Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Mr. Tuffy Ultra Lite Tire Liner

Mr. TuffyUltra Lite Tire Liner(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(18 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(14)
(1)
(0)
(2)
(1)
(78%)
(6%)
(0%)
(11%)
(6%)
Installed these liners, flat on first ride, no match for goatheads
by bruce
Casual Cyclist
Casper, WY
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Installed liners, flat on first ride, no match for goathead thorns

Reviewed 4/29/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Mr. Tuffy - Don't Go On A Ride Without Them
by icycle
Cycling Enthusiast
Phoenix, AZ
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I added these when I purchased my last set of Continental Gator Hardskins, I replaced my rear times after about 4000 miles did not replace the front tire, have gone another 2000 without any puncture related flats.

Previously using just Continental Gatorskins I had gotten 4 - 6 punctures in 4000 miles.

I'm a daily commuter and have been riding over the same terrain which has helped me to compare.

I think you could purchase any tire you like and add Mr. Tuffy and be pretty much puncture free. They will pay for themselves with your reduced purchases of tubes, CO2 if you use it or patch kits. Don't forget the reduction of repair time and frustration and the added confidence you having with Mr. Tuffy.

Reviewed 1/4/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Too narrow for MTB tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Rural NorCal
3 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The widest Tuffy made is just over an inch wide. Useless on a 2.0 to 2.5 MTB tire, as it would leave almost half the tread area exposed to punctures. Shame on Mr. Tuffy for false advertising.

Reviewed 12/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product, works great, very durable, could be wider through
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Middletown, NY
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I use the Mr. Tuffy Ultra Lite Tire Liner in my tires and they work great. The liners are very durable. I haven't got a flat since I installed them. My only reservation about them is the width. If they were wider, they would cover more of the inner tube from the sides, preventing angled punctures. Otherwise, the liners work great, protecting my tubes from damage.

Reviewed 10/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No Brainer
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Sturgeon Bay, WI
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I ride to work located in an Industrial Park. It is an exception if I don't encounter glass or steel pieces on the road. This gives me the confidence to keep riding in spite of the hazards.

Reviewed 9/26/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A Must for Expensive Tires
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

My favorite tiretube combination is the Michelin Pro 234 Race tire and Michelin A1/B1 Aircomp Tube. However, these tires and tubes don't fair well where I live and ride. I had to constantly change tubes on my rides, which made it a burden. After my third puncture in 2 rides, I had to do something. I researched all the available extra tire protection on the market and decided this was the best option. I read all the previous reviews and everyone seems to like this product.

The installation was quick and easy, most likely will add another 3-5 minutes to changing out your tube. I viewed how to correctly install the product on YouTube. You will only have to do this once per wheel.

I was a little worried that it would add weight and rolling resistance. Unless you are ultra sensitive to these things, you will not know the difference. So far, I've been on five 60 miles rides and the product works as advertised. Hopefully, changing tubes on the side of the road is a thing of the past. Keep in mind, this product add extra protection for your tire and tube. I recommend inspecting your tires before and after every ride (a 1 minute exercise).

Reviewed 7/22/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not effective
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
North Central Oregon
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Went 20 feet on a track trail that had thorns and it provided zero protection. Had 4 holes!

Reviewed 6/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Peace of Mind!!!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Manila, Philippines
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm using a sleek tires on painful roads of Metro Manila, never gets flat, that's peace of mind!!!

Reviewed 5/2/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
HAve had one flat in a year.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado

Great product that is cheap flat insurance. Had one flat that was a goathead in the side of the tire. I have pulled numerous thorns out of the tires that didn't cause a flat. Well worth the money

Reviewed 1/17/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No more flats
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
SE Kansas
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

We had a chronic problem with flat tires until we installed these liners combined with puncture resistant tubes. No more flats!

Reviewed 11/1/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Added Insurance for flat prevention.
by Chris
Cycling Enthusiast
Palo Alto, CA

I bought this product to add peace of mind to my bike rides from fear of flat tires.

So far so good. They are extremely lightweight, easily installed and very economical considering the downtime and cost of a new tube. I would highly recommend it for all road bike riders.

Reviewed 10/29/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tire liner I have ever used. Easy to install and works as advertised.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Orange County California
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to install and works as advertised and priced appropriately.

Reviewed 10/25/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Don't leave home without them
by mister e
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado Front Range
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

I bike in Colorado, and there is no end of hard, spiny seeds that flatten tires. Before I started using these liners, I could hardly go out on a ride in the fall without picking up at least one flat, sometimes two at a time.

I've been using these things for over 20 years, and flats are a thing of the past. No matter what other option is available for puncture resistant tires or tubes, I think this is the best choice. I never consider the puncture resistence of tires when I replace them and use the cheapest tubes I can find. A set of these pays back many multiples of the cost in replacement tubes.

Reviewed 9/10/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome stuff
by P
Cycling Enthusiast
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

Been using Tuffys for years on my road bike, my girlfriends road bike and our tandem. Haven't had a flat in years. Just be sure to change your tubes at least once or twice because these little babies will out last the tube.

Reviewed 8/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Woth every penny
by Siberunner
Cycling Enthusiast
PuyallupCle Elum, WA
6 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

We ride in a few areas that are questionable for tires. We have these in all our tire sets, we have never had a puncture with them in. Piece of mind for knowing you wont get a flat makes the trip that much better. Installation is faily easy. Both of us worked together to make sure we had everything centered. I dont notice any spin difference as some people have mentioned. They are worth the investment, highly recommend these liners. Great product! )

Reviewed 5/25/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to install, works great, haven't gotten a flat since installing
by dcgrmhan
Casual Cyclist
CA
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

Put 'em in my Mtn Bike.

Reviewed 4/3/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
I've fixed my share of flat tires - no more!
by johnny peabrain
Casual Cyclist
louisville, ky
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I had always heard tire liners added a lot of weight and were hard to install. Boy were those folks misinformed. It's just the opposite. I installed them a month ago on a fixed gear bike in less than 10 mins. and haven't had a flat yet. There isn't any noticeable change in anything. Once you have the liner in your hand you realize how well they are made and common sense would only tell you that the theory of operation is genius. I surprised more people aren't raving about Mr. Tuffy Ultra Lites. You can't beat the price here either - my LBS (which i always support but didn't have my size) wanted twice the price. Great product - buy don't tell everybody else!

Reviewed 2/23/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
No flats yet! And that's a good thing!!!
by gmenne
Cycling Enthusiast
St Pete, FL
6 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Use in 700 X 23 high end tires.

Reviewed 2/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.