CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano Mens SH-RC702 Road Shoe

ShimanoMen's SH-RC702 Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(34)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(79%)
(16%)
(2%)
(0%)
(2%)

User submitted reviews

Review by old bike guy

Wish Shimano hadn't changed their sizing
by old bike guy
Milwaukee
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Looking for a replacement for my SH-R170 road shoes - the best fitting, most comfortable cycling shoes I ever found. These seem to be as close as I can get. The assembly quality seems equal to the older shoe. The BOA closure is a substantial improvement lending true on bike flexibility. It's just that, somewhere along the line, Shimano decided to change the sizing of the shoe lasts. My old shoes were 43 and fit perfectly. Their new size chart said I should use a 44 for my US 9.5. They were ungainly long, so then I tried the 42.5 which is an available size in the RC 7. Still somewhat long with that unbalanced feel from too much toe space. Finally, I tried the 43. It is definitely trimmer than my old shoes which I am able to use with a supplemental insole (just a Dr. Scholl's). The RC 7 still has a nice smooth foot bed with little contour to suit my low arch feet well. The toe box is rounder which is the main quality allowing this size to fit. The trimness of the shoe will be more stable on the pedal. There's no room for a supplemental insole and I'm hoping the shoe will soften as I ride. I like the color and styling and the sole is stiff and very well made with good gradations for cleat alignment. It would be nice to do a follow up after a year of riding, but...

These shoes are really nice. They did not have that magical good out of the box fit of the R170s, but have a lot of promise.

Reviewed 5/14/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good shoe
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Shoe is as described. Lightweight, comfortable, and the boa straps work great. Definitely a dry warm weather shoe only.

Reviewed 6/3/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Good shoe
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I like these shoes. The sole is stiffer then the rc300 which they are replacing. There is plenty of room in the toe box and I like the double boa dials. I have no issues with this shoe and I think you get a lot of shoe for the money. I recommend them to anybody looking for a good shoe at a good price.

Reviewed 5/24/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Schweeet!
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bitchin' Camaro!

Reviewed 3/16/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ESaburi

First pair of Shimanos after being a Sidi user for over 10 years
by ESaburi
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been a Sidi user from the time I started cycling over 10 years ago. They are built well, look and feel great. That said, they feel a bit out dated in design and certainly seem to weight a lot more than it's contemporaries - so, it was time to switch it up. I was eyeing the Sphyre series shoe - but decided to go one step down, simply because I couldn't justify the price. The 702's have been perfect. They are comfortable, very adjustable and feel great on my feet, even on long rides - indoor and out. I highly recommend them if you want a modern shoe at a great value.

Reviewed 2/5/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jpn

Replaced old ones
by Jpn
rochmond va

I bought these to replace the older version and got them at a really good sale price. The black and white pattern looked a little weird at first, but after wearing them for a while, I�m use to it. Overall an excellent shoe for the money.

Reviewed 4/11/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Andy

Dual Boa is a game-changer
by Andy
Portland, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

My other Shimano (SPD) shoes have lasted me 8+ years of commuting, gravel riding, and casual city rides, so I figured I'd stick with a known quantity for new road shoes. Good choice! These are very solidly built, yet pretty lightweight, and the dual Boa dial adjustment is great for getting just the right fit. My feet are long and not super wide, so I can snug them down nicely without any bunching and get a comfortable, secure fit. Bonus points for a timeless aesthetic

Reviewed 10/26/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Love these shoes! Red is wicked!
by Chris
Cycling Enthusiast
SE PA

I absolutely dig the matte metallic red! These are so light and way more comfortable than my previous road shoes (from another manufacturer). My only niggle is that I wish the finish was more durable. My second ride outside and a serious mar on my toe happened � from what i dont know, it was a 4hr ride.

Reviewed 3/14/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

great value stiff road shoe
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
berkeley, ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

got these to replace giro composite nylon/carbon shoes and am so glad i did. the dual boa dials are way better than any combination of straps and boa, and are very easy to adjust on the fly. half sizing ensured a perfect fit. easy on the eye and also easy on the wallet vis a vis perfomance. highly recommended.

Reviewed 10/1/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PNW Gravel

comfortable straight from the box
by PNW Gravel
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

comfortable performance shoe straight from the box. Feels like it fits true to size for a snug performance shoe (I wear 10 in normal shoes and 44 fits perfect). Carbon midsole is stiff and totally reduces any pedal pressure points. For cooler temps covers are definitely needed as the bottom vents let in extra cold air.

Reviewed 2/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Katmandu

Shimano does not dissapoint!
by Katmandu
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Springs, Colorado

I love these shoes!!! They fit well and secure my foot with the BOA system. I have also had Shimano shoes in the past and feel like the performance/value ratio is perfect for me. I am 195 pounds and never feel like the quality of the shoe is compromised. Good for riding in all weather. I am in Colorado so we have heat, rain, and snow. Never a problem with the RC702 shoes.

Reviewed 2/5/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great value
by Anonymous
Boulder
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These road bike shoes rival those I've worn before at twice the price. With two Boa cinch-downs, vented soles, and white to black fading, it's the a true beauty.

Reviewed 4/11/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Robert

Light shoe with glove like fit
by Robert
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta suburbs

Decided to replace my old Sidi's with this Shimano option. It is a lighter shoe, with a glove like fit for my feet. I also own Shimano XC5 mountain bike shoes which are similarly light weight with good fit.

Reviewed 1/16/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by turbomatic

Mixed comfort for me...your experience may vary
by turbomatic
Cycling Enthusiast
Athens, GA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The upper boa strap really digs into the top of my foot--I have to be very careful about how much I tighten...too loose and I shift around in the shoe and it becomes unstable; too tight and it gets extremely uncomfortable. Unfortunately the line between too tight and too lose is microscopic--like 1 click on the boa dial, so I'm constantly adjusting while on the bike to find the ideal setting. After over 1,000 miles on the shoes, it's still a source of constant fiddling.

I do like that the toe box is quite generous. The soles also seem to be the perfect level of stiffness. Just the tiny-est bit of give for some level of comfort, but certainly plenty stiff for out of the saddle sprints.

The shoes also look aces--very sharp.

Reviewed 4/20/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Coastbum

Great Shoes
by Coastbum
Possum Kingdom, TX

Typical Shimano, well build, well thought out. Very stiff. Only caution is like others mentioned the BOA connectors only tighten.

Reviewed 3/7/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob S.

Awesome lightweight shoe
by Bob S.
Competitive Racer
Fullerton, Ca
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Lightweight, not too expensive. Looks super cool and fits great!

Reviewed 9/29/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by nhmtnbkr

Excellent road bike shoe
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I've been a longtime fan and user of Sidi bike shoes and their road shoes have often been top notch. Recent iterations, while still good, haven't been as great in their stiffness and power transfer, nor quite as comfortable on long rides.

Decided to try these and very happy I did. Fit is excellent and they adjust well to compensate for feet expansion on long rides. They're comfortable on those long rides, with an excellent level of stiffness for strong power transfer, yet still walkable when off-bike. They breathe decently despite not having large vents on top, but are warm on the hottest days.

So far they've held up great in the nearly 1,500 miles I've put on them in the few months I've had them, which hopefully bodes well for long-term durability.

Reviewed 7/11/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by KayentaLover

An extremely comfortable but stiff and efficient shoe!
by KayentaLover
Cycling Enthusiast
Southwest Utah
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have ridden Sidi, Shimano, and Giro high end shoes over the years of competitive riding. Now as a senior citizen logging 1500 miles/year, I was looking for a moderately stiff but comfortable shoe with a slightly roomier forefoot than racing shoes. The RC702 nails it for me. Wraparound design and BOA lacing spread the pressure uniformly and anchor my feet securely. Nice tight heel cup without excessive Achilles pressure I wear size 9.5 or 10 in athletic and street shoes and the size 43.5 is spot on. Workmanship and materials seem first rate. The cooling channel in the sole and well vented forefoot make then noticeably cooler than my Giros

These shoes are worth a look for anything short of racing.

Reviewed 6/3/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by a senior rider

Comfortable out of the box
by a senior rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Henderson,NV
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Avid road rider. The shoe is a replacement for my old Shimano shoes that I wore out after 7 years. They squeak when you walk in them but not when riding. A bit loose in the heel but no rubbing or sore spots. I find them very comforable. They say U.S. 10.5/EU 45. I wear a 10.5 shoe and probably could have gotten away with a 44.5 in these but otherwise no complaints.

Reviewed 8/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Katie

3rd times a charm!
by Katie
Colorado Springs, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This was the 3rd pair of shoes that I ordered. The other two pair (1 women�s and 1 men�s) were a little too narrow in the to box. Customer service was so helpful in recommending these as an option and I�m glad he did! These fit great! I�ve always loved how Shimano had a wider toe box

Reviewed 8/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page