X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Garmin Rally Pedal Mail-In Rebate — Learn More
POC Ventral Air SPIN Road Helmet

POCVentral Air SPIN Road Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(65 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(55)
(9)
(0)
(1)
(0)
(85%)
(14%)
(0%)
(2%)
(0%)
Great Helmet
by BikesnBoards
Cycling Enthusiast
Cleveland, OH

Fit is great and stays on snuggly.

Reviewed 5/12/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
POC Raceday Helmet is new favorite helmet
by Triman3
Competitive Racer
Sacramento

My 1st POC helmet and it won't be my last. Perfect fit, cool and stylish.

Reviewed 5/6/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet with excellent airflow
by Anonymous
Salt Lake City

I live in the high desert and need good ventilation and this helmet fits the bill.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet with excellent airflow
by Anonymous
Salt Lake City

I live in the high desert and need good ventilation and this helmet fits the bill.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good looking!
by Anonymous
DC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love it. Beautiful. It's kind of a super white matte finish that's different than the others. Good ventilation for summer as well.

Reviewed 4/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good helmet, Bad Straps
by Nate
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I really like the helmet portion of this helmet. But the portion of the straps that hang below your ear are not adjustable, and they are too big for me (I don't have a small head). They catch me right on my jaw line in an uncomfortable way. For this much money, I think the straps should be adjustable in this regard.

The helmet itself is awesome, though. I bought it because I wanted a helmet that would stay cool even when climbing at very slow speeds, and this does that as well as I could have hoped!

Reviewed 9/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The swiss army knife of helmets!
by JRB_RCCSEA
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

As a multi-surface rider I was looking for a helmet that could do it all (i.e. aerodynamic and vented enough for the road while durable for gravel.) That said, I love how POC has thought through various design elements to make it the last helmet you'll ever need. In particular I love the sunglass garage and how it holds my shades snugly in my helmet while riding. I also love the innovations that POC has made like the SPIN technology integrated into the padding of the helmet, making the helmet that much simpler and cleaner. I wish the POC Ventral Air SPIN were a bit lighter weight (it feels just a bit on the heavy side of helmets these days). I also don't love the boxy look of the front, but guess I'll get used to that because so far, this helmet is great!

Reviewed 8/29/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding ventilation
by BigHill
Sacramento
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Ventilation is the best I�ve had in my 20+yrs of riding

Reviewed 8/20/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
ABOVE AVERAGE HELMET...
by MightyG
Competitive Racer
Beverly Hills, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Experienced expert level cyclist and I've worn most of the top tier helmets through the years. Purchased the POC "Ventral Air Spin" to replace my well used "Octal". Notice slight improvement in air flow with the Ventral compared to the Octal and the Ventral looks less bulky and more contemporary, if that matters to you. Oakley and Rudy Project eye shades fit relatively snug, providing you don't shake your head too much. On the negatives; the Ventral fit is smaller than the Octal. Size (M) Octal is perfect, whereas Ventral (M) is almost at max adjustment and I cannot wear a cycling cap under the Ventral, where I can easily with the Octal. Tried Ventral size (L) and way too big on my head. Rear strap location on the Ventral is terrible compared to the Octal, The strap angle is poor and causes straps to touch back of ear...they work, but not great. I don't think the newly designed POC head restraint pads are an improvement over MIPS and contribute to the fit issues. So, overall the Ventral Air Spin is decent. I'll wear it through the summer and then give it away and find something nicer.

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great helmet
by Vintage Steel
Cycling Enthusiast
Northern Minnesota

I thought about buying s POC helmet several times in the past but was put off a bit by the appearance. My son told me that POCs were great helmets & that I should give it a chance, so I bought one. Everything about the helmet - fit, ventilation, comfort, etc. are first rate. Probably the best helmet I've ever owned. I'm even starting to like the looks of the thing.

Reviewed 1/10/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helmet Runs Small
by Tony Jacang
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Using the POC sizing chart I ordered a medium. I also base this by all my other helmets that I own are medium from different manufacturers.

This helmet fits well on my head and the ventilation is great no issues there. The problem is that POC skimped on the strap lengths as the triangle around my ears does not fit and the chin strap is snug with no play at all. Another iss is that the helmet sits low on the head which great for protection but while wearing my Oakley sunglasses the helmet presses down glasses over the ear which made it extremely uncomfortable.

I wish I could return it but I used it for one hour. Actually I could not wait to get it off my head. Again I have no issues with other medium size helmets from other manufacturers.

Reviewed 5/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fit and forget it's there.
by Steve F
Saugus

Very comfortable helmet, like other reviewers I switched from the Giro Synthe, which is very good, but this one fits me better and I like the chin strap better as well. This helmet also feels a bit lighter and the large vents are very effective, I'm definitely happy with the purchase.

Reviewed 12/13/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, cool, and super bright!
by spindragon
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego, CA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride on the road about 6 days a week in sunny Southern California. This helmet is light, really well ventilated, and I feel like the AVIP orange really is very visible. Fit and adjustability are great, at least for my head shape, which is on the wide side, probably typical for asians. 3 stars for value is not particular to this helmet, I just don't see how any chunk of foam can cost this much :O

Reviewed 12/6/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Life Saved
by Steve M.
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

How do you determine the value of a helmet? A week ago my wife hit a tree rut in the street hidden in shadows. Her bike flipped out from under her and she when down-hard. She landed on the back of her head where the POC helmet wraps around better than nearly every other helmet. It buckled. It split. But the ER nurse said that the design saved her life, and the nurse was going to buy the same helmet for her daughter and herself as soon as she got home.

For me this was the best value of anything I have ever purchased for cycling. I am now waiting for the same helmet for my daughter-in-law and two grandchildren. I already purchased a replacement for my wife to use when she can start riding again.

Reviewed 2/14/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light, airy and secure
by Peter
Cycling Enthusiast
Bermuda

This is a great helmet that fits well, is comfortable and has plenty of ventilation. Currently using it for road and mountain biking. I have not found any aspect of this helmet to be lacking so far and it is now my gold standard for helmets.

Reviewed 11/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
POC rules
by SactoSomeone
Cycling Enthusiast
Sacramento
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This POC (Ventral Air) successfully checks the same boxes that had me raving about it's "lesser" sibling -- the (Octal). It's light, ventilation is good, and it's so damn comfortable. The only think keeping it from earning five stars across the board is the price, which is a bit steep, especially considering the Octal, in my opinion, is easily as good for $50 less.

My bottom line, having tried Giro, Bell, Kask, Bontrager helmets, I'd rate both of my POCs better than the whole lot of them.

Reviewed 12/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good fit and finish
by Anonymous

Solid summer helmet, nice fit and dial adjustment.

Reviewed 10/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
POC Ventral Air SPIN (White/White)
by Jon Tate
Daily Commuter
Nashville, TN

This POC helmet fits a bit differently than the helmet I replaced, so the first longish ride was a little uncomfortable as I got a headache from the pressure it put on my forehead (I believe). It just took a little bit of adjustment in forward tilt of it on my head. I don't know why that wasn't intuitive or why it didn't feel natural for me to wear it that way, but it seems to have worked itself out. The shape of the helmet seems to be a bit more round than oval, so this might explain the different feeling of it. Anyway, all is well now and I have completed a handful of centuries wearing the POC Ventral Air SPIN with no problems whatsoever.

The venting is absolutely noticeably cooler. Tennessee summers are brutally hot/humid - like being zipped up in a wet sleeping bag in the blazing sun with hot moist cotton shoved up your nose - truly, it sucks here from mid June to September. I noticed the difference in ventilation to my noggin' immediately when I hit ~20mph or so. It was wonderful.

I got the pure white on white and it really stands out from a visibility aspect. I think it looks sharp and with the fit characteristics figured out now I can wear a cap underneath it on colder mornings this fall/winter. I'm very pleased with this helmet.

Reviewed 9/30/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great fit, love the air flow and different from the majors brands.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Omaha, NE
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought this helmet because I wanted something different. Comes in a variety of colors so you can have some fun with that. Reviews were very positive on safety and protection. It fit so well a bought another one in a different color. Make sure you measure before you order. I usually where a medium in other brands but need a large in POC. Fit great!

Reviewed 9/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding comfort and ventilation.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

This is the most comfortable helmet I've owned.

Reviewed 1/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page