X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Schwalbe Aerothan 700c Tube

SchwalbeAerothan 700c Tube(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(7)
(6)
(2)
(3)
(58%)
(16%)
(14%)
(5%)
(7%)
Lesson Learned...
by SHBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate NY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought 3 of them at the beginning of May. All 3, yes all 3, are toast now.

Tube 1 developed an air bubble in one spot during installation, stretching the material irreparably before the tire was even on (apparently there's a warning against overinflation prior to mounting,written in tiny print in the install guide??).Tube 2, mounted on the rear under a Conti GP5000 in 28mm, punctured after 150 miles.Tube 3, mounted on the rear under a Conti GP 4 seasons in 32mm, punctured after 200 miles (300 miles total on this tube, if you count the 100 miles when it was on the front before I switched it to the rear). As other reviewers have noted, the Schwalbe Glueless Patches can't be found anywhere! So I'm stuck with two broken tubes that I'll probably never bother to fix, given my lack of trust in these tubes now, and what I've heard about the Glueless Patches not always working well.

This was no scientific experiment, so my results are by no means objective, and I may have just had a run of bad luck (I think I was tempting the Flat Gods when I bought these tubes because I was on a 3000-mile no-flat streak with basic butyl tubes (Bontragers and Michelin Airstop A2s with different set-ups)). That being said, I will never purchase Schwalbe Aerothan tubes again. Schwalbe, if you're listening, lower the price by at least half and I will MAYBE consider buying them again, because, as much as I hate to admit it, I did like riding them and I feel like the lower weight and slightly lower rolling resistance was noticeable.

My next tire/wheel upgrade will probably be going tubeless (in which case my Aerothans, if I ever am able to patch them, will be even more useless, because, as Schwalbe notes in the fine print of their Aerothan packaging, the tubes can't come into contact with Tubeless sealant - so much for a light spare tube lol).

Reviewed 6/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
light and durable!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA

Obviously a little pricy, but they do seem to last longer than standard tubes. A great way to save on rolling resistance and weight!

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better stem than other thermoplastic competition
by kook43
Competitive Racer
St. Louis, MO

Been running Latex for racing/training since I can remember, great feel, fast, light, etc. Switched to the competition, to shed a few grams and have a more compact spare, let's call them "Orange" and was happy until I realized their fatal flaw, the stem.

Touch it with anything, add extenders for deep carbon rims, change the valve for any reason, and bammm instant failure, leak, crack, non-seal. These Aerothan's are waaaaaay different. The stem is actually the focus, and works 100% so far in my usage. Just as light, just as good, with far better engineering.

I'm a fan of the Schwalbe Aerothan.

Reviewed 7/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
46g, not 41g
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SE CT
4 of 22 customers found this review helpful.

After a lot of indecision, splurged and bought two of the Race 700 x 23/28 version. Disappointed to find that both weighed nearly 46g (45.7 and 45.9g to be precise). Substantially more than the 41g listed both in the specs and prominently on the box. Hoped that the scale was off. Fresh batteries, re-calibrated. Nope, not the scale.

Schwalbe tech rep says that lower weight is less important than reduced rolling resistance and greater puncture resistance. CyclingTips' posted data shows that Aerothans have slightly more rolling resistance than latex and slightly less than Conti Supersonic. As for puncture resistance, it's always seemed like that should be in the tires rather than the tubes (though resistance to tearing while mounting is always welcome).

Still, one expects that a product which is (a) made in Germany and (b) so expensive would be closer to spec. If that's impossible, a weight range should be given.

They're still in the box, so my one star rating doesn't mean much. Haven't decided whether to use them or return for credit.

Reviewed 3/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tubes are lighter than latex and much lighter than butyl.

Installation was no problem and each size covers a useful range of tire sizes.

They retain air better than latex but not as well as standard butyl. Mine lose about 10% per week.

I've had 2 flats, both were slow leaks from tiny holes. I couldn't find Schwalbe patches but was able to repair the tubes with Park glueless patches. I cleaned the hole area thoroughly then pressed the patch on by rolling a socket wrench over it with lots of force. They hold air as well as unpatched tubes.

I like these better than Tubolito. Mostly I've had problems getting patches to hold on Tubolito. Also the Aerothan seem lighter and more flexible (and I don't have to look at orange valve stems).

Reviewed 6/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far this has worked fabulous.
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Duluth, MN

I put these on my wife's Ruby, because she hates to get flats. So far so good.

Reviewed 7/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not worth the extra money
by Kangaroo62
Mid-Atlantic

I bought 3 of these expensive inner tubes due to their claimed puncture resistance. One still suffered a puncture. One had an air leak at the valve not fixable by tightening. The third has lasted a few weeks ok. No way are they worth it.

Reviewed 7/19/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Almost perfect. Almost amazing. But ...
by Psycholist
Competitive Racer
Calhoun Falls, SC
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I wish I could LOVE these, and I do. I wish I could say they're perfect, but no. The valve stems are strange and, I believe, leaky. I've purchased a number of these tubes and have replaced Schwalbe's valve cores with standard ones I've saved over the years and that has cured some air leakage issues.

I'd love for these to be a great spare carry tube for my various tubeless setups, but they warn not to use these tubes in tires where tubeless sealant has been used. I think I get why because I've tried it despite their warnings. Tubeless sealants have glitter-type junk that helps clog a puncture and aid sealing, but that glitter-type junk is large enough and has sharp-enough edges to put tiny punctures in these extremely thin tubes.

When I've used these tubes in brand new tires they've been amazing! Minimal air loss over time. Extremely light and they seem to be durable. You just can't use them as backup for a tubeless setup where sealant has been involved (which they quite clearly warn you about up front). And the valve stems/cores seem a bit sketchy. These are my knocks on them. Otherwise, they're fantastic. They're extremely light and seem to roll every bit as well as latex or tubeless.

Reviewed 5/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice product!
by Jenk
Cycling Enthusiast
NC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Put these on my gravel bike and road bike. Certainly different and rather pricey, but so far so good. Hold air better than latex so no need to air everyday. Ride very supple, closer to latex than butyl. Nice rotational mass saving on gravel bike (700x35 tires), didn't notice much on road bike (700x25) but was running latex already. No punctures, so that's good, but didn't expect any since the backroads here are decent and most of the flats I get and see during club rides are from tube failures or worn out tires and maybe the occasional pinch flat at RRXing, so cannot comment on repair. Overall nice product and happy with purchase.

Reviewed 5/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice but the price is a bit too much
by xzarterius
Competitive Racer
Sparks, NV

Overall I give it a 4 start rating. They don't leak air any worse than a butyl tube and are much easier to mount even on tubeless rims than any other tubes I've tried. A noticeable difference in weight when riding and out of around 1000 miles of usage I did have one flat with a small wire going through my Conti- Gator hardshell and through this tube which surprised me. My biggest gripe are the short valve lengths which limit your rim depth to around 32mm's. They are also made of plastic and seem a bit weak for such pricey tubes. That brings me to my next biggest gripe- the cost. If these were $15 I wouldn't complain at all by $30 is a bit much for these.

Reviewed 7/24/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I think I can feel the difference
by PSBiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Palm Springs, CA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 125 to 150 miles a week of mostly dry and hilly roads, mostly on a 2021 Roubaix Expert with alloy wheels. I'm one of those people that is highly skeptical when reviewers use subjective words like "supple" when rating tires or tubes. I bought these in the hopes of reducing flats and having more consistent air pressure, so I was surprised when I felt like they actually make a difference in ride quality. Supple may be the right word -- it does feel like a smoother ride.

This may seem like a steep price to pay, but if they really do provide better flat protection then that means I'll buy fewer tubes. Also, at least for now I feel like I can put off my planned upgrade to carbon wheels. If you're on the fence, I think they're worth a try. You've probably spent more money on dumber products.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Small packing size, light, and so far no flats. Expensive.
by JohnK
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, Texas
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I'm using Aerothan tubes in both 25mm tires on my roadbike (90/80PSI) and 38mm tires on my gravel bike (50/40PSI) for about a month now. Easy to install. No flats yet so haven't tested their patchability. Love their small size and weight.

The gravel bike tubes have Continental 20mm valve extenders attached. No problems.

The road bike tubes need to be aired up before every ride. Their pressure drops significantly (~10PSI) between rides. The gravel bike tubes, with their much lower pressure, hold air much better.

I have tried Tubolito tubes and so far I like the Aerothans' more. The two Tubolito road bike tubes I used were leaky. Tubolito was good about replacing the tubes, but I asked for gravel bike tubes as replacements and am using them now as spares. Haven't tried these replacement tubes yet. Maybe they'll work better with lower pressure.

The real test is later this year when I ride my gravel bike across USA (3600 miles). Tubes' size and weight count a lot, but reliability is even more important for me. Aerothan tubes are expensive, but if they remain reliable I will use them for the trip.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very light and good quality tube.
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Tennessee

I can carry two of these at about the same weight as one regular tube. I have had to install one of these on the side of the road and use a stem extension. Worked great. The valve is removable. The ride isn't bad. The tube is pricey but not that bad compared to other weight saving options.

Reviewed 7/1/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pretty Awesome!
by Wheelsucker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mid Atlantic
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I started using Aerothan tubes a few months ago. While I am not doing roll down tests or otherwise testing to accurately measure rolling resistance, I feel very fast with these tubes and a high performance, low rolling resistance tire. The tubes are easy to install and very strong. I finally managed to develop a slow leak in one, by hitting a pothole so hard it would have pinch flatted any other tube. I just ordered two more...

I am now using these in my light weight climbing road bike wheels, my fast carbon aero wheels, and my winter training wheels... the tubes are very light, very low rolling resistance and very durable, so an optimum choice for each of those uses. I am an ex amateur racer and still doing group rides with younger, fitter, faster racers, so need all the help I can get.

Reviewed 4/29/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Definitely feel a difference (mentally?)!
by Tee
Cycling Enthusiast
SG

Not sure these should cost so much but the ride quality feels better from the regular tubes. Hard to describe. How do you tell if its faster? But 1500km on the road with them and no issues so far.

Reviewed 6/26/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not patchable, so don't bother
by East Bay Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Bay Area
3 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using the 700c version on my regular training bike for a few months. The ride quality is nice; perhaps a tad better than latex. Not scientific, but I went about twice as long without a puncture, which could be luck. However, patches aren't available ANYWHERE and those that have tried the Schwalbe patches seem to find they fail. Not worth it compared to good latex or butyl which you get much more life out of for a small weight difference.

Reviewed 3/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrific tubes until you get a puncture
by Pat
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

Pros: lightweight, packs small, holds air very well, perfect for seat-pack spares

Cons: Cannot be permanently patched with any patch material currently on the market. I've tried Tubolito, slime, and Park patches. Nothing works. Schwalbe says you must use their patch kit, but I've never tried it because these are not available anywhere. Until Schwalbe makes their patch kits as widely available as the tubes, these can only used as a seat-pack spare (unless you want to throw away a $30 tube with each puncture). Note: Tubolito patches work great for a while, but after a few months they eventually fail.

Reviewed 3/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight, low rolling resistance and very puncture resistant. Ideal!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland

I use these with training wheels/tires for winter riding because I do not want to flat (they are very puncture resistant). I use them with lightweight climbing wheels because they are so light. And I use them with medium depth aero wheels because I want to go fast and these are low rolling resistance.

Reviewed 6/18/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
So far I like these tubes. No flats and they are much lighter than butyl tubes.
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Minnesota

I have not had any flats with these tubes thus far. They seem to roll a bit faster than regular butyl tubes but it is hard to compare. They are lighter. They also seem to hold air longer than other tubes.

Reviewed 6/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
You can still get a flat, but at least these Aerothans are expensive and currently irrepairable
by DavidF
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco peninsula

I blew out an Aerothan on a steep decent when I hit a rock. It just popped and deflated instantly. No tire damage (Conti Grand Prix 5Ks). Aerothans may be puncture resistant, but they are definitely not impact resistant. Don't know when I can repair it since the required Schwalbe patch kit is currently unavailable.

Reviewed 6/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page