X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Panaracer GravelKing 700c Tire

PanaracerGravelKing 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(89 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(58)
(14)
(7)
(7)
(3)
(65%)
(16%)
(8%)
(8%)
(3%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by Anonymous

Just what I was looking for
by Anonymous
Florida West Coast

I wanted a smooth rolling wide (35mm) tire for my gravel Bike for road riding.. These tires have jus the right amount of tread and seem fast to me for a wide tire. We get a lot of shell, etc on the roads and I would like a gator skin equivalent but�I have had a few punctures and the sealant (Stan�s) has worked each time.

Reviewed 12/25/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by flatfishfool

punctures a lot, only use it if you are tubeless
by flatfishfool
Cycling Enthusiast
Alaska
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I previously reviewed this tire giving it low ratings. I have returned for an update and to echo others. When I rode this with tubes, after a few hundred miles it became unrideable. I would get 2-3 flats per ride, mostly in the rear but sometimes front also. After becoming a patching expert for awhile I took them off and threw them away. A friend also had them but ran them tubeless and he said they were fine. So I thought I might have had a bad batch. Since I otherwise love the slick and 38 width and couldn't find a good alternative, I bought them again to run tubeless. Tubeless they are great but only because the slime plugs the holes. I counted 24 punctures in my rear tire yesterday after 400 miles.

Reviewed 6/28/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great All Around Tire
by Anonymous
Bedford, TX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Bought a set for my Specialized Sirrus. I wanted something that was wider and more supple. Im heavy and I wanted to ride some light gravel trails and not confined just to the road or smooth trails. These tires roll real well and give a lot of cushion without feeling sluggish. Ridden over some edgy gravel and no punctured. Great all around tire and it helped transform my fitness bike into a more versatile machine.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Tough tire for toigh times
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
western MD
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are used for riding on the C&O Canal Towpath. Don't need knobbier tires for this but do need tires that can handle gravel, thorns, small fallen branches, etc. These tires are great for this varied surface plus they give one confidence that flats won't be very likely.

Reviewed 6/14/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jay Eff

Very good tire- rim or disc
by Jay Eff
East coast

Only about 55 miles in this tire so far. Very good first impressions. Used for mixed terrain routes on my road bike. Supple, fast, and no punctures. Good control through the gravel and loose substrate. Fit inside my rim breaks.

Reviewed 5/2/2022
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Chris

Great Tire
by Chris
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've been running this tire for three months, about 700 miles for commuting. They've had great grip in all kinds of weather. I just rotated the rear to the front since the rear was showing wear. I use my bike for commuting, and have two ortlieb gravel panniers on the rear with varying weights from time to time, so the wear is not unreasonable. Like others, I've had trouble getting the bead set and also since this is my first set of road tubeless tires, have had some flats from glassdebris which makes running tubeless a bit of a tricky proposition for reliability.

Reviewed 6/24/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

All good so far
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First time trying these on a road bike, in 28c. So far after around 500 miles of riding, I'm happy with the performance and durability. It works well on paved roads, rolls well, and are quite OK on some rougher surfaces as well. They look pretty good too!

Reviewed 2/25/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Ed

Rides smooth, but punctures very easily
by Ed
Competitive Racer
Albany, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I rode these at the belgian waffle ride in 2017. Tire performed well during that event, but only a few rides later it punctured while riding in the rain. I know punctures are something that just happens and that when the roads are wet, you're more likely to pickup a piece of glass. But upon close inspection, it is obvious the tire is too thin. I love how these ride, but will get something different for my next BWR ride. I rode them with tubes, but have now gone tubeless. I will try something different next go around.

Reviewed 2/11/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by RickF

The ultimate in suppleness, weight, and cost
by RickF
Cycling Enthusiast
Dayton, Nevada

This is my 3rd set of Panaracer tires. I do most of my riding on road with the occasional jaunt down a lonely gravel road. These tires are perfect for my purpose.

Reviewed 3/3/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nick_H

Almost a magic carpet ride but flat easily
by Nick_H
Competitive Racer
Los Angeles, CA
2 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I bought 700x32. The tires are fast and super comfy, especially when compared to the Gatorskins I took off. The first few times I used them they put a massive smile on my face. Only problem is they are prone to flats, especially when they wear. With gatorskins I only flatted maybe about once year max with commuting everyday and could run the tires forever. But with the Gravelking, I got 5 flats in about 6 weeks after I'd had the tires about 6months, all in the rear. It was showing signs of wear but it wasn't worn out. I took the rear off and put my old gatorskin, which must have 7k miles on it and it is still going strong. No flats since.

Reviewed 12/3/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DB

Nice ride, offers confidence on lousy NYC streets.
by DB
Cycling Enthusiast
NYC

I bought these thinking they would be durable and they seem to be. Although I don't crush gravel, they offer confidence on really lousy NYC streets. They are a lot more comfortable than my previous Mavic clinchers. I like the size, which is listed as 26mm, but may be more like a thinner 28mm. I didn't think I had clearance for 28mm tires so these worked out well. So far, a few hundred miles and no cuts, nicks or bruises. The only rub is the very tight fit. Hopefully they will stretch after a bit of time and I can stop carrying tire levers.

Reviewed 9/17/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Trevor McDonald

Super tire
by Trevor McDonald
Wichita

So happy with these tires. Such a big deference going tubeless and from 35s to 38s. There is a huge difference cornering and on the open road it feels much softer. On the gravel I cant say enough about these tires They seem to be holding up everything that I can throw at them. Ive only put about 400 miles on the set since getting them but I believe that theyre going to be the tire for me.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by kj2169

Perfect when running tubeless
by kj2169
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I have these in the 32mm, and I've really enjoyed the nice ride on our post-apocalyptic roads here in Chicago as well as on gravel (crushed limestone). I have had one pinch-flat after hitting a massive pothole that would have crippled any tire running a tube.

I now have them set up tubeless on a pair of HED Ardennes Plus, and they are fantastic. They mounted quite easily, and they've held air nicely (used Stan's sealant with Stan's valves). I couldn't find much information on running these (the non-SK Gravel Kings) tubeless, but I've now put 850 miles on them tubeless, and they've been nothing but great.

Reviewed 9/6/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Edward Grey

great tires
by Edward Grey
Cycling Enthusiast
Indianapolis, in
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Great fires, my bike came with 700-38c Schwalbe Road Plus commuting style tires. They felt like molasses and had a ton of rolling resistance. They felt ok on corners but i never wanted to take anything too tight, especially as speed at speed. not great traction in dirt, they got squirmy fast. I got these in 700x32c and they feel great. they corner much better, and roll sooooo much better. i have not had to take them through dirt yet but they feel so much better already. the only downside is it took me about 2 hours, tire levers, and one pinched tube to get them on. they are a TIGHT fit. great tires, I will buy again.

Reviewed 7/28/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rrnsd

Durable tire that won't slow you down
by rrnsd
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
0 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Great tire, was able to buy a few pairs on sale around $37 each. No complaints

Reviewed 6/22/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by durishange

Good Tire
by durishange
Pittsburgh, PA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like the tires. They roll nicely. I use them on commutes and training rides. Any flats have occurred because I failed to inflate fully. That's my fault, not the tires. I've ridden on some rail trail, road and some service roads. I would repurchase.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Clay

Not a King for Portland Winter Commuting
by Clay
Daily Commuter
Portland, OR
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I decided to try the Gravel Kings after using Conti 4 Season, Panaracer Pasella, and a couple of others. Initially I loved them. They have a nice feel and I felt confident descending the hill from work on wet roads. I made the mistake of saying I haven't had a flat yet. Well, then there was the harsher than normal winter here in Portland and the city of Portland doing a piss poor job of keeping the streetspaths clean. I had 3 flats in a week. The tire is littered with cuts. It may be a Gravel King but not a Portland winter commuting King. That said, I will probably get another set for spring and summer commutingriding because I do love the way they ride.

Reviewed 4/1/2017
TriSports.com Comments
Thanks for the review Clay, the roads this winter in Portland were harsh on most tires.
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Adam

Smooth riding on rugged roads
by Adam
Portland OR
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

With a 127 TPI casing the Gravel King is a supple ride. Just a little wider so you can run a lower pressure and quite puncture resistant.

Reviewed 2/3/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Solid tire for road to gravel, low grip
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle, WA
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

The 700x28 has been a good tire for both the pavement and graveldirt road rides. The tire is ideal for gravel grinders and gran fondos that feature lots of pavement with smooth dirtgravel mixed in. The tire doesn't have enough volume or tread to inspire riding with abandon on sharp large gravelcobblespall roads, where you really want something bigger and beefier. It's a great tire for cruising around town in the winter too, and I really haven't noticed it being a lot slower than the slick 25's on my other road bike.

Reviewed 12/22/2016
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great tire! Good puncture strength and low rolling resistance.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Cumberland MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I am using this tire on my road bike. It is a great tire for the debris on the road services in the winter and does well on find gravel surfaces like the GAP Trail. No bro comfortable on dirt but obviously it is not meant for that service.

Reviewed 3/23/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Next Page