X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano PD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals

ShimanoPD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(31 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(81%)
(19%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Pedals for new bike
by Anonymous
Omaha ne

Have these pedal on there bikes I like them alot

Reviewed 1/23/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ease of use
by docholaday2
Cycling Enthusiast
Columbus, Ohio

Super practical. Not complicated. Think appliance: just works well.

Reviewed 1/20/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The SPD pedal is an easy in and out. I've tried the rest.
by East Coast biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern US
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use these on my road bikes. Super easy to clip in and out at lights and other stops.

Reviewed 12/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ideal clip in/clip out
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento CA

This item was easy to install. It also fits both of my bike shoes with a quick release

Reviewed 12/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Pedals
by Anonymous

Love these pedals - have them on all my bikes.

Reviewed 10/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Hold On Tight!
by DrumEmpo
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Charles, MO

Finally upgraded my pedals on my 2021 Giant Advanced Revolt 3. These pedals perform as expected and keep the compliment the existing color scheme. Sturdy clip-in with a quick release when needed.

Reviewed 5/16/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
These were a game changer for me
by bhanna5
Casual Cyclist
Conshohocken, PA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to use and install, the M540s completely changed the feel and ride of my hybrid bike. Being new to cycling, I had no idea how powerful and connected clipless pedals make a rider feel. I took to riding longer and much faster, and the pedals never disappoint. Shimano makes a great product here, and a couple of my friends now ride the same clipless pedals. Quite honestly, there's no way I'd want to ride my bike without them. I stay clipped in and getting out is a snap. I have had a few mishaps where I forget or slow down to a stop too soon, which has caused a couple spills. After installation, I would suggest practicing for a few minutes before attempting your normal ride.

Reviewed 10/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works Great With No Adjustments needed
by Sisophous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Rochelle, NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These work perfectly with nothing required to adjust. The is one big issue I had and that was my pedals I was replacing after 23 years of usage were impossible to remove from my bike. I had the right tool but could not get them off and even the bike shop struggled and had to take the bike to the back of the shop and mount it. So I dished out $12 in labor cost to get the old pedals off and these installed. Don't be surprised if you have the same issue. There is no reason to purchase any other similar pedals. These are lightweight and are flawless.

Reviewed 11/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect and inexpensive.
by David
Cycling Enthusiast
Greenville, SC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great pedals for anyone who wants to wear "walkable" bike shoes (recessed cleats). Double sided and easy to get in and out of. I use them on my road bike. Light and versatile.

Reviewed 9/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid, good quality pedals; expect they will last as long as my 1990s SPD road pedals
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Steamboat Springs, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Solid pedals; good quality; function well, minimal maintenance. I have been riding Shimano SPD pedals on all my bikes for several decades. My son got me to try other brand pedals which were ok but I ride mountain, gravel and road in the same set of shoes so SPD pedals work the best for me. I still use a set of road SPD pedals from the early 90s that still work great.

Reviewed 9/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SWEET
by Double E
Cycling Enthusiast
St George, Utah
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Been using egg beaters thinking they were easier to clip in and out until i tried a pair of 540. so far they have been very reliable and easy to get clipped inout. would buy again

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals!
by Alan
Katy
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is my fourth set of double-sided Shimano pedals of this type. They are good looking, rugged, and, in my opinion, faster in and out of than the typical road bike Look style or even Speedplays. I know most riders think of these as mountain bike pedals but they are the primary style of road bike pedals I have used in in over 10 years and over 37,000 miles in my road bikes.

Reviewed 8/13/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great pedal
by Simon Wood
Cycling Enthusiast

I have these pedals on all my bikes. They're just a well made product.

Reviewed 11/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals!
by Jim
Wisconsin
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had some older shimano pedals and was noticing too much float. I bought these and bingo, my knee problems subsided.

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super pedals. No regrets!
by JustTheDad
Texas

Changed from Look style road pedals to SPD pedals this year, after 30 years in the saddle. Cant believe what I've been missing. These pedals are a great deal and made well. Not the base model but not the overpriced model either. Cant go wrong with them.

Reviewed 6/8/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good clipless pedal
by Old Roadie
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding CA

Installed on a new road bike and they work just fine - smooth and nice clip in.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Pedals Easy Clip INOut
by Gecko Sprock
Cycling Enthusiast
Washougal Hills
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Use it on my road bike. Easy clip inout. No false clip-outs.

Reviewed 2/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid performer
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Well made for years of service. Only issue was they were not fully lubricated, so had to oil them after first couple of rides. But otherwise great!

Reviewed 1/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well designed & built
by Rich Moll
Daily Commuter
Hartford, CT

I installed on my new Roubaix. Pedals are operating smoothly. I prefer SPD on my road bikes, cuz I like to stop & explore by foot a lot of the time. wearing MB shoes allows me to do this.

Reviewed 6/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy Girdy
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Crank brothers blew up in the middle of a long ride. Very frustrating. Now I'm back to these pedals on my commuter, mountain bike, and cross bike. Reliable and inexpensive.

Reviewed 8/31/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page