Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano MW5 Winter MTB Shoe

ShimanoMW5 Winter MTB Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(11)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(1)
(61%)
(33%)
(0%)
(0%)
(6%)
Great cold weather shoe.
by Ray
IL

Ordered a 46 because I wear 46 Giro and Pearl. They fit perfect. First 2 rides temps were 20 - 30, my feet were warm with thick socks. 3rd ride was below 10 and i wore bootie over shoes, feet were warm. 4th ride was same temp but didnt wear booties, my feet were cold after 1.5 hours. So if riding at or below 10 degrees wear booties over the shoes. Also, very easy yo get on and off.

Reviewed 2/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Shoe
by Anonymous

Very good investment my feet are much happier not to mention warmer. They cinch up nicely and for the most part keep my feet dry depending on how deep the water is Im riding through

Reviewed 1/3/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Yet another thumbs up
by Jim DC
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great shoes, as multiple reviews have indicated. I have been bike commuting with them and also on a few 2 hour rides. My feet are plenty warm with regular socks on 40 degree days, and with thicker wool socks on 25 degree days. For commuting, one thing that surprised me is how stable these shoes feel for walking. It's more like wearing a hiking boot, as opposed to duck walking around in a regular cycling shoe with booties. The only weakness I can foresee is that the speed lacing system plastic piece does not seem that sturdy, and sometimes the laces do not pull through easily. Overall, great shoes and I wish I had bought them years ago!

Reviewed 1/20/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good in every way
by Hank Merckx
Cycling Enthusiast
Lancaster PA

Sz 48 fits american size 13 with heavy ski sock just fine. among winter shoes, it's the easiest to put on & take off. Lighter than most. Good so far to 18 degrees F in some wind and in the darkish dawn. Glad I bought 'em.

Reviewed 1/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great shoe for the money
by PARider
Cycling Enthusiast
Pennsylvania
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have had lake boots for years and they are great, though a little warm when it is right around freezing. They are also very heavy when pedaling. I had been eyeing lighter weight winter shoes for awhile and pulled the trigger on these when I was waiting on replacement parts for the buckles on my boots. I have been very glad I did.

They keep my feet dry and I have felt plenty warm down to about 20 degrees. Spinning them around the crank axle takes a lot less out of me over the course of a long ride as well. Would definitely recommend these for commuters and anyone else who likes to ride in the cold who doesn't necessarily need coverage for subzero (fahrenheit) temperatures.

Reviewed 2/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Winter warrior kit
by xStevex
Daily Commuter
New England
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These run pretty true to size, I bought them over the internet without physically trying them on first. The lace system works well, and while it may seem a little on the flimsy side, it's holding up to abuse. The ankle collar seals well and works great with the insole flap, these shoes are very secure and snug on your feet once they're all velcro'd up. There's room in these shoes comfortably for 2 thick pair of socks, even though the shoe looks narrow. They have a lot of reflective graphics on them which is always a nice touch. They are definitely much warmer than a standard mtb shoe, though if you're somewhere really cold (i'm in New England) you'll still want to wear some booties over them. They accept a cleat with no difficulty (i use eggbeaters), though the cleat well seems a little more confined than other brands at first. Price-wise they seem a little on the high side, but I am happy with them so far.

Reviewed 1/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Meets its design goal of maintaining warmth
by Charles R. Basin
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston, MA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As I suspect most winter riders do, I ordered the shoe 2 sizes larger than my regular shoe, so I could fit 3 pair of socks on inside the show. The first pair is a wicking layer, the 2nd layer is wool, and the 3rd layer is a neoprene sock. My foot did not get cold on a 3 hour ride at 36 degrees. Below 36 I add a booty over the shoe, and below 30 I add a chemical foot warmer. My coldest ride so far has been 20 degrees for 2 hours. My foot stayed warm.

Reviewed 1/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Shoes for Cold Weather Rides and Wimpy People Like Me
by John A
Cycling Enthusiast
Iowa

I've used these shoes in sub 20 degree weather and they are super warm (when coupled with toe warmers) - much better than neoprene shoe covers. They also seem well-made. Fit is consistent with other Shimano products.

Reviewed 1/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
EXCELLENT shoe - so glad I purchased for the Minnesota winters!
by bbalcer
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These shoes and a pair of warm socks - and I was good to go in 20 degree weather. Coldest so far, I will try them out in colder temps soon! Love them.

Reviewed 12/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Warmish Wet Feet
by SoggyBoots
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
1 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I've had these shoes for a year now. I was new to bike commuting and thought these were better than shoe covers, but my feet would still get wet. Almost a year in and these shoes hold water like a bucket, but my feet don't get too cold due to the Wet Suit effect. After an hour of riding to get to work, I am pouring about a cup of water out of each shoe.

Although these Shimano shoes fit comfortable, I am not impressed at all and am looking to purchase a replacement option. I am very disappointed in these shoes.

Reviewed 11/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good...
by robray
Daily Commuter
Vancouver, Eh
Review for Shimano SH-MW7 Gore-Tex Cold/Wet Weather MTB Shoe

I am only a week in to using these shoes, but they are performing exactly as expected.

Here are the highlights

1. Keeps my feet dry.

2. One step process as I no longer need to put booties on over my cycling shoes.

3. Not very warm, but that works for me. (Aligns with other reviews)

4. On the wider side. Also works for me.

5. Neoprene inner boot that is part of the tongue needs adjusting after putting boot on.

6. Not as high as booties so an exposed gap can occur between pants and boot.

7. No cleats. (Should have expected that, but I had to buy another set of cleats.)

I am in Vancouver so we get lots of rain and these boots are dry. The intended purpose of these boots are for commuting. I use them with Shimano M540 pedals on a Surly Disc Trucker.

The only issue is the inner boot part needs to be straightened out when I put the boot on. You can't just slip them on. Very minor and the pros massively out weigh this minor issue, which may get better as the boots wear.

Reviewed 3/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This shoe eliminates the need for cumbersome short-lasting shoe covers.
by GeoPDX
Competitive Racer
Portland,or
Review for Shimano SH-MW7 Gore-Tex Cold/Wet Weather MTB Shoe

A nice surprise from this shoe is the power gained from the rigid sole. No complaints here.

Reviewed 3/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So comfortable!
by pmseattle
Cycling Enthusiast
Woodinville, WA
Review for Shimano SH-MW7 Gore-Tex Cold/Wet Weather MTB Shoe
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a Sidi diehard so I ordered the Sidi Diablo as well as these and I'm so happy I did. These shoes are like slippers! Don't get me wrong...they have the requisite stiffness of a good road shoe (I prefer mountain bike shoes for all of my riding), but are so comfortable. I found the Sidi Diablo incredibly stiff and uncomfortable so back they went. The Shimano in a 40 fits my narrow women's 8.5 perfectly with a mid-weight wool sock. You can't go by the chart. These run large. For that matter, I could probably fit a thicker sock in just fine. The upper is very pliable and hugs the foot nicely. I do find that my toes still get a bit chilled when riding in the lower to mid 30s. A shoe cover should take care of that or possibly a toe warmer. That said, my feet do tend to run cold in general. The jury is still out relative to waterproofness. I have had wet feet after a couple rides in light rain, but I think a couple more wet rides with special attention paid to battening down the hatches on the shoes will tell me if it is the shoe or if it is user error. It appeared to be getting in through the upper at the toe area as my tights closed off the ankle, the shoe was wrapped and fastened well at he Velcro closures, and only my toes were wet. I'll provide an update once I know. I still highly recommend them for their superior comfort.

Reviewed 3/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Cold Weather Shoe
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Review for Shimano SH-MW7 Gore-Tex Cold/Wet Weather MTB Shoe
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

My old shoes where causing my feet to be very cold and painful. The SH-MW7 shoe fixed that problem and my feet are much more comfortable and warmer. The shoes fit accurately, not too big or too small.

Reviewed 1/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No More Shoe Covers
by OregonRide
Cycling Enthusiast
Redmond, OR
Review for Shimano SH-MW7 Gore-Tex Cold/Wet Weather MTB Shoe
14 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

Went to the warehouse in Portland and tried on all the different winter shoe models BikeTireDirect had. These were the best as they are easily to put on and off. Some shoes had too many straps and gadgets. Most reviews I have seen for winter shoes recommend a size or two bigger. I would not recommend going too big in model. Normally, I use a 42 in Shimano and Specialized. I did, however, purchased a 43 in these and these is plenty of extra room. As for warmth, I have 6 mile commute in the cold Central Oregon mornings with temps between 20 to 35 F. The shoes have performed as expected, feet stay warm. Also, feet have not overheated on my ride home when temp have been in the 50s and 60s.

Reviewed 11/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Waterproof and Warm
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
Review for Shimano SH-MW7 Gore-Tex Cold/Wet Weather MTB Shoe

These have been worth their weight in gold this winter. My feet stay dry and warm in almost everything save for the worst downpours.

Reviewed 4/3/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
They fit perfect .
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Boston MA
Review for Shimano SH-MW7 Gore-Tex Cold/Wet Weather MTB Shoe

I use them for mountain bikeing . I like them

Reviewed 3/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great warm shoe, durability questionable
by Ricky
Silver Spring
Review for Shimano SH-MW7 Gore-Tex Cold/Wet Weather MTB Shoe
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Feet stay nice and warm for weather below freezing. Neoprene ankle cuff seems to be coming apart at the seams only after a month of use.

Reviewed 3/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.