CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Schwalbe PRO ONE 700c Road Tire (HS493)

SchwalbePRO ONE 700c Road Tire (HS493)(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(28 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(21)
(4)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(75%)
(14%)
(7%)
(4%)
(0%)

User submitted reviews

Review by Gary

An Excellent High Performance Road Clincher
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

I have ridden Continental Gran Prix tires for years, and have always been happy with them. Then a new bike came with Schwalbe Pro One tires on it, and opened my eyes to a whole new level of performance in a road clincher. When it was time to replace the OEM tires, I ordered another set of Pro Ones. These are even better than the OEM tires.

I have a 30mm on the front and a 32mm on the rear. Unlike the OEM tires, these new ones were a snap to install on the DT Swiss carbon tubeless-ready rims that came with the bike. They tout a maximum inflation pressure of 90 PSI, which is plenty (the original 32 mm maxed out at 70). I typically run them at 75 PSI, which provides excellent grip and handling regardless of road conditions. Their low rolling resistance make them fast, and they track very well on high speed descents, even on wet roads. They are supple and responsive, and coupled with Schwalbe Aerothan TPU tubes, are fast and light.

Because they are so supple, they are not super puncture resistant. They are probably not the best choice for daily commuting on crud-covered roads. But for high-performance riding, they can't be beat. Until I'm ready to go tubeless (and I'm not there yet), these Pro Ones will be my go-to road clinchers. They're great tires. Seriously. Get yourself a set -- you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed 4/11/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MightyG

Remains One Of The Premium High Performance Road Tires...
by MightyG
Cycling Enthusiast
Beverly Hills, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been riding the Schwalbe Pro One's, since they first came out. Still remains my favorite high performance road tire of choice. Best soft riding and comfortable tire you'll experience. Exceptional handling in wet or dry conditions. I road the last pair until the wear indicators were worn down and, with small cuts and typical road nicks and without a single flat on the road. Only con with these tires, is mileage, as with any serious high performance tire. If you ride hard, you can expect about 1500 miles on rear and 2000 on the front, but no big deal, if you want a comfortable, very high performance tire. ( 25mm, race tubes, Campagnolo WTO 45 wheels).

Reviewed 7/17/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Dan

Fast and supple
by Dan
florida

Great ride quality and rolls really fast

Reviewed 4/5/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Quite Good
by Anonymous

The 34s mounted quite easily to the rim, sealed-up first time with compressed air, the rubber feels sticky to the touch, rides well at 45psi. Would buy again.

Reviewed 11/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff

Tires holding up well
by Jeff
North Texas

Been running these on nasty chip seal roads in Texas with Mr Tuffie liners and they are lasting way longer than other tires I have tried. Thumbs up!

Reviewed 2/21/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff

Tires holding up well
by Jeff
North Texas

Been running these on nasty chip seal roads in Texas with Mr Tuffie liners and they are lasting way longer than other tires I have tried. Thumbs up!

Reviewed 2/15/2024
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by YTDeliveryBoy

Tubed Pro One 700C road tyre
by YTDeliveryBoy
Competitive Racer
Yukon

I have used these for a number of years, presently using a 28 mm set with Vitoria latex tubes on one of my road bikes with HED Belgium rims. They roll fast, their puncture resistance seems solid, and provide a comfortable ride (at least with the above described set-up). They wear perhaps a little quicker than average, but for the high performance nature of this sort of tyre this is to be expected IMO. For those that wonder about mounting this tyre (specifically the tubed version) versus the tubeless equivalent, it is a great deal harder to mount tubeless tyres with rim strips and tubes so I would recommend you avoiding doing so if at all possible.

Reviewed 9/8/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by therno lo

Nice tires but set up very narrow
by therno lo
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore MD
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

Look Schwalbe make great tires. Been very happy with all the MTB and Gravel/CX tires I used from them in the past and currently. However this is my first set of road tires I have used by Schwalbe and I must say they run very narrow . I put a set of calibers on then after install a set 28mm tires on a Bontrager wheels set and to be generous they measured out at 26mmm. I had a old set of Conti 28mm tires and the difference visually apparent when comparing them side by side. The Conti tires were much wider and true to the 28mm marked width. I am sure they will be good tires. Just order up a size if you can.

Reviewed 2/15/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Fatboy

I�ve used Pro One for years
by Fatboy
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern California

The tire is the best I�ve found. Tan sidewalls go with ruby-red bike!

Reviewed 12/15/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Nice ride quality & easy to mount
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using Schwalbe Pro One's (700x25) on my road bike for about a year. They have a nice, supple ride quality and as a bonus are very easy to remove & re-mount - at least on my HED Belgium rims. They also seem pretty tough - have only gotten one or two flats. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 7/5/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Meh
by Anonymous
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

They are expensive and puncture easily.

I barely got 200 miles out of a pair before they were trashed

Reviewed 10/30/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MightyG

Excellent option To The Conti GP-5000...Compares Favorably, Some Differences...
by MightyG
Competitive Racer
Beverly Hills, CA
15 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

Rode tubular's for years. Been riding Continentals exclusively, since they released the GP-4000S, then the GP-5000. Recently tried this Schwalbe on a new build. Have about 1000K on the Pro One's. Mounted on Campy WTO-45 disc wheel set with Continental "Race Light Tubes". So...GP5000's role a bit faster when they're new, but after the initial rubber scuffs off, both tires role about equal...no real difference. Pro One's are noticeably more comfortable rolling at similar pressures, with same tubes. Side walls seem as durable as the Continentals, I haven't experienced any noticeable side wall cuts, no pinch flats, easy mounting. Rear tire center tread does square off on the rear tire, but so does the GP-5000's. The Pro One's do wear significantly sooner than the GP-5000's, so mileage is not their strong point. Cornering and ride feel are where the Schwalbe excels over the GP-5000. Pro One's are best suited if you ride hard and fast.

Reviewed 10/2/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SixSeven

Gave these a whirl
by SixSeven
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I needed 32mm tires and opted for the tan sidewalls. Straying from my go to Contis, I invested in a pair of these (not TLR). So far they roll fast and absorb different road surfaces well. I have about 800 miles on these and hear debris getting ejected to the sides versus finding its way to my tubes.

Knock the price down a bit and this tire gets 5 stars.

Reviewed 10/20/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Avid rider

Great tire
by Avid rider
NYC
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been a fan of the Conti 4-season for years, mostly because of their puncture resistance, but decided to try these to gain some improvement in my speed, and I was not disappointed. No punctures so far, hopefully my luck will continue.

Reviewed 7/8/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Love this tire!
by Anonymous

Probably one of the best 700c clincher on the market and so glad you had one and with tan sidewall

Reviewed 6/8/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by SixSeven

Impressive
by SixSeven
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I took a leap from my entrusted Contis with this tire. They roll fast and defend against flat causing debris. Wear resistance is the unknown factor but I sense they are comparable.

Reviewed 1/10/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

The tire is not as wide as specified
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Yorktown, VA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I�m using this tire for general road riding. Ordered a 28mm wide tire and installed it. It only measures 27mm wide on 23mm wide rim. Otherwise satisfied with the product..

Reviewed 1/4/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

As GUd or better than Conti 5000 and I can actually mount it on my rims!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkeley, CA
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

My first Schwalbe PRO ONE 700c Road Tire. I had used Conti for years but when I recently obtained some new custom built ICAN wheels, I found the Conti 5000 absolutely impossible to mount on my rims. The Schwalbe PRO ONE 700c Road Tire was mountable on my rims and so far only one f(l)at tire and great traction and road feel. They seem to be out of stock now but planning to reorder more!

Reviewed 6/25/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LarryH

Great tubeless tire!
by LarryH
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado
0 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

For a road tubeless tire, not sure they get any better. I've run the 30's and now the 28's. Rear tire wore at 1500mi, front went 2500, and I'm doing some gravel and rough roads. Really happy with these.

Reviewed 11/13/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Very nice ride quality & easy to mount
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

The Schwalbe Pro Ones are clearly a premium tire. I have HED Belgium rims and have previously used Vittorio Rubino Pros, & Conti GP4000-S2's. They all have a nice, supple ride quality and a reasonable amount of flat protection but the Schwalbe Pro Ones are the easiest to mount, which is a plus IMO. A tad spendy but well worth it as far as I'm concerned. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 10/12/2020
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page