X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
OTTOLOCK Cinch Lock

OTTOLOCKCinch Lock(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(48 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(25)
(16)
(5)
(1)
(1)
(52%)
(33%)
(10%)
(2%)
(2%)
Peace of mind for quick stops and times when you just need an
by Sean
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL

I bought this so I could make pit stops on solo rides less worrisome - it is light enough and small enough to throw in my handlebar or saddlebag without being a noticeable load. (I suppose I could stuff it in a jersey pocket as well). This is definitely an "honesty" lock - just enough to keep someone form walking away with what would otherwise be an unsecured bike. There is no way I would use this as a primary lock in a high theft area.

Pros: small size, light weight, coated band protects the frame

Cons: the band can be grabby sliding in and out of the lock mechanism, there is no spacer between the tumblers which can lead to you turning two of them at the same time.

Overall, I would recommend this for someone looking for a lock to use for quick stops or in very low risk areas.

Reviewed 4/8/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fine for it's purposes
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This lock is not going to protect your bike for very long, if not used in conjunction with a larger locking system.

But,if you want some piece of mind in situations where you would usually leave your bike unlocked, this lock is a great candidate. It's small and light and prefect for gas station resupplies and bathroom trips. For cafe and coffee stops.

My only issue is that the locking and unlocking function can feel a little stiff and sloppy. And there is a small learning curve to getting it to run smoothly.

Reviewed 10/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Peace of Mind
by Mike
Great Lakes

I purchased my OttoLock Cinch Lock for a bike tour in Texas. It gave me peace of mind while enjoying the local pubs.

Reviewed 5/5/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy carry in pocket for Cafe stops
by oleman53
Cycling Enthusiast
High Desert

Just right for a quick stop when the bike is out of sight momentarily.

Reviewed 4/21/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best thing: it's small!
by Arcadian
Cycling Enthusiast
Missouri
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

It's not strong, and I would not trust it in any high risk area. But it's fairly easy to deploy and it will probably prevent casual theft of an unattended bike. There are times that's all I need. In the past I hauled around a full-sized cable or chain lock, but those were overkill when I parked for 10 min to pick up a prescription or drop into the hardware store. This lock is so compact I can carry it everywhere and have it when I need it. I think the trick is to be aware of risk areas wherever you leave your bike, and make sure you have security that's adequate situation.

Reviewed 7/12/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight for traveling, sturdy and easy to store
by Gary
Cycling Enthusiast
North West & South West
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This lock is small,light and works great for a coffee stop on a 50 mile ride.

I did not want a big heavy lock clanging around on my horizontal bar.

I am a road biker and ride about 400 miles a month.

Reviewed 9/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
It works, fantastically!
by Gordie
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin

The lock is great, small & light. I traveled for 3 weeks & biggest worry was locking it to my rack on my vehicle. No problem.

Reviewed 10/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good for lightweight security in low risk areas
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah

Light, easy to carry. Already owned 18 inch Ottolock, and decided it was really too short to be useful. This 30 inch is much better, and works in more locations.

Just as advertised, it's more for quick stops and low risk areas. No way would I rely on this lock for overnight storage or sketchy areas.

Reviewed 10/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Convenient but the elastic band keep it rolled up broke after about 20 uses.
by Tom in Marin
Cycling Enthusiast
Marin County, CA

I like the lock as it compact and strong for locking the rear wheel of my bike to a rack or other object when I go into a store. I would not use it to lock the bike for long periods. The combination lock seems a bit flimsy. The elastic band that keeps the rolled-up lock from unrolling in your pocket or pact is definitely too weak for multiple uses. Mine broke after about 20 times. I've ordered three back-ups (they only are sold in packages of 3), so clearly Ottolock knows it's too weak. They should beef it up, as well as the combination lock.

Reviewed 9/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I bought this lock to keep with me on rides
by Bob G.
Cycling Enthusiast
Longview, WA

I'm usually be myself when I ride. I use this lock if I have to make a stop at a store for treats or to use the bathroom. It probably won't stop a hardcore bike bandit, but will be enough to deter an opportunist thief.

Reviewed 7/23/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to carry and use!
by Jon C.
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I used this lock as a thief deterrent. Not for very long periods of time. I do get paranoid about leaving my bikes for too long. I recently used it on a bikepacking trip. The small version is great for a single bike, but hard to get around some thicker light poles and road signs at times. My brother has the longer version and that seems more recommended if you want to go through both wheels and the frame, or lock multiple bikes up to something. I like how it's a little bit more space friendly than a U-lock. and given that I don't leave my bikes out too long anyway, this lock is perfect for my needs

Reviewed 11/5/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect
by Kevin J
Duncanville
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is peace of mind when the bike is parked outside the convenience store. The lock is small and light enough to shove in my jersey pocket or strap to the saddle bag (I did see the other day that they offer a mounting kit for it). I haven't tried to cut into it, but I've watched the videos online. Impressive.

Reviewed 11/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Compact and but not easy to use
by Paul
Cycling Enthusiast
Maryland

The small Ottolock fits neatly in a jersey pocket, is lightweight, and offers decent security for short stops. However, the flat cable doesn't twist and isn't very long so I sometimes have trouble looping it around railings or bike racks. The combination seemed hard to set (yes, I followed the directions step-by-step), and the small combination rollers are difficult to align even though my fingers aren't that big.

Reviewed 11/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Updated review: the Ottolock HEXBAND Cinch Lock 30 is no longer functional
by DE
Cycling Enthusiast
Arlington, VA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've really liked this lock, but after less than a year, the button will no longer depress, and none of the steps at the Ottolock site work to fix it. Too expensive a lock to die this soon, and it almost got locked on my bike while I was out as well, which would have been unforgivable.

Reviewed 9/14/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well worth the money
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

This little lock is awesome-it's compact, super durable, and easy to use. The mid-size is great for two bikes and a pole and doesn't differ too much in weight from the size below (added weight is from extra band only). Would highly recommend.

Reviewed 8/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Storage problems
by Victor
Cycling Enthusiast
Kirkland, WA

Works as advertised but difficult to roll tightly and frequently unrolls despite use of the band which unfastens.

Reviewed 6/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Handy Lock
by drkayaker
Cycling Enthusiast
Montana

Good lock fits in jersey back pocket easy and isnt that heavy. I carry it with me just in case I have to run a store or house for a few minutes, which isnt that much. I guess it gives me some peace of mind.

Reviewed 11/28/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight and secure
by Nobrakes
Portland, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
lightweight and secure
by Nobrakes
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Not completely bullet proof, but will keep an honest person honest, in most cases. Easy to carry in a jersey pocket or strapped to a seat post, much lighter than a U-lock, but not as secure. Useful for locking 2 bikes together plus a fixed object, like a post or street staple.

Reviewed 8/23/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good caf lock for your road bike that you can carry in your jersey pocket.
by DoctorJ
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The lock is relatively light and you can take it on your road bike trips. The width is a good size. The length is a bit short so not always easy to lock your bike to a post. I would,consider getting the longer length option, if the bulk and weight are not going to be an issue. The combo lock is great since you dont have to worry about a key.

Reviewed 5/13/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page