Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Planet Bike SpeedEZ XL Fenders

Planet BikeSpeedEZ XL Fenders(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(4)
(3)
(1)
(0)
(0)
(50%)
(38%)
(13%)
(0%)
(0%)
FABULOUS FOR CX BIKES WITHOUT FENDER MOUNTS
by foxie
Cycling Enthusiast
PDX

I love these fenders - the 45mm fit perfectly on my cx race bike to turn it into a commuter. It's easy to extend them a bit in the back by attaching a piece of flexible plastic folder from office depot.

Reviewed 10/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
With minor adjustments these portable fenders do the job
by Bill R
Casual Cyclist
San Jose, CA

These good looking pair of fenders keep the spray off your face and stripe off your back.

Installation was moderately easy and removal quick.

The picture of the front fender shows a small bracket for stabilizing fender, but was not included.

However I would still recommend this portable pair of fenders for in-climate weather bicycle rider.

Reviewed 4/28/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
And they keep you dry.
by NYC Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Yep, nicely design, very light, little bit of a pain to place them in the proper position but I also blame that on that fact that my tires are way bigger that the ones this fenders are designed for, I was expecting that to happen as I'm planning to get thiner tires once the current ones worn out.

Reviewed 11/11/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent for bikes without lugseyebolts
by Irishguy
Cycling Enthusiast
Hudson Valley, NY
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

These were perfect for my touring bike (a Sakkit) that didn't have the crown eyebolts required for traditional fenders (mudguards). The fender stays attach to the forks chainstays using rubber clamps, these are very strong and robust, so you needn't worry about them coming loose. The fenders are lightweight but strong, and the installation process is very easy - it took me probably no more than ten minutes to attach the set of two.

How did they hold up? Well, they performed fine - I shipped my bike in a cardboard box to Austria, cycled into Switzerland and France, over mountain passes, took the bike on a few train trips, and flew back from Nice to New York, again with the bike in a box. The fenders were undamaged and still as strongly attached as when I first installed them. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 9/5/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fenders are better than road slime up your back
by dougster
Cycling Enthusiast
salt lake city - Ut
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have rode with these fenders for two months until the snow came. I did not get into any real rain to see the extent that these fenders would block the thrown water and spray. The added weight is noticeable but not extreme. Any fender adds mass to your ride. I use this bike mainly for the work commute each day while its not snowing so some weight is ok.

Mounting these fenders is not a bad task. I had no problem with the front fender install. The rear fender took me a while to finesse it into the frame and eliminate the tire rub. I had to install a rope from the brake mount to the fender to raise it up enough to stop tire rub. Some adj could be done by tweeking the stays, but for my frame it was not enough. I do have some rattle on rough roads but its OK. The time to mount the fenders the first time was about 45 min. I do like these fenders so far. Removing them should be about a 5 to 7 min process and same to reinstall them. I like them better than the older sets of fenders I have owned, different brands. This is a good option if your frame does not have mounting points.

Reviewed 12/31/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keeps the rain off my backside.
by Jorsh
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These installed quickly and have great coverage over the tires. They're also sturdy and don't bounce around noticeably when I hit the bumps in the road.

I can't speak about how well they keep the water from spraying up and hitting the riders behind me, but they do a great job keeping me protected from road spray as long as I'm not riding through the deepest of puddles.

Good pair of fenders.

Reviewed 12/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work well, easy to install, a little difficult to adjust
by dcgrmhan
Casual Cyclist
CA
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

While they are easy enough to install, I had to play around to get them to mount properly without interference on my Mtn. bike. Plus they rub at times when going over bumps. Overall, for the price they are above average and they do their intended job.

Reviewed 4/3/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
full fendered and lovin' it
by AB
Competitive Racer
Camas WA
14 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

I originally bought the SKS Race Blades, but needed more coverage and a better fit. These obviously take more time to mount, but they reward you with better coverage and greater flexibility. Mounting to my Ridley CX bike was about a 2-3 beer job, and all the parts were of solid quality. Adjustability is great- I can run race tires or slide the fender out for 700x35 CX tires and still have enough clearance. And while I'm all about keeping used ketchup bottles out of the landfill, I happen to like the fact that the rear fender comes down far enough to eliminate the need for a ghetto fab buddy flap.

Reviewed 2/25/2011
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.