X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano CN-HG701 11 Speed Chain Ultegra/XT

ShimanoCN-HG701 11 Speed Chain Ultegra/XT(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(91 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(75)
(12)
(0)
(4)
(0)
(82%)
(13%)
(0%)
(4%)
(0%)
Best price on the 701 chain
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Southeast Florida Tampa Bay area

Makes perfect with Shimano 105 components

Reviewed 11/24/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good chain is your best friend.
by Marine74
Cycling Enthusiast
God''s country, Northern Michigan

When things go wrong with your transmission it's easy to blame the components that YOU have manipulated.

A bicycle is no different than a performance car.

Tuning is critical. Micro adjustments are a fact of life, and a piss poor chain line is a recipe for early chain and casset failure.

I only use original manufacturer parts because I understand that they are engineered to work together in harmony when properly installed.

Semper Fi Shimano, you are the cat's meow!

Reviewed 9/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
0.5% Chain wear out of the box
by Drerle
NJ

I urge you to check your chain with a chain wear tool before you install it. I�ve had several new Shimano chains arrive with 2/3 of their wear already present (0.5%) in the new chain. The KMC chains I have bought arrived with 0% wear.

Reviewed 10/31/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth and light
by UtahGF
Cycling Enthusiast
Syracuse, Utah

Definitely shifts well, and is lighter than the 105 version. But it seems to wear as fast or faster than the 105, and definitely costs more. Not sure it's worth the extra bucks and weight savings.

Reviewed 10/10/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth pedaling
by RazelG
Seattle, WA

Performs precisely on my road and gravel bikes. Keep your drive train clean and you'll get plenty of miles out of this chain. And I've never broken a link even in hard gunky climbs.

Reviewed 10/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Just put this new chain on. It uses a quick link instead of the old pin technology. That seemed to simplify installation for me.

I'll definitely pick this chain for my the replacement on another bike.

Reviewed 2/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No issues
by Socks
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought my chains here at different sale prices over a couple weeks. Very confusing. But the chains work well and last as well as my cleaning process of 150 miles. As others have noted an Ultegra drive train is noisier than Dura Ace but it's minor.

Reviewed 5/30/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth shifting and durable
by Heath
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I just can't find a better chain than this for my Shimano 105 set-up. I ride mostly gravel and this chain hold up to constant sandstone and limestone gravel roads. I ride about 4000 miles annually, and go through 3-4 chains/year.

Reviewed 7/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, dependable.
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blueridge Mountains NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

What can I say? In thirty years of riding and racing I have broken two chains, and both were nine or ten speed many years ago. Have not broken any 11s or 12s, and I'm no lightweight. Thankfully, Shimano finally joined the quick-link crowd so thorough cleaning and lubing is now a breeze. I typically buy one rung below top tier stuff on consumables. XT is a decent value if you catch a sale.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Chain
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
VT
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is exactly what I was looking for. A nice chain to replace my current one on a cobbled together 105/Ultegra setup. These seem to last me anywhere from 500-1,000 miles for a great price.

Reviewed 7/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Always a good chain
by Anonymous
North Carolina

The only chain I use

Reviewed 7/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain, better when on sale!
by OR_biker
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have never had any issues with Shimano chains, and this one is no exception. Got this for my friend's bike that I tuned up for him. Really like that it comes with a quick link, as I always order a KMC link to go with the 10-spd ultegra chain for my bike if it happens to be on sale. Not sure if it's just in my head, but I feel like Shimano chains run just a little quieter than KMC, but shifting performance and longevity are very similar, so I tend to go with KMC more often simply due to price, but I like grabbing Shimano occasionally when they have a good deal going.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Chains for Shimano Drivetrains
by grajkovic
Daily Commuter
Issaquah, Washington

It's a chain. It does chain stuff - it is reliable, sturdy and durable. These come with a master link aka quick link aka missing link. I use these chains on my Ultegra Di2 11-speed setups. Keep the chains clean and serviced, and they'll last quite a while. I can run about 4,000 miles on one until I am due for a replacement, and I remove them and clean them in an ultrasonic parts cleaner about every 1,500 miles. I clean and re-lubricate them about every 150 miles, or when I get them visibly dirty - whichever comes first.

Reviewed 6/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Value Chain out there!
by davidshiloh4
Cycling Enthusiast
Aurora, Colorado
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great value chain that lasts many miles. Always prefer the Ultegra because of price as it's a much better deal than the Dura Ace that provides only a small weight allowance.

Reviewed 3/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality chain
by Anonymous
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great chain easy to install prompt delivery

Reviewed 5/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Glad I was able to purchase at this time
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Functional long life chain

Reviewed 5/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Genuine Shimano at a fair price
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
SW Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The real deal. Genuine Shimano, no fake stuff here. And at a fair price.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid and Practical!
by DPK
Competitive Racer
New Jersey

Been buying this chain for years. I bike 12000+ miles a year and this chain holds up so well.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best!
by Anonymous

Great wear and reliability. Comes with a convenient quick-link too.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect chain for my needs
by Bagel Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE

This is the perfect chain for my needs. Super high quality without breaking the bank.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page