X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Louis Garneau Mens Optimum Mat 2 Tights

Louis GarneauMen's Optimum Mat 2 Tights(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(13 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(7)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(54%)
(46%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Nice Tights But Very Lightweight
by Brad
Cycling Enthusiast
North Carolina
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These tights are a bit lighter than I anticipated (I should have done a little more "homework" before I purchased them). Basically what you are getting is a wind barrier for your legs with minimal insulation that comes with having a thin layer of material. I love the pocket, going forward I will not buy shorts/tights without them; pockets are far more useful than you would think on shorts/tights. The material is very stretchy, lightweight and packable so if things warm up you could remove and store them in a jersey pocket. Overall I am glad I have them but I just need something that falls between my deep winter tights and these. I would choose these for temps maybe 45-50 degrees F.

Reviewed 2/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light Tights from Louis Garneau
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've always liked Louis Garneau products - good quality at a good price. The optimum Mat 2 tights pretty much fit the bill. Light weight for the time of the year just before you go to shorts. No chamois - I don't like tights with a chamois. Recommended.

Reviewed 6/13/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good slightly chilly weather tight
by richgfcst
Cycling Enthusiast
North of Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

1. Thin material is nice for those days when its too cold for shorts, but not cold enough for a winter tight.

2. Reflective components good enough to feel confident don't need reflective ankle bands when cycling just past dusk.

3. Sized on the wide size of sizing specifications.

4. Only negative: The top section is uncomfortably over my belly button. I fold over that top section a little lower than than my bibs start to be more comfortable.

Reviewed 10/3/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Tights!
by Clay
Cycling Enthusiast
Land O Lakes, FL.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The tights are good for cool weather not cold. They are form fitting tights. I purchased the medium and I'm 5'11" at 178 lbs. I like them a lot and an added bonus is a side pocket for your phone. I'm pretty happy!

Reviewed 4/20/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good product
by danj66dallas
Cycling Enthusiast
Dallas, TX
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Note: I own an LG jersey is inferior and I so was initially afraid of LG quality when buying these tights. I was also hesitant due to the fact that these have no padding (extra wear on my current shorts and complexity with dressing). But I've been very happy with these and glad I got them. They have no fleece lining. They have been great for chilly weather and--depending on your constitution--I've found they are just about right for me starting with temps in the upper 50's F and below (I haven't found and documented a bottom range yet). I was initially afraid of a cheap cut and short length but I completely appreciate that they are generous in length, fit me well and fully (I'm heavy for my size). They did not leave my knees constrained or my ankles cold (I am 5'9", 33" inseam, 34" waist, ordered large and it has been about right). They seem to keep my legs warm but they can cause my legs to sweat when it gets into the 60s. As they are nylon, they wick about as you would expect. There are no bottom zippers and I have just a slight tussle getting my feet into them initially always, but not at the cuffs. I'm not finding any issues wearing padded shorts underneath. These are a great basic tight although I feel they are a bit pricey at full retail. I'm hoping I can catch them on sale again (my value rating is based on Black Friday sale price)... I would be happy to order another pair of these.

Reviewed 1/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Economical and Gets the Job Done
by Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ

I purchased these for cold winter mornings. They fit over my cycling shorts, allowing me to shed them as things warm up. They scrunch up into my jersey pocket. I'm 5'11" and I bought a medium. They're just a little long, but fit fine otherwise.

Reviewed 2/7/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Economical and Gets the Job Done
by Anonymous
Scottsdale, AZ

I purchased these for cold winter mornings. They fit over my cycling shorts, allowing me to shed them as things warm up. They scrunch up into my jersey pocket. I'm 5'11" and I bought a medium. They're just a little long, but fit fine otherwise.

Reviewed 2/11/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice lighter weight tights
by RidingFine
Cycling Enthusiast
CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Just right for about 50 degree weather and probably a bit cooler. medium is a good fit for me - 5'10/ 170lb, though I wear pants with a 30" inseam (on the short side) and the legs on these are a bit long - they still work fine - I scrunch it up at my ankle or fold over a cuff

Reviewed 11/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice extra layer in the 40 degree weather
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Kalamazoo,MI

I primarily use this for an extra layer when it is 35 to 45 degrees. I have warm tights and like this thin layer over my warmer thighs when it is below 45 degrees

Reviewed 4/14/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Atlanta

These tights work very well: they stay in place but don't constrict movement, they keep me warm down to the low 30s, and I like the pocket (my cell phone fits and holds well).

Reviewed 2/28/2022
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
bd\beautifully made, but too thin for cold weather protection
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Olympia WA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Well constructed of quality materials, but unfortunately too long in the legs, and too thin for thermal protection in cold weather. I wore them on one ride in 40-degree weather, and cut my ride short to go home and change back to my old, warmer tights.

Reviewed 1/22/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works for Most Cold Days
by NVCycler
Cycling Enthusiast
Virginia

This is a medium weight but warm tight that should work for most riders for the most days of cold weather. It is comfortable, looks good, and well made. And it is great value like most Louis Garneau products.

Reviewed 1/16/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very nice lightweight tights
by Tom P.
Seattle, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Well made, classy looking, lightweight tights. Small fit me well. I am 5'9".

Reviewed 11/15/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.