Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Schwalbe Durano Plus Road Tire

SchwalbeDurano Plus Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(32)
(4)
(0)
(1)
(1)
(84%)
(11%)
(0%)
(3%)
(3%)
Never flatted on 9500 kms
by Mawiga
Cycling Enthusiast
Mississauga, ON, Canada
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have used 2 sets of these tires over 3 years,15000 kms and I am still riding on the second set. Only 2 flats. Excellent wear durability for sure and probably excellent puncture resistance. 80-90% of my kms are on rural roads that have minimal debris compared to city roads therefore puncture resistance not fully tested. The 2 flats noted were received riding through a small town with a lot of crap lying around railway tracks.

Reviewed 12/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impressive
by Courtney (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland. OR
16 of 16 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on my single speed commuter I ride everyday. They easily have over 3,000 miles on them and I have suffered one flat. The SmartGuard adds some additional weight, but is well worth it's super flat protection. I regularly ride on dirt, gravel, off curbs, and make no move to get out of the way of road debris. I ride in Portland and ride in a fair amount of rain and find no difference in the traction when it's wet. Excellent tires.

Reviewed 3/23/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Impressive
by Courtney (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland. OR
4 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I use these tires on my single speed commuter I ride everyday. They easily have over 3,000 miles on them and I have suffered one flat. The SmartGuard adds some additional weight, but is well worth it's super flat protection. I regularly ride on dirt, gravel, off curbs, and make no move to get out of the way of road debris. I ride in Portland and ride in a fair amount of rain and find no difference in the traction when it's wet. Excellent tires.

Reviewed 3/23/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Tire
by Desert Fox
Cycling Enthusiast
Desert, Ca.

I've heard good things about Schwalbe Durano Plus Tire so I decided give them a try, they were on sale at a decent price which was even better. I ride in the Desert where's a lot of thrones and glass. These tires have held

up great one flat in 3,500 miles. I've recommended them to friends now we're all riding the same tires.

Reviewed 10/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great road tire - truly dependable
by John
Cycling Enthusiast
Tallahassee, FL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The Schwalbe Durano Plus is a tire that does what it claims - I have ridden miles and miles and no flats

Reviewed 1/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by Anonymous

Provideva soft comfortable ride.

Reviewed 8/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
1000 miles no flats
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Buffalo NY
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Started out the season with Conti 4000S II on the rear. After 3 punctures in 200 mi. on the rear wheel. I moved the Conti to the front and put the Durano Plus at the rear. After 1000 miles on same roads no flats (including the Conti on the front). I'm not a racer so weight is not an issue I was tired of repairing flats instead of riding. Very happy with this tire, I recommend.

Reviewed 9/9/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I can ride with confidence that I won't be on the side of the road fixiing a flat.
by tg16
Cycling Enthusiast
Baton Rouge, LA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I installed these tires and ride on good and bad roads alike. There are a few places where the roads are torn up around a local bayou and I go over them without a worry. My priority was flat resistance, however, I have found these tires to roll and corner better than I had hoped. I did one duathlon in a rural are and the tire performed well.

I inflate to 100psi and run the 700x25's.

Reviewed 5/11/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
El Mejor
by Jack
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

El mejor I believe translates to the 'the best'. I've tried all the major brands over the last decade but none match the combination of durability and ride quality. They handle well wet and corner well at the limits of my ability. I've never had a flat. I've dug out some glass and had some cuts but nothing has gotten thru the 'smart guard'. I cut one in half after I wore it out, the smart guard is a great layer in the road contact area, the side walls are thick but still flex well. FYI, I'm 90 Kg and use the 25's on my carbon bike. I also have 3 other bikes with tires from 700-28 to my 29er, I've got Schwalbes on all of them.

Reviewed 11/22/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No flats in 10 months
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Johns Creek, GA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Seems to grip well. No flats since I put them on 10 months ago. Probably have 2-3 K miles on them.

Reviewed 8/29/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
One tough tire
by Fred
Cycling Enthusiast
Carmichael, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I commute a few times a week and ride through areas of rough road and debris. I need a tire with good flat prevention and longevity. I had heard good things about Schwalbe and I am glad I tried them. They ride smoother than I expected and tract very well even in cornering. These are tough tires. I like them better than the Michelin Krylion. Much better!

Reviewed 6/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Use this tire to battle brutal roads at speed and with confidence.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this tire in a 25 to race the Battenkill road race in upstate New York this year, which features 65 miles on a mix of mediocre pavement and terrible dirt, and this tire road like a dream, cornering confidently on wet pavement at fifty miles an hour and descending dirt at forty without fear of flats or slip-outs. I won't ride them again until I'm racing again on dirt or cobbles, but these tires are worth every penny and every extra gram.

Reviewed 4/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
mileage eaters
by rain rider
Competitive Racer
oregon
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought these tires to replace some 25c Gatorskins and haven't found any problems with them thus far. I ride in the rain and these are my winter tires. The performance is fine and the ride smooth enough to do club rides or long solo rides

Reviewed 2/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
the best tire i have ever used!
by steve
Cycling Enthusiast
eastern oregon
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have the first set of schwalbe durano plus road tires and I have 3200 miles on my front tire and I had one flat on it,it was a large piece of glass.i have about 1200 miles on my rear tire and have had one flat on it.i am a large rider I am 215 lbs.and I ride 10,000 a year and ride on a lot of bad roads and bad weather with gravel and glass nails you name it!i think they are great tires and I just received a new set so when the first set wears out I have a new set!

Reviewed 2/14/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great long lasting tire
by Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
Walla Walla, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Durable, smooth, and relatively puncture resistant

Reviewed 1/9/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best all around training/touring tire
by Jack
Cycling Enthusiast
Orlando
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 1000 mi/month. Commuting and randoneuring. These are my go-to tires. I use 700-28s on my brevet bike and 25s on my carbon commuter. I've never flatted. I wear these out first. I'm 200s and get 3500-4000 miles out of a set. They are the best I've found for this application. I use lighter, more grippy tires on my 'speedster'.

Reviewed 12/17/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
After thirty years of riding I found this tire.
by Bill
Cycling Enthusiast
San Luis Obispo, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is the best all around tire I have found for daily rides-not racing. And I have been riding for over thirty years. No flats yet!

Reviewed 11/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
3 thousand plus miles no flats
by rj510510
carmel, in

I have had this for about 4-5 months,and I have yet to have a flat tire yet, when I was using conti gatorskins I would be getting flat tires all the time, these are great tires for training or racing, they work fine!! The puncture protection on these tires are awesome, not even one flat yet, they have me sold!!

Reviewed 9/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great flat resistant tire
by jc
Cycling Enthusiast
Western NY

I bought these tires last summer after having flat after flat on the tires that came with my road bike. I have rode on these tires (25's) being as heavy as 300 lbs with no trouble at all! Im know down to around 250 and Im actually afraid to ever go to another tire because these have been so dependable. I ride on some pretty terrible roads up here to.

Reviewed 8/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good tire for my tandem
by attores
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicagoland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm beyond racing any more, but I like responsive tires on my bikes. The Schwalbe Durano Plus tire in a 700X25 fills the bill for our Calfee tandem. We get good life and good puncture resistance to go with the performance. I also use these tires on single bikes. Using about 90 lbs pressure gives both good ride and good precision steering. All around dependable tire.

Reviewed 12/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page