X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
POC Ventral Air SPIN Road Helmet

POCVentral Air SPIN Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(29 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(4)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(86%)
(14%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Happy Helmet Head
by Anonymous
Los Angeles

Helmet looks great on and off. Feels aero.

Frontal vents allow sunglasses to rest. That's it for now. Luckily, i have not had to use it.

Reviewed 10/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
POC Ventral Air SPIN (White/White)
by Jon Tate
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN

This POC helmet fits a bit differently than the helmet I replaced, so the first longish ride was a little uncomfortable as I got a headache from the pressure it put on my forehead (I believe). It just took a little bit of adjustment in forward tilt of it on my head. I don't know why that wasn't intuitive or why it didn't feel natural for me to wear it that way, but it seems to have worked itself out. The shape of the helmet seems to be a bit more round than oval, so this might explain the different feeling of it. Anyway, all is well now and I have completed a handful of centuries wearing the POC Ventral Air SPIN with no problems whatsoever.

The venting is absolutely noticeably cooler. Tennessee summers are brutally hot/humid - like being zipped up in a wet sleeping bag in the blazing sun with hot moist cotton shoved up your nose - truly, it sucks here from mid June to September. I noticed the difference in ventilation to my noggin' immediately when I hit ~20mph or so. It was wonderful.

I got the pure white on white and it really stands out from a visibility aspect. I think it looks sharp and with the fit characteristics figured out now I can wear a cap underneath it on colder mornings this fall/winter. I'm very pleased with this helmet.

Reviewed 9/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Small Head/Great Fit
by OMS
Spokane

It has been difficult to find Helmets over the last 40 years that fit my Pin Head, and look tasteful when riding. POC has done a terrific job in both categories. The ventilation is fantastic! I definitely recommend this Helmet!

Reviewed 10/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great, light, road helmet with comfortable protection.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Detroit, Michigan

I purchased a number of helmets this spring and ended up sticking with this one. By far the best ventilation option that I tried while still offering a comfortable amount of critical area protection.

Reviewed 9/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, comfortable, and cool. Did I mention cool?
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Freeport, ME

Nice fit straight out of the box. Light and comfortable, but the real key is the cooling. Never had a helmet that had this type of airflow.

Reviewed 9/7/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love it!
by Fit2ride
Tulsa

It�s so light and cool I forget I�m wearing a helmet. I�ll admit that is expensive but I haven�t seen another on my rides. As long as it protects my head it�s worth it,

Reviewed 10/1/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The swiss army knife of helmets!
by JRB_RCCSEA
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

As a multi-surface rider I was looking for a helmet that could do it all (i.e. aerodynamic and vented enough for the road while durable for gravel.) That said, I love how POC has thought through various design elements to make it the last helmet you'll ever need. In particular I love the sunglass garage and how it holds my shades snugly in my helmet while riding. I also love the innovations that POC has made like the SPIN technology integrated into the padding of the helmet, making the helmet that much simpler and cleaner. I wish the POC Ventral Air SPIN were a bit lighter weight (it feels just a bit on the heavy side of helmets these days). I also don't love the boxy look of the front, but guess I'll get used to that because so far, this helmet is great!

Reviewed 8/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Helmut ever!
by gwvbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Stowe VT

This is the best fitting Helmet I have ever used. It does not move even if not strapped up. It is cool, lightweight and very comfortable. BEST HELMET FOR BIKING EVER!!!!

Reviewed 9/17/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable Great Ventilation
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

This helmet offers superb ventilation to get you through hot summer days. Often after rides my head is almost completely dry from the vents at work. Came with a bag to stow my helmet in which was awesome. Def should be considered among your top choices within the given price range.

Reviewed 8/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product.
by Anonymous

It is light, great design and you can feel the air through the vents on these hot days.

Reviewed 6/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light and cool
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Maryland

This helmet is relatively light (about 270g) and fits well. Size medium is comparable to medium helmets from other brands. The helmet provides great ventilation on hot days, I've worn it in temperatures over 100F and have no complaints. Also, AVIP orange is very bright and can be spotted far away in low and normal light conditions.

Reviewed 8/17/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
And I thought my previous helmet was comfortable.....
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
SE CT

Even MORE comfortable than my previous Giro Synthe, which I thought was as comfy as any helmet could possibly be. Which is actually a problem I can't feel it when it's on my head, so I have to check to make sure I have it on before starting a ride! Right out of the box, it fit me nearly perfectly, needing only a slight tightening of the chin strap. So far have done up to 90 miles in it without any aches or pains. The open design makes it easy to scratch my scalp when I get an annoying itch, no matter where.

I had a minor crash which caused a small dimple in the helmet, so I replaced it. Decided I should destroy the damaged helmet before tossing it into the trash, so I went at it with a hammer. It was gratifyingly difficult to destroy, a hatchet or a SawzAll would have been better choices!

Reviewed 8/8/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super Bright Super Comfortable Helmet
by Adam
michigan
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This helmet is amazing Ive had Several other POC helmets and this one is the best. I wear a 7 58 hat and this thing had plenty of room for my head. The thing is super breathable to.

Reviewed 4/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable with great coverage
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Chicago

I bought this helmet after a real bad crash that resulted in a concussion and lots of missing skin. I'm coming from a Giro Synthe Mips, which did its job and prevented more serious issues. I mention it as that is the helmet I'm most familiar with when comparing this one. There are a few things I like better about the POC Ventral Air Spin. It sits much lower on the head and provides better protection around the temples without adding any noticeable weight. Looking back, my face would have fared far better in that crash. It's also more comfortable, but that's probably just a personal head-shape thing. The Spin technology is nice to have, and it's integrated seamlessly. I've found that sometimes MIPS helmets have integrated the technology as an afterthought (newer helmets have resolved this) and can impede good airflow. I also really like the sunglass integration, I can throw my sunglasses up on my helmet quite easily. I don't know how people do this on other helmets with the tiniest sunglass holes. As for negatives... you'll probably not win any fashion contests, but I'm not sure I can say that about any helmet (I bought the orange one and cars do notice you... which is exactly what I wanted). Hopefully I'll never need the helmet, but I'm glad it's up there if I do.

Reviewed 7/11/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and cool
by Paul
Competitive Racer
DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bought a blaze orange version of the Ventral Air SPIN (already reviewed) and liked it enough to buy a second one in white for raceday. My second one checks all the same boxes lightweight (270g for a medium), fits nicely on my 57cm head, and ventilates well on hot days in the 90F-100F degree range...One gripe that i didn't mention in my first review is the sunglass garage. POC added grippy tape on the inside of two front vents, but the vents don't hold my sunglass arms securely-and I wear POC Do Half Blades. In you are going to stash shades in the helmet, the rear vents fix the sunglass arms more securely in place. This is a minor gripe, overall the Ventral Air Spin is a quality helmet that hopefully adds a bit of concussion protection over other non-MIPS helmets.

Reviewed 7/1/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and lightweight
by Paul
Competitive Racer
DC

The Ventral Air Spin is a nice update to the Octal. Fit is similar, but with a lower profile, better ventilation, and more robust chin strap retainer. I also appreciate that SPIN (POC's MIPS-like anti-concussion technology) is standard so you're not forced to choose between more or less brain protection...My medium size helmet fits my 58cm skull comfortably, and weighs 273g (- 2%). I bought AVIP orange for enhanced visibility on the road, and gosh is it bright-as in road cone bright orange that pops out in low light conditions...One caveat the fixed chin straps ride a tad high on the sides, and might get too close to one's earlobes for comfort. They don't bother me but could be a problem for you depending on head shape and helmet size

Reviewed 6/25/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great design supporting aero qualities as well as improving air flow within the helmet.
by Pat G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Connecticut
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Design prioritizes safety over visual presentation.

Reviewed 4/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well-ventilated helmet
by OldBikerGuy
Cycling Enthusiast
Middle Tennessee

While for winter riding, I'll stick to my Lazer ZI MIPS with the aeroshell, it took only one ride in 90-degree weather to make me a big fan of the POC Ventral Air SPIN for the opposite reason the air flow is terrific, and it feels even cooler than my Giro Aether MIPS (which is another wonderful helmet). I don't know how POC's SPIN technology stacks up against proven MIPS (and don't think the helmet lab at Virginia Tech has tested it yet), but I'm comfortable that my noggin is protected adequately. Admittedly, a good sale price prompted the purchase, but I'm glad I made it.

Reviewed 5/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light weight and fits great.
by jrdaugh
Cycling Enthusiast
Eastern Washington

Great for my bike rides, would highly recommend it.

Reviewed 8/15/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best helmet to date
by TCostello126
Twin Cities - Minneapolis St. Paul
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Outstanding venting - tremendous fit - visibility visibility visibility - top notch quality finish

Reviewed 8/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page