X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Oakley ARO5 Helmet

OakleyARO5 Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(14 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(4)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(50%)
(29%)
(21%)
(0%)
(0%)
Not sure why this was on clearance...
by NickSlyness
Cycling Enthusiast
Austin, TX
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Needed a new helmet. Saw this one was on clearance for a ridiculously low price so I got one. Now I wish I had grabbed two. Within minutes of riding, I forgot I was even wearing a new helmet. I have used it for casual spins around town and long, fast Sunday rides. The best thing I can say about it is that I forget it is there. As someone who unfortunately hits the pavement a bit (hence need for new helmet), I am also happy to have the extra MIPS protection. Previous helmets have always been Giro, but I am glad I made the switch.

Reviewed 2/8/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sizes run small, Large barely fits
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Very nice style and the build has a good balance between aero and ventilation. However, the helmet isn't very comfortable for my larger head due to its shape placing pressure on my temples. In addition, the boa headband is kind of awkward and gets caught easily in hair, sunglasses and sometimes ears.

The helmet is great looking and otherwise very comfortable and sleek. But, If you feel like you may be on the larger side of the size chart (60+ cm), you may be best off avoiding these helmets unless you can try the fit in person

Reviewed 1/28/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sizes run small, Large barely fits
by Anonymous

Very nice style and the build has a good balance between aero and ventilation. However, the helmet isn't very comfortable for my larger head due to its shape placing pressure on my temples. In addition, the boa headband is kind of awkward and gets caught easily in hair, sunglasses and sometimes ears.

The helmet is great looking and otherwise very comfortable and sleek. But, If you feel like you may be on the larger side of the size chart (60+ cm), you may be best off avoiding these helmets unless you can try the fit in person

Reviewed 1/27/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid
by AD
Los Angeles

Good helmet. Seems to be sturdy and solid fitting. My only gripe is its kinda bulky looking for my personal taste. Although i have a small head so that might be why. If your not too concerned with looks its overall a good helmet for the average rider

Reviewed 3/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome Helmet
by rmictks
Competitive Racer
Wichita Kansas
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Picked this up on a one day sale and I and I am extremely happy. fit is great very light and seems to be very Aero combined with my Oakley Special Forces . Highly recommended

Reviewed 3/11/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable clean looking arrow helmet!
by SuperM
Competitive Racer
Seattle
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Oakley Nailed it, light weight clean looking arrow helmet.

Great Color choices. True to size as I wear a medium.

Reviewed 4/29/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Perf
by Windows 10
Ont
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Looks like a sports car from the back anyway. Comfortable. Bit strange front but yeah, not a second thought purchasing this on sale.

Reviewed 3/25/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Comfortable and so easy to adjust.
by Crystal
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia Beach
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Loved from the moment it came. Immediately comfortable alone or with winter wool cap underneath it. Old Giro mips helmet pressed eyeglass frame into head if not very careful putting on, causing pain after 15 miles or so. Not so with this. Wonderful. The bright yellow is very visible too. Hope to be unable to report any crash results! Recommended.

Reviewed 12/27/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Well protected
by Lalo Rivas
Competitive Racer
MTY MX
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Hello, I recently fell wearing my ARO5, I hit the back of my head, I went to check myself at the DRs and nothing, I was well protected. I got me a second one. Besides, that is very comfortable.

Reviewed 9/9/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent
by Anonymous
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Very pleased so far with the fit and finish of this helmet. It is comfortable true to size and provides good ventilation.

Reviewed 3/6/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Oakley boa system works.
by redzone77
Cycling Enthusiast
Utah
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Overall i like the style and look of the product. The boa system works well for me although it does run small....pay attention to your sizing. The profile of this helmet is bigger than my giros but it preforms well and is comfortable.

Reviewed 11/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
New best helmet
by SF Rider
Cycling Enthusiast
SW Florida
5 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Road riding in the heat and humidity, the temps feel a lot cooler with AR 05 on my head.

Reviewed 7/16/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mediocre
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
16 of 18 customers found this review helpful.

At first glance, I would give this helmet a 10 for style. Once I took it out of the box, though, my excitement dwindled. My first issue with the helmet was the height adjustment tab. For such an expensive helmet, the plastic piece is flimsy and snaps in and out of place for adjustments. Once it is snapped into place, it is very difficult to remove, if you're not careful you will break the piece. My next problem is while actually wearing the helmet At speed the air rushing into the large scoop at the back pulls the helmet away from your head. Very poor design. The only way to alleviate this problem to some degree is to wear a thin skullcap or sweatband like Headsweats as you can tighten the securing nob for a better grip. Lastly, for a manufacturer of sunglasses, I am disappointed with how I am unable to slide my Oakley Jawbreakers into the air vents when not in use (they do not secure nearly well enough and WILL slide right out the moment you tilt your head forward). So, taking these issues into account, it's a great looking but rather poorly designed helmet. For the price there are better quality options.

Reviewed 7/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good ventilation and very stylish.
by Mangineer
Cycling Enthusiast
San Diego
2 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

Self explanatory.

Reviewed 4/30/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.