Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano PD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals

ShimanoPD-M540 SPD Clipless Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(67%)
(33%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Works!
by Anonymous

No other description needed. Just works and a great price to boot!

Reviewed 3/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
SWEET
by Double E
Cycling Enthusiast
St George, Utah

Been using egg beaters thinking they were easier to clip in and out until i tried a pair of 540. so far they have been very reliable and easy to get clipped inout. would buy again

Reviewed 1/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals for my GravelCyclocross Bike
by NordMN
Competitive Racer
Northern Minnesota

Purchased these pedals for my new GravelCyclocross bike. These pedals have the performance I was looking for in an all-round performer for a variety of riding conditions.

Reviewed 3/31/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano pedals - reliable and as tough as they come.
by Rides in the rain
Cycling Enthusiast
Edmonds, WA

Smooth-turning, tough, general purpose clip-in pedal. Works well for road or mountain biking I have the same style of pedals on both types of bikes and like the fact that I can switch bikes without worrying about different shoes. I'm still using other SPD pedals dating back eight years and they keep spinning without any problems. I put this pair on a new road bike. One quibble is that because they are double-sided, there is a slight weight penalty over single-sided clip-in pedals. Over than that, a great pair of pedals and, of course, delivered with Bike Tire Direct's speedy delivery service.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sturdy Girdy
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Crank brothers blew up in the middle of a long ride. Very frustrating. Now I'm back to these pedals on my commuter, mountain bike, and cross bike. Reliable and inexpensive.

Reviewed 8/31/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Crank Bros to SPD
by ScottP
Competitive Racer
Eugene, Or
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

So I have been using Crank Brothers Egg beater pedal for years. I broke one once during a race, and have blown out bearings. So at the advise of many fellow racers I made the switch to SPD. These 540, XT & XTR pedals. Immediately with all three levels I noticed a larger, better platform under my foot. ( I use carbon soled MTB shoes) These pedal just feel solid. I did a race last week which was very muddy. These didn't seem to shed the mud like I remember egg beaters doing, but I could be wrong. I made this switch this within 6 months, so I feel to be more fair to crank bros I need to allow more evaluation time, but so far, IM liking the change.

Reviewed 5/5/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Best Pedal
by DeeBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I love these pedals. I currently own three sets and they're the only pedal I recommend to people in search of a mountain-style, two-bolt, pedal. Durable, reasonable light, and functional.

This is about as much pedal as anyone needs.

Reviewed 4/15/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
rock solid and easy
by Rich
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I use these pedals to commute, mtn bike and ride 100 milers on the weekend. I like their versatility and ease of use.

Reviewed 10/6/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This clip sytem works well with my comuter bike,it is easy to get in and out of the clips.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Spokane ,Washington
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It was very easy to install the pedals. I really think a clipless pedal is a major improvement over traditional toe clips. It took just a little bit of practice to learn how to engage and release out of the pedals.

Reviewed 5/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.