CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
OTTOLOCK Cinch Lock

OTTOLOCKCinch Lock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(17)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(54%)
(33%)
(10%)
(2%)
(2%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by drkayaker

Handy Lock
by drkayaker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana

Good lock fits in jersey back pocket easy and isnt that heavy. I carry it with me just in case I have to run a store or house for a few minutes, which isnt that much. I guess it gives me some peace of mind.

Reviewed 11/28/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nobrakes

lightweight and secure
by Nobrakes
Portland, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nobrakes

lightweight and secure
by Nobrakes
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DoctorJ

A good caf lock for your road bike that you can carry in your jersey pocket.
by DoctorJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The lock is relatively light and you can take it on your road bike trips. The width is a good size. The length is a bit short so not always easy to lock your bike to a post. I would,consider getting the longer length option, if the bulk and weight are not going to be an issue. The combo lock is great since you dont have to worry about a key.

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Brian

Easy light security device
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was tired of carrying my heavier U-lock for brew rides so got this as a lightweight thief deterrent device to avoid those ratty opportunist. Obviously not meant for overnight street lockups but the lightness for a quick pint or two is enough reassurance for that short time period.

Reviewed 2/12/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MPLSRider

Super Handy Lock
by MPLSRider
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Perfect for stopping for lunch, or coffee, or beer. I also use it to lock my bike to the car rack. It's only good for short stops, but the majority of the time it's what I need in a lock.

Reviewed 10/18/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jeff

Love the Ottolock!
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
San Mateo, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After doing quite a lot a research I decided to purchase the Ottolock and its turned out to be a great buy. But, its important to understand that all locks can be defeated and this lock in not intended to prevent thefts in a high crime area. It is intended to be used for quick mid ride stops and does it perfectly. If this is your intended use, go for it you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by 2K

Great Lock
by 2K
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago Suburb
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I first got the short lock. Does not provide enough length to go around a bike part an a city light pole or tree. It will lock a tire in a rack or just a tire. So I ordered the middle length. I don't have a problem have two to choose from. The best thing about this lock is how light weight it is. A jersey pocket or even a cargo short pocket. Never know it's there. I have the big heavy duties when needed, but this is now my go to lock.

Reviewed 8/21/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bob

Great security for a quick stop to leeave your mind at ease.
by Bob
Casual Cyclist
Central NJ
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I like the size and the look of it. What I dislike is It does look to a stranger that it would be easy to cut , which it really isnt and if they attempt to do so it will really mess it up.

Reviewed 8/9/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Solo rider
by Anonymous
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I usually ride alone so I bought this to secure my bike for quick stops. The 18 inch lock is way too short to secure my bike to just about everything. It does work when you can find something though. Kind of pricey for a lock that may not work.

Reviewed 7/26/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by JMoss

Kinda pricey, but very useful
by JMoss
Daily Commuter
Germantown, MD
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the Ottolock as a backup for when I'm between places where I have a U-Lock stored. It's super light and compact. Can fit in a jersey pocket. I went for the 30, and it's about right. It can reach where a U-lock can, but also where a cable lock can. I've used it during the apres ride beer part of an event, and also to lock my bike to the inside of my car overnight (locked through the rear seat latches when the seat is down). I'm a bit surprised at the cost, but the utility seems worth it.

Reviewed 7/21/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Cathy

Lightweight security
by Cathy
Cycling Enthusiast
Simi Valley, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I bought the Ottolock 30 model to take on overnight bike tours when weight is at premium. My old cable lock worked fine, but it was heavy and took up a fair amount of space. The Ottolock is very lightweight and I can store it just about anywhere where it can be threaded through some straps. The 30 length is just long enough to lock 2 bikes together...6 more inches would have been nice, but it works. Do be mindful of the locking mechanism. Holding down the button while both unlocking and locking is required, which is different from the typical combo lock. For me, this is a big improvement over a cable lock. I would not carry a U-lock just because of the weight.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DE

Good lock for quick use, ease of carrying around
by DE
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Got this for quick trips into a coffee shop or store where the bike won't be left for long, plus to use as the occasional second lock to secure a wheel. You can run it from your top tube to down tube without it getting in the way or scratching the frame, so it's easy to carry and is light. My main problem with it and the reason it gets just three stars is that the combination will not change. After several attempts following the instructions, I gave it to a much smarter person, and she also could not get it to work. So we're stuck with the default, which is just barely acceptable for the intended purpose.

Reviewed 6/25/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Barry

great lock
by Barry
CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I love this thing. The reasons for the four star rating are price, it is expensive, good value but expensive, the leanth is just barely long enough for one bike, I wish it had a longer combination, 3 digits is not the most secure. But I still highly recomend this lovk

Reviewed 6/16/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Aikidoka

It was stiff when I first started using but after a few uses it is great. Light, flexible and tough. This means it actually gets used.
by Aikidoka
Cycling Enthusiast
Vero Beach, FL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

As in the title, it was stiff at first and took a couple of tries to figure out how to set the combo number. After than it works great. I have a large set of bolt cutters but haven't wanted to try it out. I think smaller bolt cutters will barely scratch it. It should be a good deterrent for the casual and maybe even the professional thief.

Reviewed 5/21/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by dDavid

Failed on 4th use. And far too easy to cut. -(
by dDavid
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
7 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

I was excited to have a latte lock to slip in the small seatbag of my roadbike. But upon only it's 4th use, the lock jammed, and I spent 1 hour with their troubleshooting tips - to no avail. I walked home -( and returned with a pair of dikes and cut through the lock in less than 30 seconds - ONE HANDED (because I was making a video goo.glwWYq6R ) Engineering or QC is lacking, and I cannot recommend this product in good conscience. Save your $65 and buy a hardened steel folding lock instead! (Green 30 model)

Reviewed 5/5/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by kdavid

Lightweight & secure Peace of Mind.
by kdavid
Daily Commuter
Seattle, WA
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I primarily use this for my road bike (the commuter has a heavier lock) for short stops at coffee shops, lunch stops or bio breaks. I got the 30 so that I can go around my frame & wheel, a post or rack, and even catch a companion's bike frame. It's relatively light and easy to use. I am hoping the high-vis green is a deterrent as well, since it sticks out so clearly. This lock is easy to use and takes little room in my seat bag.

Reviewed 4/23/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by LoRider

BEST LOCK EVER!
by LoRider
Daily Commuter
Boulder, Colorado
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Is it too much to say that a lock changed your life? Well, I think the Ottolock Cinch changed my cycling life. 80% of the time I'm out, I take only this lock and feel confident that my bike is safe while I'm away. When I'm in a risky part of town, I use Ottolock and a U-lock (and sometimes a chain). If you doubt the strength of this lock, check out this video from OUTSIDE MAGAZINE httpswww.youtube.comwatch?vGiVGho83Rf8 Pretty impressive, right? Bottom line BUY THIS LOCK NOW. It's so great!

Reviewed 4/14/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Husband Loves It
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
Portland, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Works quickly. Much lighter and not as cumbersome, heavy, or awkward than the standard U-lock. Pop of color optional, but he loves the orange. It was a great Christmas gift!

Reviewed 4/2/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Johanzel

This product is one tough customer and makes one feel secure
by Johanzel
Casual Cyclist
Bay Point, CA
4 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Use it often and feel the security.

Reviewed 2/20/2018
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page