X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano PD-M520 SPD Pedals

ShimanoPD-M520 SPD Pedals(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(41)
(9)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(79%)
(17%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Bang for the buck
by TR

Solid pedals at a great price. I�ve got bikes running these and another with the XT�s which are quite a bit more expensive and only a handful of grams lighter. I have no need to buy a weight savings so little when really a couple of rides and a couple fewer beers will be a cheaper and easier way to lose those grams. In practice I cannot tell any difference and have since bought more of these 520s when needing to add pedals to the quiver.

Reviewed 1/19/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They spin!
by Old Biker-Runner
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin

I bought these to save my Garmin power pedals from indoor training where I have power through the smart trainer. I enjoy the dual sided SPD and am considering converting my Vector 3's (Look) to Rally XC bodies (SPD) for the future. Paired these with a pair of fizik shoes. Very happy with the results.

Reviewed 1/9/2023
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano SPD pedal
by DGatewood57
Oklahoma
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These are extremely high quality pedal. They were easy to install and have made a huge difference in my ride. Well worth the money.

Reviewed 7/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product!
by Ken Thompson
Milwaukee

It was easy for me to adjust and learn how to use my first clip in type pedals. They seem indestructible.

Reviewed 10/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simple pedal system that works every time
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

For a bottom of the barrel pedal in this range, they sure do work great. Yeah they might be a few grams heavier than their more expensive counterparts, but when your CX bike is covered in mud, grams don't matter anymore. Clip in and out each time, no binding, no issues. Adjustable tension too!

Reviewed 10/9/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Clipless is not for me.
by Nick S
Daily Commuter
Coeur d''Alene, ID
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this as an entry level clipless pedal, and felt the value was good. After riding it around the block a few times, I really liked it. However, when I rode it to work, my toes would go numb. I tried adjusting cleat position and seat height to no avail. This could because of my casual cycling shoes (Shimano CT5) I was using did not have a stiff enough bottom, rather than the pedal's fault, but needless to say, I stopped using both of them.

My only complaint about this product is that it's impossible to return because the clips and pedals will never be like new after first use. I would have returned them, but it's honestly just the nature of the product. You can't return it.

Reviewed 7/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pedals
by Randy
Hillsville

These are my first clipless pedals for my mountain bike. They work great on the rail trails I ride most of the time. I have been using clipless on my road bike for years. It's great to be using clipless on both road and gravel.

Reviewed 8/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bulletproof, great bang for the buck
by iammikeDOTorg
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

Super basic, super indestructible, super heavy. If you need a simple SPD pedal that will last you possibly forever, this is the product for you.

Reviewed 2/4/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best pedals for gravel road bike
by Gravel Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Lebanon PA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Started riding gravel road bike to get away from automobiles!

Reviewed 1/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very pleased
by Dave
Upstate, N.Y.
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

First time clipless rider following many decades of toe clips . Easy to install. East to adjust tension of release mechanism. Apprehension abated.

Reviewed 12/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Rugged pedals
by Ron
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale,Tx.

I own three sets of these, on all my bikes. Very affordable, excellent product. I have never had a problem out of any sets.

Reviewed 7/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
affordable pedals that just work
by josephjohnsiv
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

the pedals work great, and are super affordable. Probably will last a lifetime too because Shimano.

Reviewed 12/29/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent value and great performance
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, Ca

Excellent value and great performance. Bought these for my wife as her first clip pedals. They work great and are very easy to use. Seem rugged and dependable.

Reviewed 12/29/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great pedal
by Simon Wood
Cycling Enthusiast

These pedals are a great value. I have them on all my bikes.

Reviewed 11/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Pedals Easy Clip INOut
by Gecko Sprock
Cycling Enthusiast
Washougal Hills
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

25 Years with these Shimano SPD Style Pedals. They've never caused issues, good float. Used mainly on my road bikes.

Reviewed 12/19/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Installed and working great!
by Oregon rider!

I put these pedals on my touring road bike and expect to do about a 1500 miles this summer with tours and training. they'll be great!

Reviewed 4/3/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THESE PEDALS ARE WONDERFUL!
by C.Hamilton
Cycling Enthusiast
KC MO

I've not used this type pedal before but I really love them. I'm use to the Look type pedal. These SPD's are very easy to clip in and out of, light weight, and float is keen. Highly recommend these.

Reviewed 3/27/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for a few thousand miles, not rebuildable,
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
6 of 12 customers found this review helpful.

Shimano Pedal Dynamics (SPD) are the pedals I used when I went clipless 15 years ago. I wore out 3 set of SPD's, never found a rebuild kit. 10 years ago I switched to Crank Bros Eggbeaters and Candy, for which I have rebuild kits ($10) and rebuilt 1 set. Cleats wear out before the pedal bearings. I remember a few episodes of SPD's jamming on engagement/disengagement. Scary when the pedal won't let go of your foot. Crank Bros are rebuild-able and smoother engage/disengage.

Reviewed 2/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great value for the price.
by Anonymous
Northern California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Haven't ridden enough (yet) but so far I like them better than my old Look style pedals. Much easier to get out of.

Reviewed 1/26/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good solid quality product. Easy install.
by James
Casual Cyclist
Klamath Falls, OR

I use my Shimano PD-M520 Pedals on my commuter bike to and from work. They work just fine. They are good quality. I prefer the SPD Pedals because I don't have to look down to clip in like I do with SPD-SL pedals.

Reviewed 5/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page