Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Park Tool CM-5.2 Chain Cleaner

Park ToolCM-5.2 Chain Cleaner(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(24 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(12)
(8)
(3)
(0)
(1)
(50%)
(33%)
(13%)
(0%)
(4%)
Works pretty good
by Jonathan
San Francisco

Not perfect like removing the chain but does an adequate job. Takes a little fiddling so the chain does not come off the bike- not as easy as the directions say- but does the job and worth the $. May work better with a bike in a stand instead of just on the ground trying to turn the crank backward. Well built as well. Not flimsy

Reviewed 7/27/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Replacement for older model
by CaptainPico
Cycling Enthusiast
Pico Rivera, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Once I watched a YouTube video produced by Park Tool, I was able to use my previous chain cleaner very effectively. My old one lasted for many years but it was starting to show its age. I bought this new version of it which has a deeper reservoir and seems to use more fluid. The latching mechanism is different from the one pictured (old version), but works just fine. The old version that flipped up from the sides would fall off from the bottom over time, but were still usable. I hope the new design that clamps from the handle side will stay attached longer. I find I spend a good amount of time cleaning my chain, but in the end it comes out looking like new and after lubrication smooth as silk. Quality components require regular maintenance to ensure longevity.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Chain Cleaner sparkling clean results
by PDX crusher
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland

This is my 3rd CM-5.2 cleaner, I lost my first one and my second was thrown away by my mother in law while she was cleaning. Totally sucks but I keep on going back to this. I wanted to get the Muc-Off one but the this one has a better reservoir for the cleaner and the parts are easily purchased in any bike store in the US for when you need a new sponge or rollers.

Reviewed 9/11/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Strips chain of grime (make sure to relube!)
by Cyclehaven9w

This chain cleaner is pretty great, would work even better with their recommended cleaner as opposed to warm water and soap.

Single complaint is that I find myself going back to sink to empty and refill several times. This may not be an issue with the proper cleaning fluid.

In the end, worth it. Neat way to get rid of grime built up on your chain. Be sure to relube after!

Reviewed 8/24/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best way to keep your chain working like new
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, Texas

I have been using a rag with degreaser for years to clean my chain. I never thought this tool would work until I tried. Could not be happier. Best way to clean a chain. Just a few seconds and it looks like new again.

Reviewed 8/31/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Clamps WILL Break
by MTS
Cycling Enthusiast
Sunny Southern California
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This is my second one of these. See how this has that 5.2 version number. I also had the 5.1. This thing works great but the old one had a problem with the clamps that hold the unit together. They eventually came off, which made things difficult but not impossible to keep the unit together. Finally it wouldn't keep together so I bought this new, updated version and whaddya know? The clamps have changed. Yay! I was very happy to see that Park decided to redesign the troublesome clamps. Problem is, after even fewer uses than my previous unit the clamps failed again! That's it! I'm done with Park's chain cleaner. I now have one by Bike Hand so we'll see how that works out.

Reviewed 7/14/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best way to clean your chain
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Guadalajara, Mexico

The best way to clean your chain

Reviewed 2/16/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
this chain cleaner is way better than the first. whata job it does the best thank you.
by eugenebenson964Nothin to dislike
Cycling Enthusiast
p.a

Nothing to dislike, just follow directions that simple.

Reviewed 5/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
MR.CLEAN
by johnnycoolbreeze
Cycling Enthusiast
new yawk

its a choice do the maintenance or buy the parts. nobody wants to spend time cleaning their chain, however increased speed is hard to resist! these products are the simplest way to clean a chain on the bike . i have a finish line chain cleaner that is at least 8 years old .cant say this is as good yet,time will tell cycle on!!

Reviewed 2/12/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A very clever gadget that gets it all.
by MarkD
Central California
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I have used the Park Tool cm-5 chain cleaner several times now and once you get the hang of the device it meets it claims. A little tricky keeping the chain from jumping all over the cassette, but once I was able to balance the tool and let it do the work the finished product was a sparkling chain. Bravo on the product!

Reviewed 10/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does what it is designed to do. Seems like it will last a long time if you care for it.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

Like the fact that you can replace the wheels. Kinda pricey for what it is.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Way To Clean A Chain
by Jim
Cycling Enthusiast
Glen Flora,Tx
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

this thing works great.easy and clean(no cleaner or gunk on you or the bike)

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised, easy to clean and use.
by Anonymous
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I would recommend this tool even though I use Whipperman connectors I still use this for a quick clean after every other ride.

Reviewed 6/24/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works...bring extra shop towels.
by A1A Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
Delray Beach, FL
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I've been using this tool for years and found that it works best if the chain is on the small chainring and a cog close to the middle of the cassette...rotate the chain a few times before you enclose the chain with the cleaner to ensure everything will run smoothly. Don't spin the crank too fast when cleaning as this will drag out the cleaning fluid before the wiping sponge can strip the excess fluid and keep it retained within the cleaner. But, you've still going to have fluid on the ground so put a plastic shopping bag on the ground first and cover it with 2 or 3 layers of newspaper or shop towels. (Fluid will soak through the newspaper so don't forget the plastic bag underneath or you'll have stain on the garage floor.) Nice thing about this tool is that you can but a brushsponge replacement kit.

Reviewed 3/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Terrific!
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This product works great. It strips the chain of all grease and debris in seconds and is easy to use. Super happy I bought it. I won't be breaking my chain and using a parts washer anytime soon again. I just got it though, so can't attest to the durability.

Reviewed 3/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Clean hands, less mess
by Bikinchs
Cycling Enthusiast
Santa Rosa CA

The park tool chain cleaner makes cleaning my chain easier and my hands stay cleaner too

Reviewed 3/7/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well, breaks often.
by greg
Competitive Racer
pompano beach, fl

Does a wonderful job of cleaning the chain, but not nearly durable enough for taking care of even a few bikes. The closing clamps will break within 10 uses every time. This is my 4th one. Cleans great, I just wish it worked better.

Reviewed 3/1/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
BEST.CHAIN CLEANER. EVER.
by cyclingjax32
Cycling Enthusiast
Jacksonville FL
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Why use a rag when you can have this Park Tool CM-5 chain cleaner!

This is hands down the best way to clean and tune a chain. Paired with the Park Chain Cleaner fluid, this is the best. The only complicated thing is figuring out where to gear the bike to where the chain doesn't slip off, but once you get that down, it's great!!!

Reviewed 1/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Clean your chain
by gmwemr
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have used this tool on both my road bike and my tandem (lots of chain) and it worked very well. It was easy to set up and did a really great job.

Reviewed 11/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works as advertised
by bessonn
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

The chain cleaner is a little clunky to use, but it gets the job done. Using a small amount of citrus cleaner diluted with water will pull out dirt and grease.

Reviewed 11/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page