Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Schwalbe Pro One Tubeless Road Tire

SchwalbePro One Tubeless Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(58 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(15)
(1)
(4)
(5)
(57%)
(26%)
(2%)
(7%)
(9%)
Best tubeless road tire available at this time.
by Old Washoe Varmint
Cycling Enthusiast
Western Nevada

I have these tires on the road wheels for my Niner RLT-9 gravel bike. The Schwalbes mount up and seal securely and offer a smooth yet responsive ride. I don't have enough miles on them to comment on longevity, but have had zero flats or burps. They are a bit tighter and consequently more difficult to get on the rims compared to Maxxis tires, but that's OK for a tubeless tire. Just use some soap. Until Continental comes out with a tubeless Grand Prix 4000 S Mk II, these babies are my go to tire. Now I want to build up a set of wheels with Stans Grail rims for the Co-Mo tandem so we can go tubeless on the big bus. What can I say? Tubes are so yesterday.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent handling tire.
by brij43
Competitive Racer
Santa Cruz, CA

I've lost count of how many Schwalbe Pro One tubeless tires I've ridden in the past five or so years. I've used Hutchinson, Panaracer, & several Specialized models. Pro One's feel great on the bike. They're relatively light, super grippy and very high volume. While expensive I think all tubeless road tires are pretty pricey and these seem like a better deal for their performance. Drawbacks 1) they wear fairly quickly-it's a tradeoff for the excellent handling. I live in Santa Cruz and the roads are pretty rough. I'd estimate they're good for close to 3,000 miles-I do ride them longer than many folks though and this is just a guess. 2) the newer version of this tire is a lot harder to mount at least on my HED Ardennes wheels. They need to be inflated with a tube to get the creases out, but even then one has to be patient. Overall clearly the best tubeless tire I've used.

Reviewed 4/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Paired with Enve SESb3.4 disc wheel, its the best tire I've ever ridden on.
by MartinKreitman
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicagoland

Nestled in the Enve SES 3.4 rim, designed for a 25mm tire, the rim perfectly supports the sidewall and the tire profile from rim edge to rim edge is nearly a perfectly circular arc. This tubeless tire rolls incredibly well, noticeably better than Campy Bora tubulars (my previous wheel). The handling is also different and better than anything I've previously experienced (in hundreds of thousands of miles or riding dating back to the 1970's). So is the sense that the tire remains 'grounded' and secure to the pavement as one leans into a turn or goes over bumps in the road. My interpretation for this sensation is that the sidewall support keeps the tire from flexing side-to-side as the bike leans, and the very circular profile of the tire results in a very smooth side-to-side transition of the tire. The sensation is really quite uncanny. My only caveat, of course, is that these comments apply to tire wheel. The light rim weight and its obvious stiffness, also contributes to the overall feel. It's an amazing, eye-opening combo.

Reviewed 3/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One hole and done
by Hill-Pumper
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley Oregon

This was my first time on road tubeless tires, but not to tubeless tires in general. I run tubeless on both my mountain and gravel bikes. They mounted actually quite quickly with just a little shot from the air compressor. I used Orange brand sealant since I have had good luck with it, but have used Stans and Continental as well. I was using these in the 28mm size for my adventure road bike. My first impression was how low the rolling resistance was. The negative was that the ride seemed fairly harsh unless I lowered the pressure down to 60 PSI to get the comfortable. The other thing that I notice is they seemed to be lacking in the traction department. Cornering was not great, and wet roads are dicey compared to other tires that I have used. My main issue is the first puncture ended up ruining the tire. The sealant did not seal the tire, so I ended up putting a tube in to finish the rest of the 60 mile ride. I can not blame the tire for not sealing, probably more in issue with not enough sealant. That said, after patching the tire, and putting new sealant in, the tire started to separate where the hole was. Considering how much these cost, I am fairly disappointed. I have had similar size holes in other tires without any problems. The tires only had 500 miles on them. I ended up going back to Continental Grand Prix 4000 S II's with latex tubes. These ride as nice, if not better, have better traction, and can repaired easily from my past experience.

Reviewed 3/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Stick with Hutchinsons-There were a major disappointment
by idratherbecyclin
Cycling Enthusiast
East Tennessee
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden Hutchinson 700x23c tubeless for several years with no complaints (other than the usual challenge to getting a new one mounted.) But after reading how great the new Schwalbe Pro One's were, I took the plunge. What a train wreck. The only good thing I can say is that they do mount easier than the Hutchinsons. But they aren't round! I felt like I was riding on chip and seal on a smooth road. I looked, and sure enough, there were a couple of low spots. So I remounted it, using the Schwalbe rim stuff, no difference. I tried a third time, being sure to take them up to about 130 psi , and hearing all the 'pops' stop. Still rough as a cob. In addition, these tires are bigger than a regular 700x23c. I have a tight clearance in the seat stay, and it rubs enough to squeak!! Learned my expensive lesson, the other tire is going on ebay, and I am going back to Hutchinsons.

Reviewed 2/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Schwalbe and Tubeless - This ain't tomorrow, it is today!
by TelemarkTumalo
Cycling Enthusiast
Bend, Oregon
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Into my second season on the Schwalbe Pro One Tubeless. Great tires all 'round. Ride like a dream, reasonably light, easy to mount, tough as nails. I've used these for commuting, training and racing. I have the 25 mm tires mounted on Enve 3.4 rims and run 70 psi front and 80 psi rear. I weigh 152 lbs. Great ride and great handling in rain and dry. And, I think just as tough on gravel as the Hutchinson Sector 28's.

Reviewed 2/3/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Update
by Brian
Portlandia
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I can scarcely tell you how many times Ive heard that ch-ch-ch-ch sound as the sealant did its trick on my 28s. And I dont like how hard it is to get sealant off my frame after it gets sprayed. But Ive got close to 2k on these, and the combo of these tires and Orange Seal and my Ultegra rims is kind of magic. I have been on several long rides with multiple punctures, yet I kept rolling (and if you have these wheels, you know what a bitch it is to get tires on and off.). Im 175 lbs, and run 75-80 psi. So comfortable. Amazing grip in the corners. So much more confidence while riding. Sure, my 4 Seasons might not have punctured as much, but they are SO hard.

For those who have had problems sealing, Id recommend the Ultegra wheels. The Pro 1s pumped up with a track pump! And the rims are tubeless ready. Lightweight, inexpensive, reliable, if not particularly aero (but that has improved).

Reviewed 1/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Up from 25mm
by Anonymous
atlanta, ga

Great tire so far. Much more cushion than the original 25s but just as fast. Feels like Im riding a new bike.

Reviewed 2/8/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I think i was a sucker
by gizmo sucker
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia
1 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

Always seeking nirvana gadget i bot tubeless rims and these tires. I got a flat on second ride and

this tire was seated or glued by stans so well to rim I could not take it off with steel spoons. Back at home I could hardly get it off brutally with channel locks then stanley knife. Perhaps my new rims are especially bead locking but I will never know. Tubeless in garbage and back to vredestiens and contis.

Reviewed 12/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast rolling, fat and plush (in 25mm), apparently durable, great tire!
by Lifer
Competitive Racer
Maui, Hawaii
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these on sale, and relative to other road tubeless they are a good deal if you can get a break on paying full retail price. Tubeless road tires are definitely not cheap and because I am, the value rating is only three stars. If these continue to wear as they have so far, I would rate the value higher.

Because of the rough roads where I live, I decided to try the 25mm versions on Williams 22 wheels. I've had these tires on for about 6 weeks and about 600 miles and what stands out is that they roll extremely well, it is very noticeable. I previously ran Hutchinsons (have tried all of their tubeless line) for the past 6 years. The Schwalbes definitely feel faster than any of the Hutchinsons that I've tried. As far as the size, these 25mm tires are fatter than the Hutchinson 25mm's that I previously tried. The Schwalbes barely clear my frame and fork on a Cervelo R3. If you're worried about it, get the 23mm's.

I've been careful with the Schwalbes, brushing the tires immediately with a glove after running through anything suspect. I ride them as if they were my old sewups because I hate flatting and I'd like to get max mileage out of these tires. I've got about 2 oz of Stan's in each tire. So far, so good, no tread cuts at all. Running both tires at 75 to 80 psi. (A little note about road tubeless from doing it for the past 7 years If you're getting a lot of flats, try reducing pressures. A tire casing that is under a lot of tension from high inflation pressures cuts more easily. Think of trying to cut a string that is loose vs. one that is taught. Plus, lower pressures allow the tire to grip better and soak up more irregularities in the road surface. Lastly, don't be stingy with your sealant, especially with a brand new tire. The casings seem to almost soak up some of the sealant when the tires are new.)

Overall, these are my favorite tires that I've had and I've been riding for a very long time, including stupid amounts of miles when I was still racing (those days are in the rear view mirror). They're fat and plush but roll very fast. The durability so far seems outstanding. The only question is whether I'll stay lucky and avoid slicing them. I even ordered a second set, just in case, or when I finally wear these out.

Reviewed 12/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, low mileage tire
by Edbell
sonoma, ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

When I put these tires on, my first tubeless. I loved the ride and the way they grabbed the road. I put them on a couple hundred miles before beginning a 545 mile trek from northern to Southern California. By day 5 of the 7 day journey, I got a puncture that the sealant couldn't handle. I added a tube which lasted a day and when I changed the next one found the tire to be pretty thin. Maybe 700 miles. Put a patch on the inside of the puncture this time and rode the tire the rest of the way. Probably wouldn't buy again, too much money per mile. I do think it a great performance tire though.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Tubeless Tire for Spirited Riding
by Khill
Competitive Racer
Sacto
Review for Schwalbe One Tubeless Road Tire
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These are my 3rd set of Tubeless tires and first set of Schwalbes. These tires went on really easy and seated easier than any other set I have used. I'm using a bit of Stans in them and so far, zero issues. These tires roll really well and after the online review I read, I'm glad I got them Fast rolling and the ride is excellent. Only issue.......weight. They are heavy and for sure are sluggish to accelerate. Other than that, great tire. I did rate the value a bit lower as while they are great tire, they are expensive.

Reviewed 1/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far, the best tubeless I have tried
by Mike - Paso Robles
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo County, Ca
Review for Schwalbe One Tubeless Road Tire
20 of 21 customers found this review helpful.

I live and ride in the rural area of Central Coast Ca. I was running a heavy training tire (Armadillo's) as keeping moving is more important to me than lightweight and speed. I ventured out in the tubeless arena as a test. I went thru 4 Fusion 3's and achieved no more that 500 miles on all four combined. Disappointed to say the least. I was wondering if I erred in judgement by going tubeless. I researched everything I could about tubeless and found some good reviews on the Schwalbe One's. I thought what the heck, nothing to lose at this point. So far I have around 1,000 miles on these and realize my tubeless decision was worth it. They are mounted on custom built HED Belgium wheels (25mm). They stick well, ride very smooth and no adverse issues so far. I also operate a small bike tour company and cannot afford the hassle, embarrassment nor the down time while riding up and back to check on riders. I was so impressed I had a set of HED Belgium wheels (also 25mm) built for my wife and put the One's on her bike as well. Her result was an increase in her average speed by 3 mph. We are running 700 x 25's on both bikes. I would be willing to try another brand, but I will need some strong data and convincing to support a switch. Kudos to Schwalbe on this fine product. I will report back as the miles provide.

Reviewed 10/27/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Schwalbe Pro One versas the old Schwalbe One
by Mark
Cycling Enthusiast
Scappoose, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have bee running road tubeless for three years now. The last set of tires were the Schwalbe One which I can not say enough good things about. Great all around tire. Purchased the Pro One after slicing the Ones on something that made a very large hole. The new Pro Ones seem to have a little better roll but all new tires seem that way to me. The reason I did not give this tire a 5 star rating is it does not hold air compared to the original. I have installed Stan's No Tube sealant what has remedied the situation. The original were run with no sealant.

Reviewed 5/1/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mostly all Good
by John L
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area
Review for Schwalbe One Tubeless Road Tire
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The Good..

I've mounted the Schwalbe One Tires on three different mfg non-tubeless wheelsets with great success. All three sealed perfect using a floor pump, and the lost of tire psi is in par with a typical tubed tire (a few lbs per week). I'm a High Pressure guy, but I'm running the Tubeless Tires 30 psi lower then on my road race clincher. The lower psi have no noticeable difference in rolling resistance, but the ride and handling is so nice.

Not so Good.

I purchase 3 tires in the last 6 month. The first tire last only month before having to toss it due to a large slice through the casing which could not be repaired. It happens.... I haven't had any issues with the currently two. Zero flats, but the tires don't look like they are going to last for very long. I figure I'll be lucky to get 1.5k miles out of them.

The other issue... I use them for training rides only. No way would I use them in a race, because if you need to add a tube due to a flat... it's a major pain without soapy water and proper tire levers. Use sealant.....

Reviewed 6/18/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fast, smooth long wearing tubeless tire
by JMFisher
Competitive Racer
Denver, CO
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Schwalbe Pro One tires came standard with my 2017 Cannondale Supersix Evo High Mod, running on Stans No Tubes wheels. I removed the stock tubes after 6 goat-head thorn flats in 2 months and gave tubeless a try. Using Stans No Tubes seleant, I've run over 3,800 miles on the front tire until it appeared that a possible cording was starting to show through the tire causing a ridge, yet the side tread was still strong, and lost the rear tire to a large cut that couldn't seal back in mid August at around 2,700 miles...with plenty of tread left. I ride roads, bike paths, dirt roads and raced a roubaix on them and they are solid in performance. the control in fast mountain descents is beyond what I experienced in Continental GP 4000 II. Running lower psi provides longer life in my experience...I'm a 135lb rider running 60-65 psi.

Reviewed 11/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Jury is still out.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Bow, NH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have ridden Hutchinson Tubeless for a few years now and they have been easy to mount and get to seal. In thousands of miles I have only experienced one blow out and no punctures. The Schwalbe Pro Ones came on a new bike and I have had nothing but trouble keeping them sealed. I finally started looking at the tire bead and comparing it to the Hutchinson. The Hutchinson bead it smooth while the Schwalbe isn't. I am convinced that while I can get the Schwalbe to seal, the nubs and roughness of the bead result in them not staying sealed. I never had this problem with the Hutchinson tires. I think this will be my one and only pair of Schwalbe tires and they may just end up in the trash.

Reviewed 11/26/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Seats easily and great ride quality though I was not able to convert to tubeless
by ViperBoy
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

My plan was to convert to 28mm tubeless on Easton EC90SL rims (which are not official tubeless wheels) for a better ride and to finally get rid of flats. Tires mount easily - just tight enough to seem secure, but not so tight as to break tire irons. 90 PSI max is far lower than I'm accustomed to but the goal was a better ride on terrible california roads

However, absolutely NO amount of tries allowed me to run tubeless and this is someone who has installed a minimum of 30 mountain wheels on various tire and rim vendors. It took 2 people to work the tire enough to get a seal to inflate at all but then 30grams of Stans sealant didn't help complete the process. There is no pop as the tire fills and it takes about 1-6 hours to deflate in which the tire then unseats completely. One thing I noticed is that the rubber is very slick and sealant doesn't really dry to it even after a week like it does for Schwable mountain tires.

Since the EC90s aren't officially supported I was fully prepared for failure and so can't blame the tires, but for anyone coming from the absolutely wonderful world of tubeless mountain biking, the road experience may not be the same

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely lighter harder to mount though.
by brij43
Competitive Racer
Santa Cruz
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm a big fan of Schwalbe tubeless road tires and have had many pairs. This latest iteration is noticeably lighter. I can't tell yet if they wear differently yet-they seem to wear a bit faster but I could be wrong about that. They are great in terms of grip and rolling resistance. But they are super hard to mount. It might the wheeltire combo, but I've mounted many tubeless tires and you have to be patient and perseverant. I had to install with tubes and then use every trick I know (lots of soapy water, a good compressor, etc.). Essentially it feels like a different bead that doesn't want to stay seated.

Reviewed 4/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Training Tires
by John L
Competitive Racer
SF Bay Area
Review for Schwalbe One Tubeless Road Tire
17 of 18 customers found this review helpful.

This is my first set of Road Tubeless Tires, and so far I'm very happy.

Install

The Schwalbe One's fit very snug on both wheelset's I've tried. Install went easy with soapy water, but definitely need to use tire levers. No problems inflating them with a Floor Pump, and didn't have any issues with leaks (still none either).

The Ride

I run them about 30 psi lower then the clinchers on my race bike. The Low PSI give a nice supple ride, but still performs very well. No noticeable side wall flex (roll), and lower psi didn't seem to effect rolling resistance.. After 800 miles the tires still new brand new with zero leaks, flats or cuts.

Bottom Line

Very Comfortable Ride, Rolls Great. Good One for training & long rural roads.

Reviewed 3/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page