X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Schwalbe Aerothan 700c Tube

SchwalbeAerothan 700c Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(45 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(26)
(7)
(6)
(2)
(4)
(58%)
(16%)
(13%)
(4%)
(9%)
Previous Page
OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE
by LM
Cycling Enthusiast
vancouver, WA
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these tubes because they were touted as being puncture resistant. I've only done one ride on them, of about 70 miles. No punctures on the ride but that usually happens, fortunately, on most rides. So, I can't comment on the puncture resistance.

What I can comment on, and what leads me to review them so soon, is how well they improve the performance of the bike. From the first pedal stroke, the bike felt quicker and more responsive. They won't move you from the rear of the peloton to the front, but you'll definitely notice an improvement in your performance.

So, even if the prove to be only as puncture resistant as regular tubes, I'd still purchase them. They just ride better.

I have only two negative comments about them: (1) They are expensive, especially for a tube; $30 for one tube is very high, even way higher than latex tubes. (2) They only come in one value-stem length. I needed to purchase separate valve-stem extenders to use them with my wheels. I don't know whether the price can be decreased but I am hopeful that Schwalbe will start offering them with longer valve stems.

Reviewed 12/4/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Light, Great Ride Easy to Install
by DanTheBikerMan
Cycling Enthusiast
Huntington Beach CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this on a whim after reading about the technology. First off, installation is actually easier than a regular tube. It easily slides in the tire casing without snagging and is very slippery. Pumped it up and was ready to ride in less than 5 minutes. My first thoughts when riding was you do feel a noticeable change in how the bike rides. The bike feels lighter more responsive smoother and faster. The tire also holds air for over a week without a change in air pressure. I have ridden only about a week or 100 miles so far but so far so good. Time will tell how puncture resistant these are. Yes $30 is a lot for tube but if you think about for $60 you can get a major change to your ride it makes it justifiable. Recommended!

Reviewed 11/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Exceeded early expectations!
by Mlab
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to try these based on the description and because of my recent rash of flats. I really had no expectations for these tubes to change my cycling experience - but they have! The difference in rolling resistance is noticeable from the first rpm's. The bike is so much more responsive and comfortable. These tubes actually hold pressure even better than the race light butyl tubes I had used. After only a total of 45 miles though the jury is still out on puncture resistance/durability. But so far the Aerothan tubes are definitely game-changers.

Reviewed 12/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very light and good quality tube.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Tennessee

I can carry two of these at about the same weight as one regular tube. I have had to install one of these on the side of the road and use a stem extension. Worked great. The valve is removable. The ride isn't bad. The tube is pricey but not that bad compared to other weight saving options.

Reviewed 7/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely feel a difference (mentally?)!
by Tee
Cycling Enthusiast
SG

Not sure these should cost so much but the ride quality feels better from the regular tubes. Hard to describe. How do you tell if its faster? But 1500km on the road with them and no issues so far.

Reviewed 6/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight, low rolling resistance and very puncture resistant. Ideal!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland

I use these with training wheels/tires for winter riding because I do not want to flat (they are very puncture resistant). I use them with lightweight climbing wheels because they are so light. And I use them with medium depth aero wheels because I want to go fast and these are low rolling resistance.

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far I like these tubes. No flats and they are much lighter than butyl tubes.
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota

I have not had any flats with these tubes thus far. They seem to roll a bit faster than regular butyl tubes but it is hard to compare. They are lighter. They also seem to hold air longer than other tubes.

Reviewed 6/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
You can still get a flat, but at least these Aerothans are expensive and currently irrepairable
by DavidF
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco peninsula

I blew out an Aerothan on a steep decent when I hit a rock. It just popped and deflated instantly. No tire damage (Conti Grand Prix 5Ks). Aerothans may be puncture resistant, but they are definitely not impact resistant. Don't know when I can repair it since the required Schwalbe patch kit is currently unavailable.

Reviewed 6/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good, but...
by dtsloan
Fresno

The tubes are very light, install easily, and provide a great ride.

However, two of six I bought failed right out of the box, just don't hold air. Another had the valve easily damaged when removing a pump head.

I think they need further development.

Reviewed 6/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Game Changer
by Knight
Missouri

I will never use a "normal" tube again! It is a phenomenal improvement. It frees up so much space in your Jersey or bag, and they really are puncture resistant. The also prefer them to their orange competition. Cannot recommend enough!

Reviewed 5/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far I like these tubes. No flats and they are much lighter than butyl tubes.
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have installed two of these tubes on two different bikes and they seem to roll a bit faster, are lighter and, I have had no flats thus far. I just ordered another tube to put on the rear of my Wife's bike.

Reviewed 5/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Aerothan experience
by Al Abbott
Pasadena, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I replaced a latex tube with an aerothan tube on my road bike that has continental 5000 25 tires. Aerothan is easy to mount and I can not detect any difference in ride quality. The only difference I detect is the aerothan holds air longer like a butyl tube. No flats in 300 miles.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light Strong Tube for Emergency Use
by mjg1231
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunnyvale

I run tubeless so keep this tube in my saddle bag, protected from other items. I have had regular tubes develop leaks when stored similarly. I have many ways to fix a flat (glue patch, sealant, 'dart', 'boot', tube). This tube is much smaller, lighter and more rugged. I've been stuck before so no more chances. Pricey but worth the peace of mind.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice ride
by Doug
Fresno, Ca
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Sure, they are expensive, and you can't patch them. Can't use sealant, either.

But, they significantly improve ride quality - I've never seen anything make such a difference.

They are very small and light to pack for spares.

Easy to install, keep their shape with slight inflation, and less likely to pinch.

I haven't seen that they retain air better.

I think this may be the future of inner tubes.

Reviewed 4/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
light tube but lousy valves
by dan in denver
Cycling Enthusiast
denver Colorado
10 of 14 customers found this review helpful.

installed in my conti 5000's . after inflating 7 times -screwing pump head and off-leaking out of the plastic valve stem. stripped internal threads . valve stems are typically steel or brass for a reason- they can take multiple

inflations with out concern. thats unfortunate because they ride beautiful.

Reviewed 3/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice but the price is a bit too much
by xzarterius
Competitive Racer
Sparks, NV

Overall I give it a 4 start rating. They don't leak air any worse than a butyl tube and are much easier to mount even on tubeless rims than any other tubes I've tried. A noticeable difference in weight when riding and out of around 1000 miles of usage I did have one flat with a small wire going through my Conti- Gator hardshell and through this tube which surprised me. My biggest gripe are the short valve lengths which limit your rim depth to around 32mm's. They are also made of plastic and seem a bit weak for such pricey tubes. That brings me to my next biggest gripe- the cost. If these were $15 I wouldn't complain at all by $30 is a bit much for these.

Reviewed 7/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrific ultralight durable tube
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Lighter than latex, and it holds air better than butyl, with virtually no pressure loss between rides. Some reviewers have said they're hard to repair, but in my experience punctures are easily repaired using either the Schwalbe or Tubilito patch kits that are specifically made for thermoplastic tubes. They are great to carry in the flat kit since they are light weight and take up much less space than butyl or latex.

Reviewed 1/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Alternative to Latex
by MPH
Competitive Racer
DC

Offers great rolling resistance similar to latex, but can be used on rim brakes without worrying about the amount of heat build up. No problems except for availability!

Reviewed 7/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very light
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

installed in a 42c gravel tire, one tube is holding air fine, the other leaks from the stem and is flat in 4 days. Very light, seems to allow the tire to squish and move on terrain in a comfortable mannerthat is slightly more noticeable compared to butyl tubes.

Reviewed 1/7/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I will not buy again
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem Oregon
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Did a Century ride and got two rear tire flats. Purchased 3 tubes so that I would have a spare. The stem is plastic and can cross thread very easy, even just using your fingers.

Reviewed 6/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page