CLICK HERE to join our Email List and get 15% off your first order*
*Restrictions Apply. Click for details.
X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Lizard Skins DSP Handlebar Tape 3.2 mm

Lizard SkinsDSP Handlebar Tape 3.2 mm(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(49 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(35)
(7)
(1)
(4)
(2)
(71%)
(14%)
(2%)
(8%)
(4%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by bikechefgr

expensive but worth it!
by bikechefgr
Cycling Enthusiast
los altos, california
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

The thicker version takes care of vibrations while providing a solid grip. I put this tape on my cx bike and my road bike. Nice sticky texture on the surface.

Reviewed 5/18/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by bobvin

Better than double wrapping!
by bobvin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I recently got a box of this tape and when I peeled the paper off the adhesive, the adhesive came off with the paper. Ugh! I wrapped anyway, and contacted Lizard Skins who sent a replacement box. Well, it wasn't needed as the tape has held fast and not moved around at all. I totally love this tape. I ride bare handed now frequently where I've never done that in the past. The feel is grippy without being sticky, nicely plush, and it looks good too. So hats off to Lizard Skins for awesome customer service and for making a great tape. I've tried many over 30 years cycling, and this stuff is terrific. I put it on my wife's bike and she loves it too. Buy this tape, and thank me later!

Reviewed 4/21/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by MG_Chicago

Best Bar Tape EVER!!!
by MG_Chicago
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

I ride mostly long distance and comfortable hands is important. Numbness is never fun and long term it can be dangerous to your health. This bar tape is a thicker than most people are used to but after you get used to it you won't want to go back. This stuff is cushy and keeps it's cushiness for a long time. I've had one set of this on my road bike for over a year and the only issue I had was it unraveling from one section. That mostly has to do with installation technique. I would recommend for those that want extra padding on the top of the bars or where ever they place their hands most to take some of the extra length that Lizard Skins provides and place it under the bar tape that you will wrap around the bars for even more padding. This bar tape also in my opinion handles wet conditions well and doesn't get slippery when extremely wet. It seems to retain some grip even when hands are sweaty or gloves are wet. I would recommend this bar tape and consistently do for people that ask.

Reviewed 4/23/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Like a big pillow for your hands
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I put this fat tape on my cross bike to help absorb some shock. It's super easy to wrap (once you get used to the thickness), looks great, and feels even better. Love Lizard Skins!

Reviewed 2/20/2015
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Very high quality
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
St. Louis,MO
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color

Lizard Skins handlebar tape very cushioning and high quality. I have it on my road bike and am very happy with it.

Reviewed 10/21/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Pcwace

Feels and looks great initially... doesnt hold up
by Pcwace
Portland, OR
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color

I really wanted to like this tape. It looks fantastic and has great grip and vibration dampening, unfortunately it gets dirty really easy (and very hard to clean) and starts to wear out after only about 15 hours of use. It literally started disintegrating on all the pressure points. Might be a great window dressing for showing off your bike but if you actually ride it, forget it.

Reviewed 8/14/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by chrichardsm6

The Lizard sheds its' skin
by chrichardsm6
Cycling Enthusiast
Walnut Creek, CA
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I had all kinds of bar tape for over thirty years. None of them ever cost this much and pealed its' skin off in a matter of months. I won't buy this again. I would post photos here but I don't see where it's possible. It's definitely a comfortable, secure grip. Perhaps that's why it can't take really hard use. It peels right where your hands hold tight in the drops or climbing, in or out of the saddle.

Reviewed 6/9/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Jonohobart

Wrist therapy
by Jonohobart
Cycling Enthusiast
Australia
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to apply, no tangles like some others. Gives excellent grip and importantly reduces shock from the road to help prevent wrist and nerve discomfort.( 3.2 thickness) with no detriment to handling. Great range of colours.

Reviewed 5/27/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DonWA

OK so far
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tape is real grippy and looks great when first put on. I have not experienced yet the peeling problem others have. If the tape holds up for a couple of seasons which I feel is a reasonable request then I'm satisfied with it. If it starts to peel or fall apart in any other way then it won't be worth it and my next tape will be a different brand.

Reviewed 5/17/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DonWA

Potentially good
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The tape is very grippy. I have not had it on long enough to experience the outer layer peeling off. If I get a couple of years out of this tape I'll be happy. If it comes apart and looks bad as other reviewers have noted then it definitely is not worth the price. We'll see.

Reviewed 5/2/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by DonWA

Grippy
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tape has a really grippy feel and looks great when new. It's expensive so I haven't decided yet whether it was worth it. Don't have enough miles on it yet to experience the peeling problem others have stated. If it happens then it definitely is not worth it.

Reviewed 4/21/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rick

Feels great, durability is terrible
by rick
Cycling Enthusiast
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Love the grippy feel of the tape but the outer layer started to peel after 500 miles and rapidly got worse. Never again

Reviewed 5/27/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AMP

Great Grip and Dampening.
by AMP
Portland
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

The 3.2 thickness helps absorb road chatter and provides excellent grip.

Reviewed 4/16/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Love the feel and padding
by Anonymous
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I love the color of mine (bright green) as well as the extra padding. Took off 1 star because it is not significantly more padded than my 2.5mm ones although the way they advertise it, youd think it was much more padded. In fact I cant even tell the difference unless Im holding my different tapebar setups back to back! As with all DSP I love the feel of this tape in dry and wet conditions.

Reviewed 2/26/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by StairMaster Midwest

Great for my arthritic hands
by StairMaster Midwest
Cycling Enthusiast
SW FL
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color

I bought the thickest version as I have osteoarthritis in all my finger joints, back and neck. Great grip, shock absorption and worth the money.

Reviewed 2/1/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great Handle Bar Tape
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NE Ohio
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color

This is a great handle bar tape and I love the extra cushioning it gives. It really cuts sown the road vibration compared to other handle bar tapes.

Reviewed 12/25/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by PappyDE

Best White Bar Tape .. Period
by PappyDE
Competitive Racer
Newark, DE
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Lizard Skins from Bike Tire Direct was a great value on sale. By far this is the best white bar tape on the market. Cleans up easy and lasts whereas its competitors wear quickly picking up soiled marks and looking grungy. Spend the extra money and get Lizard Skins!

Reviewed 12/23/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Beachbiker52

Great cushion for the bars
by Beachbiker52
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern California
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color

This 3.2 tape provides a cushy ride for my gravel bike. Cushioned but still allows good control.

Reviewed 11/14/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Zatoichi

Not a fan any longer.
by Zatoichi
Cycling Enthusiast
Sierra Foothills, CA
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color

I was a big fan of this tape at one time (especially after the 3.2 mm came out), as it is nice on the hands. However, long-term durability is not great, after a season or two, the colored outer layer starts to peel, leaving the tape looking shoddy. Any color other than black tends to get dirty quickly, and getting the dirt off is difficult to impossible (I recently tried to clean a friend's red Lizard Skins tape using Rock N' Roll Miracle Red degreaser, this stuff normally cleans most anything, but it didn't work at all on this tape). Given that MSRP is now $46 a box, I won't be using it any longer. Fizik tape is more durable and cheaper, though not as cushy.

Reviewed 10/28/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Excellent Bar Tape
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
NH
Review for Lizard Skins DSP 3.2 Handlebar Tape - Single Color

Somewhat expensive but excellent bar tape. The thicker 3.2 mm tape offers more padding.

Reviewed 8/17/2017
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page