Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow Saddle

Selle ItaliaMax Flite Gel Flow Saddle(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(20 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(6)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(60%)
(30%)
(10%)
(0%)
(0%)
I weigh 195lbs and for anything other than smooth road riding (gravelcross type riding) this saddle is very comfortable
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
New York City

The saddle definitely has flex built into it so if you are seeking a stiff(er) saddle to suit your stiff(er) framewheelset then this is not it. If however if you desire or need a responsive and supportive saddle that covers a variety of terrain like gravel or a rough daily commute (think NYCity roads) then this is a great choice. I have had 3 over the years. Great quality and feel too.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I am giving it four and not five stars as I havent ridden it quite long enough to fully evaluate it!
by D.K.
San Luis Obispo
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am quite happy with this product and suspect that after another month or so it will have fully broken in my seat!

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great fit
by lars
Cycling Enthusiast
Beaverton, Or

I tried different saddles for several years hunting for one that was comfortable. The Selle Italia Max Flite Gel Flow finally satisfied my needs. It is comfortable even on century rides and multi-day tours. I have this saddle on four different bikes and I ride a total of 10K miles per year.

Reviewed 4/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Madison ct
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Had it for about 6 years. Looks better with age and wear. I love it!

Reviewed 3/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable for a beginners bottom
by Anonymous
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Purchased this saddle during my bike fit at the store after trying 6 others. This saddle has cured my sore bottom and numbness. Well worth the money!

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Feel with Right Amount of Cushion
by Joe
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It makes a great commuting saddle, as it provides the right support with enough comfort to make you forget your on your bike, but not too much to cause numbness. I commute about 15 miles a day and this saddle has been great for me.

Reviewed 1/2/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ride in comfort!
by MBSUP
Casual Cyclist
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use the seat to trail ride. Seat is soft but not squishy. The frame has some bounce to help with bumps. The downward curl in the front add to the comfort. Used riding 250 miles of trails so far. Quality seems great and looks good on my bike.

Reviewed 9/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Ride in comfort!
by MBSUP
Casual Cyclist
Myrtle Beach, SC

I use the seat to trail ride. Seat is soft but not squishy. The frame has some bounce to help with bumps. The downward curl in the front add to the comfort. Used riding 250 miles of trails so far. Quality seems great and looks good on my bike.

Reviewed 9/8/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Finally. Not too firm, not too soft, just right for long daily commuter rides without padded shorts.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I like to get a workout on my way to and from work, so I was looking for something that is performance oriented but comfortable even without a pair of padded shorts. This is my third saddle in 3 weeks. First was the Selle SMP, the $XX version. Too much padding, a little too wide and just felt weird. Next was the Brooks Cambium 15 with cutout. Nice saddle if I was wearing padded shorts but killed my sit bones without a pad. Wanted to like it but not the right choice for my daily commute. Was looking for something for my Bianchi Volpe to replace the stock saddle after my first 700 miles of riding the bike. Wanted something I could ride 15-20 miles daily without needing padded shorts. After my first 50 miles or so I'm very pleased. Definitely recommend.

Reviewed 7/6/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Most Comfortable Saddle
by Olyguy
Olympia, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought the white saddle to go on my 2012 Trek Madone 4.5 road bike (it has a black, silver and white color scheme) and it is the best saddle for me after trying various Fizik models and other Selle Italia versions. I am 5'9, 160 lbs and this saddle though on the wide side fit comfortably for my sit bones. It is cushioned more than most saddles but still firm though I still ride with my padded cycling shorts. This is a well made seat with nice stitching and curves.

Reviewed 6/16/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far so good!
by MVDevilDog
Cycling Enthusiast
Mission Viejo, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had been eyeing this saddle for about a year. Needed a saddle with a larger cutout than my current Prologo Naga Pas that came stock with my road bike. I am 6'4 215lbs. Have used this for about a month now. I am still getting used to it and have already been pleased with the comfort afforded my private parts. Build quality is outstanding.

Reviewed 6/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
White finish peels off quickly-get the black one if you care about appearance
by doug g
Cycling Enthusiast
Charlotte NC

Not as comfortable for me as the SLR. The nose is very firm and doesn't get any softer with use, gel or no gel. I bought the white model, and the outermost layer began peeling off the friction points on my very first ride. Hope the mfr fixed that problem with better material, but since I don't see any other negative reviews maybe I was just unlucky. Anyhow, this saddle has been relegated to my bad-weather fixie and I won't buy any more white saddles. Reasonable value if discounted.

Reviewed 12/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great design but again, too much padding for long rides
by oak

Too much padding for me. That doesn't mean it won't work for you, obviously. Just something to be aware of

Reviewed 6/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great saddle, very comfortable right out of the box.
by JackH
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa, Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Installed on my Trek Domane, after stock saddle rail broke. Trek makes great bikes, but can't say too much for their saddles, this Selle Italia is comfortable right out of the box, no break in period needed. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 3/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I have been thru 3 saddles. This by far is the best and most comfortable. The normal issues are long forgotten!
by Tippyd
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I highly recommend this saddle. I ride anywhere from 50 to 125 miles per week. The ergonomics has cured all that hurts after a long ride. I wish I had found this saddle 5 years ago! I doubt that I will be investing in another saddle anytime soon.

When I upgrade to my next investment this winter, a Colnago frameset, it will include this product. I am currently riding Bianchi, Campy Super Record, Campy Shamal etc.

Reviewed 9/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome saddle. Durable and Comfortable
by Bribiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Utah
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought it used and it cleaned up like it was brand new. Very comfortable. I have taken it on multiple rides including a fifty miler and no problems.

Reviewed 8/6/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent, well made, comfortable saddle, especially for light people.
by scott
Cycling Enthusiast
san jose
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After trying about a dozen saddles, including the Fizik Aliante Versus, this seems to work best for me. The only things they can to to improve this saddle is to make it slightly narrower and the cover smooth.

I like the gel and the cut out a lot-the cut out is not too large.

Reviewed 4/15/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One of the best saddles you can buy
by Don
Cycling Enthusiast
New Albany, ohio
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

If you are not worried about having the absolute lightest saddle on the block, then this could be a good choice. Gel padded in just the right places for long rides and looks good too. For me, would be better if slightly more narrow, but that is just my personal preference. High quality product.

Reviewed 3/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good comfort for longer rides
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Golden, CO
8 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced the Bontrager saddle on my Trek Madone with this Selle Italia Max Flite Gel, which is a bit wider but still maintains a racing shape. I've ridden it on several medium rides in the past six weeks, the longest being 100K. So far, so good. I didn't experience the need to stand out of the saddle every few minutes for the last third of the ride to give my backside a break. As a larger rider (6'3, 210 lbs) I find the extra width fits my anatomy better. The center groove saves the precious parts. I ride with a Specialized Toupe on my other bike and find this Selle to be more comfortable after two hours than the Specialized.

Reviewed 11/12/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very comfortable for long rides
by Brobias
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherman, il
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

The seat is very comfortable and great on 50 plus mile rides. This replaced the seat on my new road bike.

Reviewed 11/5/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.