CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Michelin Power Gravel 700c Tire

MichelinPower Gravel 700c Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(12 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(5)
(3)
(1)
(2)
(1)
(42%)
(25%)
(8%)
(17%)
(8%)

User submitted reviews

Review by ClubLongo

Awesome tubeless gravel tire for Stans Rims be prepared for a tight
by ClubLongo
San Francisco Bay Area
15 of 15 customers found this review helpful.

Excellent high-performance tubeless gravel tire. The tread is ideal for hero-dirt and pavement. In muddy conditions, the tread collects minimal mud or clay. I rode the 2019 Grinduro with the Michelin up front. It rolls smooth and fast on pavement. Superb handling on gravel and even in light snow (yes, it snowed). Overall, I was delighted.

These tires fit Stans Tubeless Ready rims. Therefore theyre not right for the UST rims.

Be prepared for a very tight fit the first time you mount these tires. But dont be discouraged a tight fit is a good thing. If you ever need to remove the tire, the subsequent mounting is much easier.

Some tips

- Warm the tire in a bucket of warm-to-hot water immediately before starting the fit.

- Use a sponge to soak the rim and the tire bead with heavily soaped-up water.

- Keep applying warm soap water as you work the bead.

- Seat the bead around the valve first then work your way to the opposite side of the rim.

- I kept the valve raised high in the rim until the tire was fully mounted. This creates more room for the bead on both sides of the valve. I tightened the valve as the final step before inflating.

- its such a tight fit that I was able to inflate it with a regular floor pump. That should tell you something.

Reviewed 12/26/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rgr692

2019 Belgian Waffle Ride and Dirty Kanza 200 tested
by rgr692
Cycling Enthusiast
Reston, VA
22 of 22 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased a set of the the 700 x 33 for the 2019 Belgian Waffle Ride and a set of the 700 x 40 for the 2019 Dirty Kanza 200. Both sets of tires performed brilliantly No flats and very fast rolling. For the Belgian Waffle ride I was looking for a tire that would hold up to 45-ish miles of off road yet still be super fast on the 90-ish or so miles on pavement. The 700 x 33 paired with my Reynolds Strike 62mm wheelset was perfect! What really surprised me was how fast this combination is on pavement. I didn't detect any sacrifice in top end speed with this wheel and tire combo. Additionally the traction on off road sections (gravel, loose sand, hard pack dirt) was great. I will be using this exact same combination (55 psi and orange seal by the way) for the 2020 Belgain Waffle Ride. The 700 x 40 I used for the 2019 Dirty Kanza 200 performed equally as well. I paired these tires with the DT Swiss ERC 1600 wheelset. This tire wheel combination is incredibly durable and in my opinion perfect for a ride like Dirty Kanza. The 40mm width provided the perfect amount of traction, rolling resistance, and most importantly comfort for 202 miles of Kansas' finest gravel roads. Up until race day I was seriously considering using a 650b tire wheel combo but decided on using the 700 x 40 power gravel tires instead. I'm glad I did. My concern was more about combating fatigue vs fitness over the course of 200 miles of gravel and 14 hours on the bike. The 700 x 40 (30 psi and orange seal) provided great comfort and were super fast rolling on the gravel. If I were to change anything, I would use a lighter wheelset (just nit picking as the DT Swiss wheels were awesome). Having said that, I didn't experience any flats or mechanicals during the entire 202 miles. Great Tires and Wheels! These are now my go to tires for any race that has a serious amount of graveloff road sections. Highly recommend!

Reviewed 6/29/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by yflyer1678

Nice, free-rolling gravel tire
by yflyer1678
Cycling Enthusiast
Upstate SC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I'm using the Michelin Gravel tubeless on my 2022 Lynskey. Ride mostly forest service roads, pretty smooth with some chunks. Decent traction in soft spots. Wore a bit fast

Reviewed 10/13/2023
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Duckberry

Good as a warm weather tire
by Duckberry
Cycling Enthusiast
Berkshires
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I had no trouble mounting these tubeless, and had no leaks. I put my wheels outside over night to cool them off and put the tires on the radiator to warm and expand them a smidge. A little soapy water also helped. The tire has been fine, not amazing. In the cold, the rubber compound turns plasticky and loses its grip, particularly in icy conditions or on pavement. I found that out the hard way. I found the the Conti Terra Speed to be a much better year round gravel tire (though it was hard to mount and tread life was about 1800 miles). I probably won't buy the Michelins again.

Reviewed 4/12/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by NickL

Decent little tire
by NickL
Competitive Racer
Raleigh, NC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased this tire for early season 'cross. I am running an MXP up front and this on back for the local grass crit series. So far it has provided all the traction I've needed without the rolling resistance penalty. It does well on my local training loop through 8 miles of loose gravel trail.

Setting it up tubeless is a must and so far zero issues. I will likely return to dual MXP's once traditional cross conditions return to North Carolina, but i'd recommend this to anyone early season

Reviewed 10/15/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jaynald

Absolute best tire I have used
by Jaynald
Cycling Enthusiast
San Francisco Bay Area
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

After using tires from Specialized, Vittoria, Clement, WTB and Continental on this bike, these are by far the best tires I have used. Set up as tubeless, the ride, traction, response and 'feel' are incredible, in the dirt and on pavement. I was actually able to seat the bead using a floor pump, which had never happened before (I was not even able to get the Conti tires to seat at all). NO WAY will I ever use another tire, unless Michelin comes out with a slick model in a 28. Highly recommended.

Reviewed 8/30/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Rustychrome

A little hard to seat but fast and durable
by Rustychrome
Eugene, OR
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Got these to replace a pair of Gravelkings which didn�t last long on my combo pavement/gravel rides. The Power Gravels offer good puncture resistance and are fast on pavement but were tough to seat on first install. I still use tubes and had to

pump up to 95 psi to get them to seat.

Reviewed 9/4/2020
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Very tight and hard to mount, then beads wouldn't come off. One tire leaked like a sieve regardless of adding sealant. Cut off and threw away.
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Colorado
2 of 8 customers found this review helpful.

Won't buy Michelin again. Will go back to Schwalbes that are easy to mountdismount and don't leak.

Reviewed 2/25/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by scappoose cowboy

one tough tire
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
the mts. between Scappoose and Vernonia, or.
1 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

one of the hardest tires to mount on my envie rims , rolls ok, but not much traction. I would not buy this tire again

Reviewed 11/29/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Bert

The perfect gravel tire compromise
by Bert
Competitive Racer
West Palm Beach, FL
6 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

If a schwalbe G one and a Terravail cannonball had a son, it would be the Michelin power gravel. You got the speed of the G one and the puncture resistance of the cannonball. The perfect compromise. On top of that, the tire is very affordable. Got already over 1000 miles of gravel on this set and doesn't show any wear at all. My tire of choice for the coming season. Good job Michelin!

Reviewed 11/24/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by scappoose cowboy

hardest tire to mount
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
the mts. between Scappoose and Vernonia, or.
1 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

this tire is way too tight to get on my envie rims. I struggled for an hour to get them on, and figured if I was out on a trail with a flat it would not be fun trying to install a tube. don't buy this tire!!!

Reviewed 11/19/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Timm

Great tires !!
by Timm
Midwest
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Tires feel good and fast on the smooth flat surfaces and handle well on the off road and gravel surfaces ... holding up well so far as for durability ... no complaints !!

Reviewed 5/9/2019
Thank you for your feedback.