X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano PD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals

ShimanoPD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(37 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(30)
(7)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Sturdy Girdy
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Crank brothers blew up in the middle of a long ride. Very frustrating. Now I'm back to these pedals on my commuter, mountain bike, and cross bike. Reliable and inexpensive.

Reviewed 8/31/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Old Roadie

Good clipless pedal
by Old Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding CA

Installed on a new road bike and they work just fine - smooth and nice clip in.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ScottP

Crank Bros to SPD
by ScottP
Competitive Racer
Eugene, Or
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

So I have been using Crank Brothers Egg beater pedal for years. I broke one once during a race, and have blown out bearings. So at the advise of many fellow racers I made the switch to SPD. These 540, XT & XTR pedals. Immediately with all three levels I noticed a larger, better platform under my foot. ( I use carbon soled MTB shoes) These pedal just feel solid. I did a race last week which was very muddy. These didn't seem to shed the mud like I remember egg beaters doing, but I could be wrong. I made this switch this within 6 months, so I feel to be more fair to crank bros I need to allow more evaluation time, but so far, IM liking the change.

Reviewed 5/5/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DeeBiker

The Best Pedal
by DeeBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I love these pedals. I currently own three sets and they're the only pedal I recommend to people in search of a mountain-style, two-bolt, pedal. Durable, reasonable light, and functional.

This is about as much pedal as anyone needs.

Reviewed 4/15/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Gecko Sprock

Nice Pedals Easy Clip INOut
by Gecko Sprock
Cycling Enthusiast
Washougal Hills
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Use it on my road bike. Easy clip inout. No false clip-outs.

Reviewed 2/17/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Solid performer
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Well made for years of service. Only issue was they were not fully lubricated, so had to oil them after first couple of rides. But otherwise great!

Reviewed 1/16/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Simon Wood

A great pedal
by Simon Wood
Cycling Enthusiast

I have these pedals on all my bikes. They're just a well made product.

Reviewed 11/8/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rich Moll

Well designed & built
by Rich Moll
Daily Commuter
Hartford, CT

I installed on my new Roubaix. Pedals are operating smoothly. I prefer SPD on my road bikes, cuz I like to stop & explore by foot a lot of the time. wearing MB shoes allows me to do this.

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Sparks cyclist

Great pedals!
by Sparks cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Sparks, NV
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these pedals on my road bike because they are light weight and allow me to use shoes that are easier to walk in. They are very smooth to click into and release from and have just the right amount of 'float' for comfortable riding. I also have these pedals on two other bikes and have found them all to be very comfortable and reliable.

Reviewed 7/6/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mister Magoo

Great Upgrade
by Mister Magoo
San Francisco
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Ive used the 520s for years now and finally upgraded my bikes to the 540s. For me, the decision came down to higher quality materials used on the spindle of the 540 vs the 520, and the better support feeling of the cleat interface. The 520s are great if you are unsure of clipless and want to try it. The 540s are perfect for an upgrade and a rider who wants to get more adventurous with their rides.

Reviewed 5/24/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Works!
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

No other description needed. Just works and a great price to boot!

Reviewed 3/9/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NordMN

Great pedals for my GravelCyclocross Bike
by NordMN
Competitive Racer
Northern Minnesota
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased these pedals for my new GravelCyclocross bike. These pedals have the performance I was looking for in an all-round performer for a variety of riding conditions.

Reviewed 3/31/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rides in the rain

Shimano pedals - reliable and as tough as they come.
by Rides in the rain
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Smooth-turning, tough, general purpose clip-in pedal. Works well for road or mountain biking I have the same style of pedals on both types of bikes and like the fact that I can switch bikes without worrying about different shoes. I'm still using other SPD pedals dating back eight years and they keep spinning without any problems. I put this pair on a new road bike. One quibble is that because they are double-sided, there is a slight weight penalty over single-sided clip-in pedals. Over than that, a great pair of pedals and, of course, delivered with Bike Tire Direct's speedy delivery service.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Berlinerluft

Perfect!
by Berlinerluft
Cycling Enthusiast
Berlin, Germany

After a lifetime of Look-type pedal, I decided to give these a go as I do a lot of longish distance riding and it's nice not tearing up cleat after cleat. Solidly built and efficient.

Reviewed 4/23/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Perfect for me.
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Using them for the road and mountain bike.

Reviewed 10/11/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rich

rock solid and easy
by Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I use these pedals to commute, mtn bike and ride 100 milers on the weekend. I like their versatility and ease of use.

Reviewed 10/6/2012
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

This clip sytem works well with my comuter bike,it is easy to get in and out of the clips.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane ,Washington
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It was very easy to install the pedals. I really think a clipless pedal is a major improvement over traditional toe clips. It took just a little bit of practice to learn how to engage and release out of the pedals.

Reviewed 5/1/2012
Thank you for your feedback.