Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano SM-SH20 SPD-SL Cleat Spacer Kit

ShimanoSM-SH20 SPD-SL Cleat Spacer Kit(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(1)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(82%)
(9%)
(9%)
(0%)
(0%)
Shimano shims for Shimano cleats
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland

If you use shims on your road shoes and use Shimano cleats, you'll need this product. Instructions are helpful, so pay attention to shim thickness and cleat bolt length, the set includes longer bolts, which you'll need for stacking your shims above 1mm.

Reviewed 9/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than Shimano compatible
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New EnglandMidwest
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I split my time between two cities so I have bikes and shoes in each one, and since my right leg was recently found to be shorter than my left I needed to shim two pairs of shoes. As it happened I used these Shimano shims on one pair and a compatible brand on the other. The Shimano shims are more expensive but, I think, quite a bit easier to install properly. Shimano cleats have very small nubs on the side that face the sole of the shoe. These probably dig into the sole a bit when the bolts are tightened and help keep th cleats in place. The Shimano shims have matching pits on their upper surfaces and theyre curved to match the curvature of the cleats. What this means is that the shims mate to the cleats and move with them as you move them around getting everything properly aligned. The compatible cleats move on their own and they can protrude enough to make it hard to clip in, so you want the cleats edges of the cleats and shims to align. Its a smallish thing I guess, but using the Shimano shims saves time and makes it easier to get everything lined up so clipping in and out works smoothly. Thats worth a few bucks.

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works with Look cleats
by Anonymous

I have uneven leg lengths. I was looking for spacers specific for my look pedals cleats. However, I found that these are compatible, and work just fine. Will be buying these for the rest of my shoe collection.

Reviewed 3/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work well
by BHendricks
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These stack really well. Was worried about using more than one but they lock together.

Reviewed 3/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
If you need them, they are terrific
by Gitano1
Cycling Enthusiast
Bonney Lake WA

Years ago a doctor told me that my left leg was slightly longer than my right. I never really noticed that this could be a problem until I changed saddles from an SMP Glider to a Specialized S-Works Power. The Power being a flat saddle allowed me to slide over to the right side in order to compensate for the leg length difference. something that was not as easy to do on a ridged saddle like the SMP. I experimented with the shims starting at 3 MM and finally ended up with 6MM of shims under my right cleat. With these in place I sat squarely on the saddle, and it proved to be the most comfortable saddle I had ever ridden. These were well worth the price as they corrected a long extant problem. With things evened out, it was far easier to find a correct saddle height as well.. I should note that these are designed to work with Shimano road cleats only.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One leg longer than the other? You need these!
by Lawrence
Portland

Use these to balance your leg length while using Shimano road pedals and cleats. Install the correct thickness between your shoe and cleat with the included longer screws and you will be smiling again.

Reviewed 1/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice product.
by walt
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area

It works as intended and are easy to install.

Reviewed 11/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Malvern, PA

I have tried a number of lifts to correct a leg length discrepancy, but they were all designed to work with multiple pedal types. As a result they never worked really well with my Shimano cleats. These spacers are designed to work with the Shimano SPD SL cleats so they work very well. And the price is right!

One caveat though. I needed a full centimeter of lift (two sets worth) so I had to locate my own mounting screws.

Reviewed 3/19/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great option if you need some spacing!
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Campbell, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The product worked like a charm. Good solid materials, stacked nicely. It didnt slip when I really cranked down on the bolts for the cleat. Highly reccomend this if you need to level out your leg descrepencies.

Reviewed 10/10/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work perfectly
by RickD
Competitive Racer
Utah

These work better than the competing shims. These stack together nicely.

Reviewed 9/19/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
exactly what it claims to be
by STLfelt
Casual Cyclist
St Louis, MO

These are great for balancing out my reach on my bike (apparently im a little lopsided). Its nice that you can swap out the 3 different shims for the perfect fit.

Reviewed 6/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.