Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Ortlieb Saddle Bag

OrtliebSaddle Bag(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(38 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(28)
(7)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(74%)
(18%)
(5%)
(3%)
(0%)
Great Saddle Bag light weight rolls up small yet big enough to carry extra clothes.
by Nomad98012
Cycling Enthusiast
Mill Creek, WA

Previously I had purchased the small Ortlieb bag which was ok for a tube and multi-tool but not much else. Now with the medium size red bag, I switch it back and forth between two bikes. The mounting bracket is the same for each size. A great value!

Reviewed 8/17/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This bag fits beautifully from under the seat.
by joblat
Cycling Enthusiast
Buffalo, NY

I ride a bike with a 44 frame. Many items don't fit, but this one does and is roomy enough for what I'm taking along - without being too big causing me to be tempted to overfill.

Reviewed 9/12/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bag is great except one thing to make this make a five star
by Hodawg
Vineland

The only complaint is that if bag is full can't sealed it. They need to seal with zipper or Velcro to have a secure bag while cycling.

Reviewed 8/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Quality materials and build, but small size is larger than expected
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area

Had to return as size small not aero.

Reviewed 7/23/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent mounting idea and lots of room.
by Josh
Japan

I really like the mounting system. I use a small bag on short rides and the click and remove system is really hand. It also holds a lot for an under seat bag. A part of shoes and a rain shell fit with room to spare. I bought this for a two day ride and I think it will work great.

Reviewed 6/24/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best saddle bag Ive tried
by Ian
Massachusetts

Perfectly watertight for well more than my needs, and the Medium has plenty of space for tube, multi tool, tire levers, patch kit, a blood sugar test kit and glucose tablets for this diabetic. If you arent carrying the diabetes stuff, a packable jacket can be crammed in there.

Reviewed 12/22/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very good bag for everyday commute
by Anonymous
Brooklyn

I bought this bag in order to avoid riding with a backpack to work. It perfectly fits spare clothing to wear in office. Cant go shopping with it but, that is not a purpose. Its small enough and you can adjust its volume based on your stuff you put in there with a couple of straps.

Reviewed 5/25/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looked like a good idea but it sorely lacks in usability. Unique doesn't mean it works.
by AZ Mtn Biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Mesa, AZ
7 of 17 customers found this review helpful.

Pro Capacity

Cons

- While the twist closure may be unique it flat out doesn't work in practice. One twist isn't enough and two twists (if you can make two) just reduces the capacity by 1/3. And whether twisting up or down only one side wants to twist a second time.

- With closure twisted up it holds rain water.

- With closure twisted down things fall out while opening.

- Open cavern with nothing to secure keys to, which I see as a requirement with the ridiculous twist closure.

- Not a totally one-click removal like the 12-year old pack I was about to replace.

C'mon Ortlieb!! Do your engineers actually ride a bike?

This product would be 1,000% more useful if you provided a zipper instead of the two plastic Popsicle sticks!

Reviewed 12/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bag, but too tall to clear my rear tire
by CyclingSoprano
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

This is a great product - well made, easy to install, easy to remove, nice wide opening. The smallest one fits all the stuff one should have while on the bike (tire lever, tube, CO2,multi tool), the largest will carry that plus a lot more. The opening is quite wide, making it easy to access the items inside. Unfortunately I had to return both sizes as my saddle is pretty low and there wasn't enough clearance to accommodate even the smallest bag. I am probably an extreme case (really short legs) but I was bummed because it seems like a bag that would perform well.

Reviewed 7/18/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Saddle Bag
by Mr.KYU
Casual Cyclist
SEOUL, South korea
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I used the Giant Scout saddle bag before I bought this product. Scout saddle bag is not bad. But too big for my intended purpose and it wasn't completely waterproof.

I ordered Ortlieb Saddle Bag, size is L. It's 2.7 Liter and very impressive waterproof performance. I ridden in the rain all day, but clothes in the bag didn't get wet at all. Awesome!

The only regret is that this product does not include Fastening Straps. So you need to purchase separately if necessary. Of course Fastening Straps is not needed for general riding, except when your contents are heavy.

Anyway, I'm very satisfied with Ortlieb Saddle Bag. I recommend this saddleback to all my friends.

Reviewed 7/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good bag for commuting.
by John
Daily Commuter
New Mexico

I can get a bit more into this bag than in more traditional design. The simple closure is nice. The strap and D-rings permit additional items to be tied onto the outside which has helped in taking rolled papers or other commuter things to work.

Reviewed 7/14/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my 2nd mid size saddle bag and it works great -
by MB Girl
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Coast Range

These are very well made, flexible, waterproof. Great for our weather to protect my gear.

Reviewed 3/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This is my 2nd mid size saddle bag and it works great -
by MB Girl
Cycling Enthusiast
Oregon Coast Range

These are very well made, flexible, waterproof. Great for our weather to protect my gear.

Reviewed 3/29/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great bag. Expands to hold my jacket and cold weather gloves, but rolls up small when I don't need the space.
by BBob
Cycling Enthusiast
Boise, ID
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great bag. Expands to hold my jacket and cold weather gloves, but rolls up small when I don't need the space.

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
versatile mid-sized bag
by RobC
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

A quick and easy to remove pack for carrying moderate amounts of stuff - I use it on my weekend bike in the summer when I want to incorporate an extended post-work ride.

Reviewed 6/29/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for longer rided
by Eliot
Sharon

Stable dry bag. Easy to mount. Grea for all day rides where a backpack would be a fashion faux pas.

Reviewed 6/19/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice construction, but bulky
by Webchem
Cycling Enthusiast
Duesseldorf, Germany
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The bag is well made and designed, but it's just too wide. I was looking for a decent waterproof bag for underneath the seat, but this is wider than the saddle itself. If you want to carry luggage, this is a good choice, but it is NOT a simple spare tube and multitool carrier. High marks for the mounting system idea, although it can be a bit annoying to figure out (and I'm a pretty competent mechanic). I put it on my city bike instead of where I originally planned to mount it.

Reviewed 2/4/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for minimalist commuting
by SignedDC
Daily Commuter
Washington, DC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I commute 9 miles each way and have been using this bag for about a month. It's large enough for a complete change of clothes (I roll my clothes, rather than folding) OR a lunch in a container, plus phone, keys, wallet. Unfortunately it's not big enough for a change of clothes AND lunch. It's easy and quick for me to drive to work on the weekends so I usually drive in on the weekend and drop off clothes for the week. This allows me to just carry lunch and my personal items each day.

The bag fits very snug on the seatpost and saddle rails and has absolutely zero movement, even when standing and pedaling hard. I've also taken it on a five mile ride on rough gravel roads and it did fine. With it being winter, I have not yet commuted in the rain, but I've used Ortlieb products in the past and I have zero concern over its waterproof-ness.

I was debating between this bag and a larger bikepacking bag such as the Revelate Terrapin or Porcelain Rocket Mr. Fusion, but I was worried they would be overkill for my application. I kind of regret not going with a bikepacking bag but this will work just fine for my needs. Ideally I'd have something with a capacity a little larger than this, and slightly smaller than a bikepacking saddle bag.

On weeks when I cannot make time to drive into the office, I use a large backpack (Osprey Radial 34) and carry my clothes and lunch.

Reviewed 2/10/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perfect for my use
by Nick
Williamsport PA

Although this would be an incredible seat bag for the money (almost as large as some bikepacking seat bags), I actually purchased a pair to mount on the front fork of my bike to act as mini waterproof panniers. The construction is top notch and the roll top design is awesome.

Reviewed 1/26/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Super bag that stays on when it should and comes off when you want.
by JayRai
Cycling Enthusiast
Denver, CO

My old bag was always slipping off and getting in the way, but when you wanted to take it off it was a real process. This bag is well designed for size, closure and attachment while also having good looks.

Reviewed 1/18/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page