X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Shimano CN-HG701 11 Speed Chain Ultegra/XT

ShimanoCN-HG701 11 Speed Chain Ultegra/XT(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(84 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(70)
(11)
(0)
(3)
(0)
(83%)
(13%)
(0%)
(4%)
(0%)
No issues
by Socks
Cycling Enthusiast
Albuquerque

I bought my chains here at different sale prices over a couple weeks. Very confusing. But the chains work well and last as well as my cleaning process of 150 miles. As others have noted an Ultegra drive train is noisier than Dura Ace but it's minor.

Reviewed 5/30/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Durable, dependable.
by Fuelfool
Competitive Racer
Blueridge Mountains NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

What can I say? In thirty years of riding and racing I have broken two chains, and both were nine or ten speed many years ago. Have not broken any 11s or 12s, and I'm no lightweight. Thankfully, Shimano finally joined the quick-link crowd so thorough cleaning and lubing is now a breeze. I typically buy one rung below top tier stuff on consumables. XT is a decent value if you catch a sale.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality chain
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great chain easy to install prompt delivery

Reviewed 5/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Glad I was able to purchase at this time
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Functional long life chain

Reviewed 5/4/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Just put this new chain on. It uses a quick link instead of the old pin technology. That seemed to simplify installation for me.

I'll definitely pick this chain for my the replacement on another bike.

Reviewed 2/14/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice chain at a reasonable price.
by William
East Weymouth

All I use on all my bikes is ultegra shimano chains. They do there job well and are somewhat affordable compared to others.

Reviewed 4/30/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best!
by Anonymous

Great wear and reliability. Comes with a convenient quick-link too.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect chain for my needs
by Bagel Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Lincoln, NE

This is the perfect chain for my needs. Super high quality without breaking the bank.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
2 chains at a great price with great customer service
by DF
Cycling Enthusiast

Chains still stored in my bike closet. Shimano bike chains have always served me well.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Genuine Shimano at a fair price
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
SW Florida

The real deal. Genuine Shimano, no fake stuff here. And at a fair price.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid and Practical!
by DPK
Competitive Racer
New Jersey

Been buying this chain for years. I bike 12000+ miles a year and this chain holds up so well.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great product & great price
by Anonymous
Los Angeles

precise & reliable with long life for a,great price

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent chain, quiet, easy to install
by tjross
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR

I installed a new drivetrain, crankset, cassette and this chain and I'm completely happy with it.

Reviewed 4/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's a chain
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
New Hampshire

This chain is exactly what I expected. Seems fine, and will go on my bike, when the old one is worn to the point of needing replacement. I'm sure it will work as advertised

Reviewed 4/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quiet
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SF Bay

I have run both the SRAM Force 22 and the Ultegra HG701on my 11speed Shimano Ultegra. The Ultegra/XT runs much quieter even when I have a SRAM cassette mounted.

Reviewed 4/29/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smooth shifting and durable
by Heath
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I just can't find a better chain than this for my Shimano 105 set-up. I ride mostly gravel and this chain hold up to constant sandstone and limestone gravel roads. I ride about 4000 miles annually, and go through 3-4 chains/year.

Reviewed 7/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good chain, better when on sale!
by OR_biker
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Have never had any issues with Shimano chains, and this one is no exception. Got this for my friend's bike that I tuned up for him. Really like that it comes with a quick link, as I always order a KMC link to go with the 10-spd ultegra chain for my bike if it happens to be on sale. Not sure if it's just in my head, but I feel like Shimano chains run just a little quieter than KMC, but shifting performance and longevity are very similar, so I tend to go with KMC more often simply due to price, but I like grabbing Shimano occasionally when they have a good deal going.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shimano Chains for Shimano Drivetrains
by grajkovic
Daily Commuter
Issaquah, Washington

It's a chain. It does chain stuff - it is reliable, sturdy and durable. These come with a master link aka quick link aka missing link. I use these chains on my Ultegra Di2 11-speed setups. Keep the chains clean and serviced, and they'll last quite a while. I can run about 4,000 miles on one until I am due for a replacement, and I remove them and clean them in an ultrasonic parts cleaner about every 1,500 miles. I clean and re-lubricate them about every 150 miles, or when I get them visibly dirty - whichever comes first.

Reviewed 6/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great chain
by Anonymous

A great chain that shifts well. It replaced my 105.

Reviewed 1/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
11 speed chain
by Rob
Cycling Enthusiast
Rhinebeck NY
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It's more durable than the dura ace chain and the weight difference is negligible.

Reviewed 1/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page