake of waiting too long to replace the chain which often time leads to replacing the cassette too. As was the case this time. Word of advice for the DIY'er, make sure you have a quality chain tool and use the right pin as 9sp, 10sp, and 11sp are all different. If using a master link, you'll find it much easier to connect with Master Link pliers like Park MLP-1.2.

Reviewed 8/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great everyday chain
by cadrmof
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I buy a number of these chains when they are on sale and each will last me about 2,000 to 2,500 miles. I clean the chain every 100 miles and lube with a dry teflon spray which gets out the majority of the road gunk and provides another smooth ride and performance stroke. Park tool has a nice chain tester to determine best time to replace, prior to waiting and have the chain slipping or jumping gears. Ride on... smoothly!

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New chain shows out of spec stretch to 0.5%
by DRERLE
Cycling Enthusiast
NYNJ
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Be careful when you buy this Shimano chain. Three of the last four that I bought or checked at the store already showed 0.5% of chain stretch out of the box, using a Park tool. In other words, two thirds of the wear was already present in the new chain. I gave up and bought a KMC chain which was solidly at 0% wear.

Reviewed 5/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
smooth, actually best chain I have had
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

smooth error free shifts, like a new bike

Reviewed 7/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Cannondale caad10 Ultegra is so sweet to ride especially when I am sporting a new Shimano chain.
by pushing 60 but pedaling 20 mph
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

A new chain can make your bike run like a deer. I love my Cannondale caad10 Ultegra, but even more when my favorite mechanic Todd puts on a new chain and tightens up the derailleur. Ride safe, but wear a bracelet with your medical contact.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
reliable.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Just a rock solid, well priced, chain. Have been using the Ultegra on all my bikes for years. Clean, lube, replace when my Go, No Go chain checker tells me to. No need to over sell it!

Reviewed 7/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most reliable bike chain
by cyclin c
Santa Rosa
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried other chains that cost less and was not satisfied.the shimano chain last many miles if you take care of your drive train by cleaning, etc.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain
by Old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Ca
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my original chain after 3600 miles (still had life left) on trek road bike. The shimano is lighter and shifts smoother than the original even when new. I get good miles out of my chains as I clean them every 150-200 miles. I remove soak them in simple green, scrub with paint brush, rinse and blow dry with hair dryer, reinstall with master link then use Motorex road strong motor cycle lube. I know your thinking this guy is text book OCD my wife keeps telling me that, never the less my LBS tells me what ever I'm doing its working.

Reviewed 7/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great, shifts smooth but installation not fool proof
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Okay the chain works great and is the high quality we expect and get from Shimano. My only caveat is that installation of this chain is not as easy or foolproof as with the SRAM or KMC products. I learned the hard way-the link pin must be inserted correctly or the chain can break. In my case the chain broke as I was climbing a hill, and locked up in the rear derailleur which then tore through the chainstay of my titanium Litespeed on its maiden voyage. A bitter pill for sure, for which I don't blame Shimano. I simply want to warn users of this system that installing this chain correctly is important. Since this disaster I have installed these without a problem and run them on more than one of my bikes, so all good now. But a tough way to learn I hope other buyers avoid.

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice durable chain.
by Keirin
Competitive Racer
Lodi, California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Cleans easy and last long.

Reviewed 2/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very smooth shifting
by tjg6548
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Easy install and very smooth shifting when used with shimano cassette

Reviewed 1/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great chain. Great price.

Reviewed 1/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well!
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I guess a chain could be awesome but not sure. Got this one to replace worn Dura Ace chain on rain bike.

New chain works great. And the price was extremely reasonable.

In fact I sold some Dura Ace 10 speed chains (new) on eBay, bought and extra one of these and had extra $$$ in my pocket afterward. That's a win-win!!!!

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's Shimano! What else needs to be said!
by Mel
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

A great chain for a great price. Keeps the wheels turning!

Reviewed 12/30/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid chain and easy to install
by Jmanna
Williamsville NY
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to install. Good price. Reliable and solid product.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nearly as good as Dura Ace and less expensive
by G Kuch
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Virginia
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have an all Ultegra 10 speed drive train, except for FSA cranks. I ran Ultegra chains for a couple of years, but then came across sale on Dura Ace 10 speed chains and decided to try it. No perceptible difference in performance or longevity, but noticeably quieter that Ultegra. Now I can't seem to find Dura Ace 10 speed chains anywhere. Perhaps Shimano has quit making them. Anyway, the Ultegra chain is a great chain and if you find it on sale get a couple.

Reviewed 11/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
best Shimano chain
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kalamazoo,MI

Usually get 2,000 to 3,000 miles of really good performance

Reviewed 8/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great chain!
by Steve
Daily Commuter
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I put a new one of these on bike annually. Do this instead of replacing the whole drivetrain. I have never had issues.

Reviewed 12/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
More durable than 105, cheaper than Dura-Ace by alot, same performance.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

More durable than 105, performs like Dura-Ace at a much lower price. Save more, buy on sale..

Reviewed 4/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page