X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Pearl Izumi AmFIB Gel Glove

Pearl IzumiAmFIB Gel Glove(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(11 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(3)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(55%)
(27%)
(18%)
(0%)
(0%)
Good to a degree
by Cernunnos
NYC

I've had these gloves for about two weeks now. They fit well if not snuggly and allow me to retain a good feel for the handle bars and brake levers. I've used them to commute to work, about 40 minutes each way and in 30deg weather my fingers still got cold-not painful numbing cold mind you, but frosty nonetheless. I normally wear large but sized up to XL in this model and I'm glad I did, because they fit tightly. The Velcro strap on the cuff is undersized and does little to seal or secure them. Perhaps wearing a thin wool liner will improve their performance.

Reviewed 2/1/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Warm glove, needs more padding
by nhmtnbkr
Cycling Enthusiast
Nashua, NH
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

For the life of me, I don't understand why Pearl Izumi redesigned this glove and put the padding where it now sits. The previous model had pretty good gel padding along the portions L-shaped bottom portion of the hand that go numb from successive impact and vibration, particularly the ulnar nerve region.

For whatever bizarre reason they changed it and moved the padding to the middle of the palm, which admittedly works to a nominal degree for mountain biking, but not for road cycling where you're resting on that area of the hand for extended periods and getting a lot of impact vibration. Found out that after about 25 miles of use the numbness kicks in big time. Seriously PI,please go back to the previous design!

The other small nit I have about these over the previous model, is the inner lining is now a floating one, so it has an annoying habit of coming out when the lining is sweaty and you remove the gloves. Wish they'd kept the tacked lining of the previous model.

On the plus side, despite being someone whose hands and feet run cold after having frostbite 30 years ago, these gloves have kept my hands warm down to the 20's without issue, even on blustery days. They're not particularly breathable, but I can live with that in order to have warm hands.

Reviewed 1/23/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fits like a (cycling) glove
by Jim
Issaquah, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Just use these on a 50 mile ride that started with temps down to 30'F and hit mid 40's byvthe end. Hands were okay early but cold, but felt more of a circulation issue. Was able to get hands warmed up as i got warmer. Finger tips are a bit bulky, perhaps long for my hands (as with all of my gloves, including several Pearl Izumi, i ordered a large size). The insulated gauntlet was a bit of a challenge to tuck in jacket sleeves or fit around jacket sleeves as the both seems to be the exact same diameter and adjustment. Ended up putting gloves over sleeves which is fine for a dry day but would not work for a rainy day, so keep that in mind if your rainy day jacket has "tight" sleeve openings.

Reviewed 1/10/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Keep getting better
by George
Daily Commuter
St. Louis, MO

I have used the PW AmFIB gloves in its different reincarnation since 2007 or 2008 and every generation is better than the previous one. This one is seriously warm and can take you down to ~ 20F. Obviously, people are different and some may not like it below 30F while others will have no problem using it in much lower temperatures.

It's not water proof, but offers surprising degree of water resistance. Been when it's wet, it is still warm

It does what is says it will.

On top of all that, when on sale they are close to 50$. You cannot beat such a price for such gloves

Reviewed 1/3/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent cold-weather cycling glove
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Catonsville, MD

This glove does a nice job keeping my hands warm on rides in very cold weather (below 30 degrees F). I recently used them on an 8 mile ride at 22 degrees and my hands stayed very warm. My only problem with these is that they're very bulky, so it makes it tough to shift my Shimano 105 system. Overall though I'm really happy with them.

Reviewed 4/26/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very light and warm, good into the low 20s
by AdamW
Cycling Enthusiast
Reno, NV

My second pair of heavier PI gloves in the last 8 years. They are very light but lofty and have good wind resistance and are warm. I wear them if my ride starts in the low-mid 20s (I don't really want to or need to ride below that). My hands tend to get cold so I need heavier gloves when it's cold but I will always take along a lighter pair for later in the ride. I've probably got 100 miles with these.

Reviewed 3/17/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Warm Glove
by Art
Cycling Enthusiast
central Oregon

Glove has a great paring of features. Warm enough for me except on the coldest days, then I go thicker.

Reviewed 7/18/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good performing gloves
by JC
Boise

Took these out for a 30 mile ride at 32 degrees and they were very comfortable. Little difficult to put back on if you take them off mid ride due to built in liner. Happy with the purchase.

Reviewed 2/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well made and designed gloves. Comfortable warm with good grip.
by Chainwhip
Virginia

Really like these cold weather cycling gloves. They have room to slide a hand warmer pack inside glove for brutal cold rides.

Reviewed 1/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent dexterity and warmth
by Thomas
Des Moines
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

My ten year old pair of AmFib five finger gloves wearing out so.... This iteration is sleeker, fits better, and is more comfortable the venerable pair they replaced.

Reviewed 12/31/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
by Joel Cohn
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Well made. Comfortable and warm.

Reviewed 2/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.