X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
POC Ventral SPIN Road Helmet

POCVentral SPIN Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(24)
(4)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(83%)
(14%)
(0%)
(3%)
(0%)
Best helmet I've ever had.
by Anonymous
South East Idaho
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I did a LOT of research and tried quite a number of helmets. I absolutely love this helmet.

I did mutiple rides on a very windy and cold day in February using both my old helmet and the POC Ventral. The cold air was great because i could immediately feel where the air was being channeled and where it wasn't. My old helmet "looked" aero, but only the very front of my head actually got cold. Using the Ventral, i could feel exactly where the air went and it was just as advertised. The venturi effect is real. After many more rides in warmer weather i can attest to its cooling. The air flow from side winds and tail winds are well above my other aero helmet due to the large air scoops.

It is surprisingly quiter than my old helmet also. I've seen other reviews that had issues with the fit of the straps but i had none, even with my gargantuan melon.

The construction is what you would expect from a quality helmet and is perfect. I love the extra proection at the back.

One of the biggest selling points to me though, and this made me SO happy to find... This helmet only really has like one small hole on the top. For those of us without as much hair up top, i used to get all sorts of weird sunbutns and tan patterns. Now that is no longer a problem. It will aid in cooling on really hot days too.

All in all, this to me is a perfect helmet.

* Notes

I ride about 2k miles a year

I have not been paid or compensated for this review. I purchased the POC Ventral with my own hard earned cash.

Reviewed 3/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It's an expensive helmet, but how much is your brain worth?
by daohaus
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastvale, CA

Package arrived promptly and it was much needed as my S-Works Prevail helmet was well over 10 years old. So I needed something a bit newer.

Packaging is what you would expect for a helmet.

Fit: this helmet fits my big head perfectly. With the fine adjustment knob at the back it really made fitting into this helmet much easier. When riding, you definitely feel more of the air going through, I will wait for the warmer months to see how this truly works.

Reviewed 5/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It was amazing
by Anonymous
Souderton

I have tried for many months to find a helmet that exceeded my expectations, and when I found the POC, it was a huge surprise. It was perfect in all aspects. I highly recommend this brand. They are the best

Reviewed 5/17/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks great!!
by Danny
Montebello CA

Multiple compliments since I began using this helmet. It's comfortable the ventilation system works well and it looks great!! I chose the Lead Blue Matt which matches our cycling club colors. Hence more compliments!!

Reviewed 5/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it!
by MaddieSF
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA

I made the switch from Giro to POC a few months ago and couldn't be happier. The white one is great for early morning rides when the sun is still rising it is much more visible. The air flow is great and the helmet is light I never think about it on my head. I got this on sale and would not have paid $280 for it as I don't find it much different than my Octal which was like $150. I got a M and could have probably gotten a S but it fits fine!

Reviewed 12/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and quiet
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
MAryland

The Ventral Spin fits exactly like my Ventral Air Spin, and weighs just 19g more (298g vs 279g). The Medium helmet fits nicely on my 57cm circumference head, with ample room for a cap underneath. I've only worn the Ventral Spin on cold and mild days, so I can't say how it performs in hot weather. However, it does seem "quieter" on windy days than other helmets I own. Fluorescent orange is great for safety, especially during low-light fall and winter days.

The helmet's only downsides pertain to sunglasses: 1) the "sunglass garage" flat out doesn't work, and 2) the arms of my POC Do Half Blades bump the helmet's back edges behind my ears if I don't position the arms just right. I've read this is a problem with other sunglasses as well, but don't have other sun glasses to test for comparison.

Reviewed 11/26/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect allrounder helmet
by Anonymous
Southern California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet has perfect balance of lightweight, aero, comfort, safety (proprietary MIPS equivalent) and ventilation. Most helmets out there compromise at least one of these factors, but the Ventral checks all those boxes. With my old Specialized Evade my head used to get warm on hot days with sweat dripping down onto my sunglasses, by comparison the Ventral is super breezy.

I live in SoCal, so having a ventilated and aero helmet is important for me. Ive use helmets from Specialized, Giro and Lazer and the Ventral is my favorite and most comfortable so far.

Size wise I am typically on the upper end of a medium, with some brands a large. The Ventral medium was too narrow, but the large is a perfect fit and doesnt appear big on my head. I would best compare the sizing to Kask helmets after trying both on.

Reviewed 9/9/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
POC helmet
by Andy
Florids

I have had a POC helmet in the past and for the new aero dynamic one on sale at your site. I purchased it and love it. Definitely recommend as a high caliber and safe helmet.

Reviewed 12/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet, worth the price
by Ukexpat
Cycling Enthusiast
Wilmington, DE
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Reposting review which originally showed up as anonymous

I bought the Ventral SPIN (orange, large) to replace a three year old Octal MIPS (also orange, large) that was damaged in a minor (and rather embarrassing) crash. I have not experienced any issues with the fit compared to the older helmet - fits just as well even over a Headsweats. The old helmet was well ventilated, but this one is even better. I really like the high visibility (but the old helmet had clearly faded a bit in the sun as the new one is much more orange). No complaints at all.

Reviewed 7/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
POC Ventral Review
by Anonymous
Daily Commuter
Claremont Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great helmet. Comfortable, light and looks good.

Reviewed 11/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet
by Christopher
San Diego

Very happy and pleased with this helmet, comfortable and aero dynamic...definitely worth the purchase

Reviewed 11/5/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet
by Christopher
San Diego

Very happy and pleased with this helmet, comfortable and aero dynamic...definitely worth the purchase

Reviewed 10/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A great fit!
by Roadaddict
Cycling Enthusiast
Fresno,Ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My first encounter with POC headwear. Now wish I had two more of them. Besides the awesome ventilation aspects, the padding design within the helmet doesnt leave a dent in your forehead after a three hour ride. Go for it!

Reviewed 9/10/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good helmet for narrow heads
by otoman
Competitive Racer
Nashville
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet checks a lot of boxes aero, MIPSSpin, high scoring on helmet safety tests, well ventilated. I've used it on several hot, humid rides and never felt it was underventilated. I have a long narrow head and it fits me well. Other helmets that have fit me well are Lazer GenesisZ1, Kask Protone. GiroBell fit me terribly, made for round, bowling ball-like heads.

The straps are interesting - you can't really adjust the length under your ears but you can adjust the foreaft position of the junction. For me the straps were low enough but in order to get the angle of the helmet on my head correct, the front strap is positioned further forward on my face than most other helmets. Not bad, just different.

Very comfortable, would buy again. I hope not to need to for years.

Reviewed 8/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it
by Vitaliy
Los Angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Light, comfortable, aero and looks good in my opinion.

Newer version fixed short straps issue, so now it fits like it should. Wear a cap or you might get sunburned, ventilation openings are quite large.

One downside tho, insects get into the helmet on fast descents

Reviewed 4/5/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit and light weight
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
Portsmouth NH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Well made with comfortable fit and strap. Plenty of ventilation. I recommend using a scull cap to keep sun off your head since vent holes are large.

Reviewed 9/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great
by Josh
Hatfield, Pa
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This fits true to the size chart and is extremely comfy!

Reviewed 9/14/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
POC helmet is great for the hot weather we are dealing with, the bright colors are easily seen
by Gregory booth
huntsville,ut
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I appreciate the venting, and the bright color

Reviewed 7/19/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Helmet
by Robert - Whidbey
Cycling Enthusiast
Whidbey Island, WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the POC Ventral spin for a few months and have been very pleased. I bought the POC for the safety features while being light aero. I have found the fit to be perfect and very comfortable. It has so far surpassed my hight expectations.

Reviewed 7/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
THIS IS THE ONE
by Thomas David
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

AFTER WATCHING A FACTORY TOUR AND REVIEW OF POC ON THE GLOBAL CYCLING NETWORK GCN ...I WAS SOLD. I'VE WORN SKI HELMETS, MOTOCYCLE HELMETS, AND BIKE HELMET FROM LEATHER TO BRANCALE, TO GIRO AND BELL BUT THIS ONE...THIS ONE IS THE ONE!!! IT INCREDIBLY LIGHT (DON'T EVEN KNOW IT'S ON MY HEAD) THE CHIN STRAPS ADJUST EASILY TO AVOID EAR CRUNCH .. AND REALLY YOU CAN FORGET IT'S ON .. . MY ONLY GRIP, WHEN I LOOK IN THE MIRROR IT'S HUGE LIKE A WATERMELON ON MY HEAD..BUT GET OVER IT .. IF IT DOES WHAT IT IS SUPPOSE TO DO IN A CRASH I'M HAPPY TO LIVE WITH THAT...

Reviewed 6/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page