X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Maxxis Re-Fuse Road Tire

MaxxisRe-Fuse Road Tire(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(33)
(8)
(1)
(0)
(1)
(77%)
(19%)
(2%)
(0%)
(2%)
Previous Page
BEST TIRE EVER!!
by Frank
Cycling Enthusiast
NJ
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I used many many tires on my 2 recumbent bikes. This is the only tire that I NEVER had a flat on, and I ride a rail trail that many times has glass and stone chips that play havoc with any other tire. I only wish they made a 26" for my V-REX.This is the only 700 tire I'll buy. May be a little slower than some racing tires. But its plenty fast for me. Great product.

Reviewed 2/3/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My 2 nd review
by Frank
NJ
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I just can't say enough about this tire. With this tire I unintentionally ran over the broken base of a bottle. The front tire, which is another tire. Immediately popped. The back maxxis went rite over it. No problem. I never seen anything like it. Definitely named correctly.

Reviewed 2/3/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
450 miles in, no problems
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Milwaukee, WI
3 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I got the 28mm wide tires to deal with really crappy roads on my commute. I had been using 23mm tires and I had several pinch flats (even with 100psi) due to horrendous potholes. Four weeks in, I haven't had a puncture or pinch flat, and the tires don't feel slow like Armadillos or Gatorskins.

Reviewed 10/29/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tires for rough roads
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Love these tires! Discovered them while riding in Idaho on some pretty rough chip and seal. They have a far better ride than the continental gators and are less prone to flat!

Reviewed 12/2/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great tires
by John holt
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Love the grip and the price is soo low

Reviewed 9/28/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Looks nice, great price, great product
by Monanna
Cycling Enthusiast
Parker , CO
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Have only gone out cycling with it a few times but it rides well. I wanted a tire with some strength to resist flats. From the reviews many people got it for that reason. So far so good for me.

Reviewed 8/27/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
where do I start?
by CJ
Competitive Racer
San Franciso
3 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I thought I would try a new training tire just to see what it is like. Bad move.

The things wrong with this tire (1) puncture magnets, (2) high rolling resistance, (3) soft rubber gouges easily (4) one mounts easily, the next one can't be mounted.

Running a Gatorskin on the back, Maxxis on the front I've had five punctures in 3 months in the Maxxis, none in the Gatorskin. The Maxxis apparently swallow nails, even at 120 psi. High rolling resistance, even after the tread pattern wears off, about 400 miles of extra effort to wear it smooth. Could be the extra soft rubber. Everything, pebbles, sand, glass, nails, apparently even crosswalk paint gouges a piece of rubber out. I don't know if it is poor quality control or what, but the first one mounted with normal difficulty, the second one requires two men and a crow bar. That is no fun when fixing a flat on the road or anywhere else for that matter. The upside to this tire the lettering on the side is very precise, no smudges. If you even think of getting this tire, stop immediately and send me all your money. Better I should blow it on women, whiskey, and drugs than you should waste it on this tire.

Reviewed 8/24/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
awesome tire overall
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
tampa, fl
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It may be a bit heavier and harder than others but it performs great. I have used many other tires. I got tired of flatting on lighter faster tires and went to krylions those were great puncture resistance and fast tires, I was bummed when they were phased out. I decided to try these and they perform. Over 1000 miles and no punctures, including a 186 mile ride through wet, dry, construction, some glass, etc... Even though they are supposed to be slower I can sprint 35 mph regularly and up to 40 good day. Very happy with them

Reviewed 8/15/2013
TriSports.com Comments

Hi,

Thanks for your review! We're glad to hear that you're happy with these Maxxis tires, but wanted to let you know that the Michelin Krylion was not so much phased out as renamed—the new version is the Pro4 Endurance Tire. Might be worth a shot if you liked the old Krylions!

Thanks,
Stacia

Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent Tires, for the price
by SFReeves
Cycling Enthusiast
Redding, CA
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These are great tires, virtually pucture proof during the first 1200 miles or so. the front tire is good for around 1800. the tires dont really last all that long but have a good ride and handling and for the price is acceptable for the mileage.

Reviewed 10/25/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice ride but they flat too much.
by Anonymous
1 of 11 customers found this review helpful.

Good tires for the $4

Reviewed 9/13/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very Effective Flat Resistance
by baldbiker
Cycling Enthusiast
Nebraska
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are worth what you pay for them. The tread compound sheds the small bits of stone, glass and other sharp stuff so your tires stay clean. I waited for a year before writing this review so I could be honest. I have not had a flat, not one. I had multiple flats with another brand of flat resistant tire. I highly recommend this tire and am completely happy with it.

Reviewed 8/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great solid tire, no flats
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena ca
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Solid tire, not worrying about flats, great price

Reviewed 7/20/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
For Commuting
by CyclingRI
Cycling Enthusiast
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I live in Rhode Island and the road are not bicycle friendly when it comes to being clear of sand, glass, pot holds, drains, and other road debris so, so far these tires have held up. I put the 700x25 tires on and they seem to roll nicely, withstand the additional weight of my panniers, rack, and other gear, and hold up to all the stop and goes.

Reviewed 7/11/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bomb Proof
by Kelroy
Cycling Enthusiast
Wisconsin
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These tires are rock solid for a long commute, training, touring and centuries etc. I am a larger scale rider and frequent flats for me has always been an issue. These tires give me security and in general a confident ride in all types of condistions. So far I have nearly 2000 miles and they seem to have another 500 at least on them.

Reviewed 7/2/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Slower but indestructibly dependable
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Ames, IA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I couldnt choose between a gatorskin and the re-fuse so I bought both. Gatorskin wore out quicker and had more flats(2-3). I have put over 2,000 on the re-fuse without a single flatpuncture. Amazing. Put this tire on your rear wheel for worry-free training, and absolute puncture resistant confidence. Not the fastest tire out there, a little slower than the gatorskin, but if you want the best flat-resistant training tire out there, this is absolutely the one.

Reviewed 5/8/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good tires
by dman
Casual Cyclist
Norman, OK
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Did a lot of studying before buying these tires, had them for a couple of months and love them. Very tough and handsome.

Reviewed 3/29/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great for the price
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
damascus oregon
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I buy one set of winter tires every year. Last year I bought gatorskins and was very pleased with them. This year I used these tires and liked them just as much. The re-fuse tires don't last as long, but they do better in the wet and corner better. Yhey don't cost as much so I think they are a better value.

Reviewed 2/9/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good tire for the price..
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Tampa, Fl
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

Nice tire with good grip and low friction.... Used in mini -Tri..

Reviewed 1/27/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
AWESOME!!!
by Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Foothill Ranch, CA
5 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

These are the best road tires I have ever used. I put over 2000 miles on the last set. I never get flats with these. I recently lived in 29 Palms CA where the roads are fairly rough and these tires were outstanding. Highly recommended. I will continue to buy these.

Reviewed 1/21/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Sweet Tires
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Seattle
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Holy smokes, these tires work really well. I used to run conti gatorskins but the traction on wet surfaces around here is no good with those tires. On the maxxis I had immediate better traction, although the little bumps that are giving this friction will probably wear out fast-ish. I still think it's worth it to avoid a winter crash.

Reviewed 1/19/2012
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page