Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Portland Design Works Shiny Object CO2 Inflator Head

Portland Design WorksShiny Object CO2 Inflator Head(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(60 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(48)
(7)
(1)
(0)
(4)
(80%)
(12%)
(2%)
(0%)
(7%)
Small enough to carry
by ScarTissue
Cycling Enthusiast
RI

I haven't used it and hope I don't have to. The real test will be if it works when I need it or will it be unusable because I didn't use it and now the knob won't turn cuz it's gummed up with mystery funk.

Reviewed 7/6/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to use
by Dpgoodman
Vancouver

I love being able to accurate the amount of air going into the tube so that I can more precisely inflate the tube. Would recommend for anyone

Reviewed 6/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to use
by Dpgoodman
Vancouver

I love being able to accurate the amount of air going into the tube so that I can more precisely inflate the tube. Would recommend for anyone

Reviewed 6/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Shiny object works very well
by outdoor guy
Cycling Enthusiast
St. louis

With the Shiny object you can easily dial in the amount of co2 you want to put into a tire. Great for checking to make sure you don't have any tube pinched under the bead. Then let it rip and fill the tire.

Reviewed 6/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
simple effective tool
by gravel epic
Cycling Enthusiast
Eugene, Or

I have 2 of these and using them could not be easier. Fast and light.

Reviewed 6/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to Use With Control
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana

The Shiny Object is an easy to use device that attaches to a threaded CO2 cartridge for the purpose of inflating a tire. The dial allows the user to control the amount of CO2 released instead of the all-or-none release of some similar units. It's small and easy to carry in a seat bag along with the CO2 cartridges instead of having to carry a pump along on the ride. There is no pressure gauge on the unit, however, so the user must estimate the desired pressure.

Reviewed 4/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The Perfect Inflator
by Curt in California
Daily Commuter
Morgan Hill, CA

Its small, so its easy to carry in a seat bag. The valve it perfect for modulating your inflation. The small simple device works perfectly and is exactly what you'd want for road side repair work.

Reviewed 4/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great CO2 head!
by RetinaBurn
Daily Commuter
San Jose, CA

This shiny object works great, it is so easy to regulate the flow and it will hold the leftover CO2 for days. Its small and light. You can't ask for anything more.

Reviewed 10/16/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
simple and robust
by Jim A
Competitive Racer
Michigan
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I've tried a bunch of these over the years. Some look good, but break quickly. This one is small, simple and tough. It works when you need it.

Reviewed 8/8/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Inflator head
by Anonymous
Dallas

Great product easy and fast

Reviewed 2/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The simplest, no fail, CO2 inflater I've used.
by Marc
Cycling Enthusiast
Tualatin, OR
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I have a Lezyne and Innovations valve inflators, but have replaced both with the PDW inflator. The PDW is the easiest, quickest, and fail-safe nozzle compared to the other 2. I inflate in 2 steps. At step 1, my PDW allows me to have very slow, controlled release (twist the valve knob) to minimally inflate the inner tube, but with enough air control to see the tire is properly seeded inside, around the rim. My Lezyne and Innovations is simple push, but each push comes in full bursts. I found these bursts are more difficult to control in my step 1. Step 2 is my more robust, but still controlled, release to reach my desired PSI. There are certainly experts using Lezyne and Innovations, but I'm not one of them. I don't flat that often. But, when I do, the PDW has ridden me of all my previous fumbling and frustrations I had with the other 2 brands.

Reviewed 6/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Tool!
by Tomas
Seattle

This is simple, small and reliable. Well designed!

Reviewed 4/15/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding tool
by BigHill
Sacramento
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Having control of air flow is what it is about! Slow or fast inflation is crucial, and this Shiny object allows this.

Reviewed 4/7/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Simply the best
by jeffdags
Cycling Enthusiast
Canby, OR.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This Portland Design Works inflator is so easy to use it makes me want to have a flat tire!

Reviewed 3/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
PDW shiny object
by Jon
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashville

When you need one of these you need it to work simply, reliably, and with some control. You get all of that with the PDW shiny object CO2 head. If you don't want to worry with carrying the little leather sleeve in your flat kit or saddle bag just use an old inner tube cut to length as a sleeve. This will keep you from freezing your hand. The dial allows you to control the flow of air so that you don't just blow the new tube or pinch flat straightaway. This is the standard for CO2 heads as far as I'm concerned. Get two!

Reviewed 1/1/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA

This can be throttled to a minimal flow for gentle control of inflation.

Reviewed 12/26/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works
by cokvance
Daily Commuter
Salt Lake City, Ut

This is the only valve I've ever used that actually holds pressure after it's pierced the C02 cylinder. I've used the partial pressure after a couple of months of initial use. I use it and several friends use them as well, all have had the same good luck with these valves.

Reviewed 12/31/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Worked like a Charm!!!!
by torpeto
Cycling Enthusiast
pasadena, CA

less than a week after receiving it, I had a flat. Product worked perfectly and allowed me to gently release C02 into the tire to seat the bead.

Reviewed 11/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice and compact
by Anonymous

Nice and compact. Great design. Fortunately I havent needed to use it.

Reviewed 11/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Flimsy
by Eddie
El paso

Used ut a couole of times,and then the rubber gasket blew apart and i havent been able to get it to stay put to use the inflator again.

Reviewed 10/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page