X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain

ShimanoUltegra CN-6701 10-Speed Chain(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(81 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(65)
(14)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(80%)
(17%)
(1%)
(1%)
(0%)
Solid workhorse
by PrimalChief
Competitive Racer
Austin, TX

Solid durable chain that does exactly what it's supposed to. Great durability on the road and the trainer both.

Reviewed 5/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worthwhile Upgrade and Solid Component
by Fiddler
Cycling Enthusiast
Alexandria, VA

I recently purchased this chain as a replacement for a KMC chain I had previously. My bike had a mix of Shimano 105, KMC, and FSA components, but I've made a couple upgrades to Ultegra as I wore parts out. I found this chain to be easy to install and it's running smoothly on my bike now. I've noticed that my efficiency has increased slightly since installation, which has translated to several unexpected PRs on Strava segments. I am very happy with the high standard Shimano has set with their components, and Ultegra is a great balance of performance and price.

Reviewed 4/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great everyday chain
by cadrmof
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I buy a number of these chains when they are on sale and each will last me about 2,000 to 2,500 miles. I clean the chain every 100 miles and lube with a dry teflon spray which gets out the majority of the road gunk and provides another smooth ride and performance stroke. Park tool has a nice chain tester to determine best time to replace, prior to waiting and have the chain slipping or jumping gears. Ride on... smoothly!

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New chain shows out of spec stretch to 0.5%
by DRERLE
Cycling Enthusiast
NYNJ

Be careful when you buy this Shimano chain. Three of the last four that I bought or checked at the store already showed 0.5% of chain stretch out of the box, using a Park tool. In other words, two thirds of the wear was already present in the new chain. I gave up and bought a KMC chain which was solidly at 0% wear.

Reviewed 5/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain
by JR
Cycling Enthusiast
Houstn, TX

Chain is good came as original equipment with my BMC.

Reviewed 1/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid chain and easy to install
by Jmanna
Williamsville NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to install. Good price. Reliable and solid product.

Reviewed 6/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My Cannondale caad10 Ultegra is so sweet to ride especially when I am sporting a new Shimano chain.
by pushing 60 but pedaling 20 mph
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR

A new chain can make your bike run like a deer. I love my Cannondale caad10 Ultegra, but even more when my favorite mechanic Todd puts on a new chain and tightens up the derailleur. Ride safe, but wear a bracelet with your medical contact.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The chain was fine.
by jayne
Cycling Enthusiast
Tehachapi, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The chain works fine...

Reviewed 12/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid chain, great value
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Highlands Ranch, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These ultegras last long and are a much better value than the dura-ace version.

Reviewed 11/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great chain
by Big rider
Galt

Great chain for the price I have never broken one and put in plenty of miles

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Ultegra CN-6701 10 Speed Chain
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA

Great quality, good durability for a good price. Been using these chains for years!

Reviewed 11/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great chain!
by Steve
Daily Commuter
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I put a new one of these on bike annually. Do this instead of replacing the whole drivetrain. I have never had issues.

Reviewed 12/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
reliable.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just a rock solid, well priced, chain. Have been using the Ultegra on all my bikes for years. Clean, lube, replace when my Go, No Go chain checker tells me to. No need to over sell it!

Reviewed 7/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great chain
by Cicliman
Salem, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to try Shimano chain on my Shimano 105 group bike after using other brands for many years. Shifting is flawless and crisp. It was a great decision. I fully recommend this chain.

Reviewed 11/18/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good quality chain.
by Oceanbikerider
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA

I typically get about 3500 miles of usage from this chain before replacement is necessary due to wear.

Reviewed 9/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most reliable bike chain
by cyclin c
Santa Rosa
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried other chains that cost less and was not satisfied.the shimano chain last many miles if you take care of your drive train by cleaning, etc.

Reviewed 7/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain
by Old rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced my original chain after 3600 miles (still had life left) on trek road bike. The shimano is lighter and shifts smoother than the original even when new. I get good miles out of my chains as I clean them every 150-200 miles. I remove soak them in simple green, scrub with paint brush, rinse and blow dry with hair dryer, reinstall with master link then use Motorex road strong motor cycle lube. I know your thinking this guy is text book OCD my wife keeps telling me that, never the less my LBS tells me what ever I'm doing its working.

Reviewed 7/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
as advertised, quick shipping
by Anonymous

solid quality from Shimano, quick shipping

Reviewed 8/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great, shifts smooth but installation not fool proof
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Okay the chain works great and is the high quality we expect and get from Shimano. My only caveat is that installation of this chain is not as easy or foolproof as with the SRAM or KMC products. I learned the hard way-the link pin must be inserted correctly or the chain can break. In my case the chain broke as I was climbing a hill, and locked up in the rear derailleur which then tore through the chainstay of my titanium Litespeed on its maiden voyage. A bitter pill for sure, for which I don't blame Shimano. I simply want to warn users of this system that installing this chain correctly is important. Since this disaster I have installed these without a problem and run them on more than one of my bikes, so all good now. But a tough way to learn I hope other buyers avoid.

Reviewed 6/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice durable chain.
by Keirin
Competitive Racer
Lodi, California

Cleans easy and last long.

Reviewed 2/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page