X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
OTTO Ottolock Cinch Lock

OTTOOttolock Cinch Lock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(42 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(12)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(55%)
(29%)
(12%)
(2%)
(2%)
Best thing: it's small!
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri

It's not strong, and I would not trust it in any high risk area. But it's fairly easy to deploy and it will probably prevent casual theft of an unattended bike. There are times that's all I need. In the past I hauled around a full-sized cable or chain lock, but those were overkill when I parked for 10 min to pick up a prescription or drop into the hardware store. This lock is so compact I can carry it everywhere and have it when I need it. I think the trick is to be aware of risk areas wherever you leave your bike, and make sure you have security that's adequate situation.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I bought this lock to keep with me on rides
by Bob G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Longview, WA

I'm usually be myself when I ride. I use this lock if I have to make a stop at a store for treats or to use the bathroom. It probably won't stop a hardcore bike bandit, but will be enough to deter an opportunist thief.

Reviewed 7/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight for traveling, sturdy and easy to store
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
North West & South West
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

This lock is small,light and works great for a coffee stop on a 50 mile ride.

I did not want a big heavy lock clanging around on my horizontal bar.

I am a road biker and ride about 400 miles a month.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Convenient but the elastic band keep it rolled up broke after about 20 uses.
by Tom in Marin
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin County, CA

I like the lock as it compact and strong for locking the rear wheel of my bike to a rack or other object when I go into a store. I would not use it to lock the bike for long periods. The combination lock seems a bit flimsy. The elastic band that keeps the rolled-up lock from unrolling in your pocket or pact is definitely too weak for multiple uses. Mine broke after about 20 times. I've ordered three back-ups (they only are sold in packages of 3), so clearly Ottolock knows it's too weak. They should beef it up, as well as the combination lock.

Reviewed 9/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
by Kevin J
Duncanville

This is peace of mind when the bike is parked outside the convenience store. The lock is small and light enough to shove in my jersey pocket or strap to the saddle bag (I did see the other day that they offer a mounting kit for it). I haven't tried to cut into it, but I've watched the videos online. Impressive.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Compact and but not easy to use
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland

The small Ottolock fits neatly in a jersey pocket, is lightweight, and offers decent security for short stops. However, the flat cable doesn't twist and isn't very long so I sometimes have trouble looping it around railings or bike racks. The combination seemed hard to set (yes, I followed the directions step-by-step), and the small combination rollers are difficult to align even though my fingers aren't that big.

Reviewed 11/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Updated review: the Ottolock HEXBAND Cinch Lock 30 is no longer functional
by DE
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've really liked this lock, but after less than a year, the button will no longer depress, and none of the steps at the Ottolock site work to fix it. Too expensive a lock to die this soon, and it almost got locked on my bike while I was out as well, which would have been unforgivable.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to carry and use!
by Jon C.
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I used this lock as a thief deterrent. Not for very long periods of time. I do get paranoid about leaving my bikes for too long. I recently used it on a bikepacking trip. The small version is great for a single bike, but hard to get around some thicker light poles and road signs at times. My brother has the longer version and that seems more recommended if you want to go through both wheels and the frame, or lock multiple bikes up to something. I like how it's a little bit more space friendly than a U-lock. and given that I don't leave my bikes out too long anyway, this lock is perfect for my needs

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Storage problems
by Victor
Cycling Enthusiast
Kirkland, WA

Works as advertised but difficult to roll tightly and frequently unrolls despite use of the band which unfastens.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well worth the money
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This little lock is awesome-it's compact, super durable, and easy to use. The mid-size is great for two bikes and a pole and doesn't differ too much in weight from the size below (added weight is from extra band only). Would highly recommend.

Reviewed 8/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks good
by Bici_del_Rioba
Cycling Enthusiast
Longmont, CO

Looks like a good form factor for a lock. I weill use it to secure th bikes to my 1UP rack.

Reviewed 11/20/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
nice portable lock
by cycloman
Competitive Racer
Ohio

very easy to stash in a pocket or pack - just enough security to lock for quick trips into the cafe and the like

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Handy Lock
by drkayaker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana

Good lock fits in jersey back pocket easy and isnt that heavy. I carry it with me just in case I have to run a store or house for a few minutes, which isnt that much. I guess it gives me some peace of mind.

Reviewed 11/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight and secure
by Nobrakes
Portland, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight and secure
by Nobrakes
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight lock for coffe stops
by biker Bob
Cycling Enthusiast

very good pit-stop lock that is light and compact

Reviewed 8/21/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good caf lock for your road bike that you can carry in your jersey pocket.
by DoctorJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The lock is relatively light and you can take it on your road bike trips. The width is a good size. The length is a bit short so not always easy to lock your bike to a post. I would,consider getting the longer length option, if the bulk and weight are not going to be an issue. The combo lock is great since you dont have to worry about a key.

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy light security device
by Brian
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I was tired of carrying my heavier U-lock for brew rides so got this as a lightweight thief deterrent device to avoid those ratty opportunist. Obviously not meant for overnight street lockups but the lightness for a quick pint or two is enough reassurance for that short time period.

Reviewed 2/12/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super Handy Lock
by MPLSRider
Competitive Racer
Minneapolis, MN
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Perfect for stopping for lunch, or coffee, or beer. I also use it to lock my bike to the car rack. It's only good for short stops, but the majority of the time it's what I need in a lock.

Reviewed 10/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Love the Ottolock!
by Jeff
Cycling Enthusiast
San Mateo, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

After doing quite a lot a research I decided to purchase the Ottolock and its turned out to be a great buy. But, its important to understand that all locks can be defeated and this lock in not intended to prevent thefts in a high crime area. It is intended to be used for quick mid ride stops and does it perfectly. If this is your intended use, go for it you won't be disappointed.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page