Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Light and Motion Vis 180 Commuter Tail Light

Light and MotionVis 180 Commuter Tail Light(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(22 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(9)
(6)
(2)
(3)
(2)
(41%)
(27%)
(9%)
(14%)
(9%)
Bright but attachment weak
by Anonymous
Portland, OR
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I have several headlights from Light &Motion and think they're great. Unfortunately this taillight doesn't deliver. It's a tall taillight meaning that if you have a saddlebag, it will not fit on your seatpost. So instead the instructions suggest clipping it on the saddlebag and this is the problem. The clip is weak and you can expect the light to fall off quickly. Say goodbye to $80. There are better designed and bright taillights on the market so skip this one.

Reviewed 7/17/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great little light!
by Jonel33
Casual Cyclist
Richland, WA
1 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I don't ride at night but I still felt that a taillight was warranted for day riding considering traffic, etc. My riding partner has the same light and I saw that it was quite visible even on bright days and with a considerable amount of distance between us. In fact his fell off once on a ride and we hadn't noticed where it came off. We went back on our route and about a mile back I saw a flashing red light in the tall grass and was able to retrieve his light. If it hadn't been flashing there would have no way to see it. He also told me that after having his for a year he had not experienced any problems with it.

Reviewed 7/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
good only for seatpost mounting, not helmets
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist

The L&M website claims the light can be mounted on helmets. The mounting bracket is designed to work only on seat posts which slope toward the taillight's direction. Helmets slope the away from the taillight's direction making a helmet mount useless. On a helmet, the light shines toward the sky, not towards cars.

Replaced the VIS180 with a Orfos Flare Pro, Much brighter and points more toward cars. The VIS180 would work better on a helmet if it could be mounted horizontally.

Reviewed 6/12/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
not perfect and I think overpriced.
by sax
Daily Commuter
Portland
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

First of all I have owned this for about a year. I do like the brightness, modes, and usb charging. I dont like the removal and strap. As already mentioned the strap is very long (good to fit lots of seatpostsseattubes?) but there is not a nice way to control the tail. it just sticks out. not a killer but annoying. The removal from the strapclamp is vertical slotted so you need lots of clearance above the light so if you have a tool bag and a med to short post you cant easily take it on and off without undoing the strap. I would recommend only for some bikes.

Reviewed 11/14/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Updated review
by Hill-Pumper
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley OR

I feel that I need to revise my first review in fairness to Light and Motion. If you read my previous review, it stated that I had lost the light in its first outing. I then contacted them directly letting them know what had happened. To my surprise, they replaced the light free of charge with proof that I had a receipt. When I received the new light, I still felt like the mounting that they advise on their website will not work on clothing or saddle packs. What I did instead was to take the seat post mount that they provide, and zip tied the mount to my saddle bag. Since then I have subjected numerous miles of gravel roads, and to date the light has stayed on. I deducted a star just because if your follow the instructions for using it without the mount, you stand a good chance of losing it. That said, it is a well built light that has a great company that stands behind it!

Reviewed 8/17/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not that waterproof
by jimsunn
Competitive Racer
Ontario, Canada

I'm a Light and Motion fan. I transitioned back to a Stella Headlight after twice having Lupine battery issues and I use a Light and Motion Urban 800 as another of my main headlights for commuting in the Canadian winter - I'm impressed with both, but my Vis 180 taillight gave out after 1 winter commute. I can see moisture in it - a taillight normally takes a beating in the rain and roadspray but I do expect more than one season from a $XX light. This is one piece of kit that I made the mistake of buying elsewhere.

Reviewed 3/29/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
After 5 years and 500 charging cycles this remains an incredible light but now looks a little expensive
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle, WA

I am sure that my light is the previous 50 lumen version. The high pulse setting is great during the day and the low flashing setting is more than adequate in the dark but the high flashing is better if there are street lights. It has been on my commuting bike with fenders almost all of that time but it has also made it throught 2-3 long very wet fenderless rides without any problems, even after it was several years old. The pulse mode is good for a day group ride without being annoying but it really needs to be pointed down and out of the other guy's eyes.

It really needs to be attached to a round tube with the silicone band. I tried clipping it to a jersey pocket a couple of weeks after I bought it as someone else did to their bike bag and mine too was lost. I did choose to immediately replace it.

Now after 5 years the light will still run for 3 hours on high but will only hold a charge for 2-3 days at which point it will not turn on. for the first couple years it could sit for 1-2 months. The price was $XXX then which was reasonable because there was really nothing else like it. Today, however, I think there may be some cheaper competitors. If someone were to steal it off my bike I would buy it again but I would wait for it to go on sale.

Reviewed 3/13/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Probably a good light if it does not fall off.
by Hill-Pumper
Cycling Enthusiast
Willamette Valley OR

First of all, I am a big fan of Light and Motion products, but this one broke my heart. It seemed to be a good solid build, and according to my research, a great light. That said, the mounting system failed on its first outing, and was lost. I had it placed on the back of my saddle bag as per the instructions on L&M's website. I made sure it felt solid before I left, and after a 25 mile ride, it fell off somewhere. At $XXX I should expect better. Now my dilemma is to decide if I should put out the money again and hope for the best, or try something else.

Reviewed 3/6/2016
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best tail light on the market. Great for commuting and randonneuring.
by Sapper211
Cycling Enthusiast
South Dakota

Great light, mounts almost anywhere. The above poster says its not quick release once you put it in its mount. This is incorrect, once in its mount, to release all you do is push in on the light (pressure toward the mount) and at the same time move the light vertically, and it's released. If anything, it's faster than a quick release. Battery life is amazing. Have received many comments on how it's visible from the side.

Reviewed 11/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Light and Motion makes the best bike lights I have ever seen or used.
by John Biddick
Cycling Enthusiast
Aptos, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I use a rear light more and more during the day. Ii makes me more visible. I have bought them for my adult children and encourage their use at all times. They are light and easy to use.

Reviewed 6/8/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright even in daylight
by Anonymous
Casual Cyclist
NYC
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I bike during the day on heavily trafficed urban streets, this light gives me the comfort of additional visibility to vehicular traffic

Reviewed 6/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright light with sturdy mount
by roblew
Cycling Enthusiast
Belmont, CA
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

This is a nice, bright light with nice side amber lights. I like the pulsing option which is not obnoxious for riders behind (versus blinking lights). The mounting strap is really long for regular seat posts, with nowhere to place the extra slack. I thought it would work nicely on my aero seat post (on Colnago K.Zero), but the light won't stay in place if the road is not perfectly smooth.

Reviewed 5/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright very visible light with a critical design flaw.
by Western Flyer
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR
2 of 6 customers found this review helpful.

The Viz 180 may well be the most visible eye catching tail light on the market today, but it suffers from a fatal design flaw. The on/off pattern control button and the USB port are located exactly opposite each other with only small embossed USB trident and international C- control symbols on the black rubber covers to distinguish the two from each other. Reaching over your saddle (perhaps in a poorly lit garage) to charge the light, it is very easy to mix the two up and pop the control cover off, which is impossible to reseat.

I would not recommend it to a friend.

Reviewed 5/22/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Long burn time, easy to mount
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Essex, CT

I use mine for daytime visibility, and in the 1 pulsing mode it gives me 6 hours of battery life, adequate for most of my rides. It seems plenty bright. I bought extra mounts for about $10 and put one mount on each bike. The mount worked nicely on the seatpost of one bike, but when I mounted it on the other bike's seatpost there was insufficient clearance under my seatbag to slide it upwards to remove it. So I had to attach the mount upside down on one of the seat stays, which works fine. As for the extra-long mounting strap getting in the way, you can simply shorten it with a scissors. I'm very pleased with my Vis 180.

Reviewed 5/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Functions as Expected
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago suburbs, IL
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

While Functions as Expected may not seem glowing, I had high expectations for this tail light and the Light & Motion Vis 180 has not let me down. Bright with sufficient different light modes and secure mounting option for seatpost (which is what I intended). I use it mainly for commuting on a CX bike.

Reviewed 4/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Very bright
by 4day
Casual Cyclist
Mn

I wanted to be sure I would be noticed during daytime riding. It is very bright. I have also strapped it on my arm when walking at night.

Reviewed 4/13/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Crazy bright, but the mounting strap could be a bit stronger
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Pros This light really is crazy bright, and the side lights are bright enough to attract attention from motorists. I like the fact that the light has a pulse mode, and that it's rechargeable.

Cons I've only been using it for a few months, but the mounting strap seems a bit flimsy for the job. I've reefed on the strap to get it to stay put on my mountain bike, but it still slips around a bit.

Reviewed 1/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer
Portland

Size is right for seatpost, battery life is good, brightness is great even on lower battery-saving setting.

Reviewed 1/2/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Bright light but a little heavy
by Bikeaholic
Cycling Enthusiast
Healdsburg, CA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

There are four modes 70 lumens (red)25 lumens (yellow) blinking, 35 lumens (red) blinking13 lumens (yellow), 75 lumens (red) constant, and 5 lumens (yellow) blinking. Whereas some reviewers have complained about the strap being too long, it is easy to deal with the extra length by double looping it. My only complaint is that this light is a little heavy, but it is very bright and it attaches easily to my seat stay. I am only 5'4 so I do not have room on my seat post to mount a light. I must mount a light on my seat stay. Note I mount the light upside down so that the angle is directed horizontally. I like this light. Much brighter than what I had before Serfas Thunderbolt Tail Light (UTL-6). This Light & Motion taillight weighs 100g on my Park gram scale.

Reviewed 3/6/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
solid light
by laidbackrider
Cycling Enthusiast
East Bay SF area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This is a powerful and well-built light. It's a bit heavy for what I use it for (night urban commute). The clip system is not quick-release once you've put it into the mount it's meant to stay there. Of course it's still quick to remove by undoing the strap, but it wasn't what I was expecting.

Reviewed 10/26/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page