X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Lazer G1 MIPS Helmet

LazerG1 MIPS Helmet(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(9 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(6)
(3)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(67%)
(33%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Great Helmet - Safe & Light
by TDough
Cycling Enthusiast
Fairfield County, CT

I've been using this helmet all summer now - about 1000 miles. It's light and well ventilated and yet feels very secure and safe.

Reviewed 9/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Helmet I've Had
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Minneapolis, MN

Lightweight (you forget it's there), doesn't block your vision so you can keep your head down more and still see without craning your neck, good range of adjustability so you can ride with headbands, etc. or without and it'll fit regardless, and it vents really well to keep air flowing on hot days. Only issue I have is that it doesn't have vents that are good for holding sunglasses. I've just started putting them behind my head under the helmet instead and that works too. This thing is by far my favorite helmet that I've tried.

Reviewed 8/6/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Eye catching color (orange) , great fit and light.
by T Duns
Cycling Enthusiast
Kensington, CA USA

Nothing to shake a stick at. Nice looking, fits my big head well and easy to adjust.

Reviewed 8/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Lightweight-YES
by gracehowler
Cycling Enthusiast
Colorado, USA

We also use intercoms on our tandem, so a lightweight helmet is very nice. Lazer definitely cuts some frill to make this helmet so light and the only complaint we have is the buckle is a bit hard to operate.

If light is high on your list, this helmet is a great deal.

Love the orange color!

Reviewed 5/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice Helmet
by Tom
Chicago
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

It is a nice, light helmet. The MIPS feature is a plus. The back head cradle retention system does loosen. I have noticed this in other Lazer helmets too. I find myself having to tighten it often during a ride.

Reviewed 4/2/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
This helmet is very light, venti, low profile for a Lazar, one of their all time best helmets for sure.
by Pete
Competitive Racer
Riverside, Corona, CA

I have many road helmets, this is my favorite because it is low profile, great fit, venti, and very light, is a little pricy but worth it.

Reviewed 8/27/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
High rated for safety
by Exploe42
Cycling Enthusiast
Cincinnati, Oh

I bought this helmet because it had one of the highest safety ratings. It vents well and is lighter than many comparable MIPS based helmets. The retention system took a little time to get used to but once I did the helmet felt great. I love that its light, vents well in the heat and still gets high safety ratings by Virginia Tech testing.

Reviewed 6/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Excellent helmet light, ventilated and comfortable
by Anand
Cycling Enthusiast
Manchester, NH
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I recently bought a Specialized prevail 2 helmet which I like very much. I wanted another light and comfortable helmet and decided to buy the Lazer based on its excellent safety rating from Virginia Tech. I ordered the orangeblack in size medium and the helmet arrived in three days. I have bought other items such as saddles from Bikesdirect and am very pleased with their service and prices. The Lazer G1 arrived well packaged in a cardboard box. Inside the box, the helmet itself was in its original box wrapped in plastic. A cloth cover, extra pads (in red) were also included in the box along with instructions. An excellent buying experience.

I have done about two longish rides with the Lazer in the hot and humid weather we are experiencing in the NE and the helmet is remarkably comfortable, very well ventilated and very light. The sticker inside the helmet indicates a weight of 270 g (compared to 260 g for the Prevail) and circumference in the range of 55-59 cm. The padding is more than adequate. Compared to the Specialized, the Lazer is smaller and lower in profile but feels remarkably similar. The roller mechanism on top to tighten the helmet works well but it does loosen during the ride as mentioned in another review. The Lazer also has a plastic tab inside the helmet which is supposed to be used to adjust vertical position of the liner. Unfortunately, I couldn't even move the sliding tab and decided not to force it in case it broke. The default position of 3 (range 1-5) fits me well. Overall, the Lazer is an excellent helmet and comparable to the Specialized prevail 2. The Specialized has some other features such as a crash sensor.

Reviewed 6/19/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice low profile looks, weight not superlative, retention and straps could be better.
by Seattle Dave
Cycling Enthusiast
Seattle WA
9 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

The G1 mips M weighs a few grams more than my Giro Synthe mips M. I really like the styling, its lower profile in height and width than my Synthe. Weight wise, I was disappointed the Lazer is slightly heavier. Im on the verge of being to big for the med size of most helmets, and the G1 feels a hair slightly larger than the Synthe. The retention device on the G1 with the roller on top tightens down moderately tight before it gives up and skips. The Synthe mechanism squeezes headache tight if one desires, and overall the G1 retention does not seem to really help hold the helmet on my head. The G1 doesnt grab my head like the Synthe does, but that may just be the shape of my head. I find the helmet can wander high on my forehead. Your mileage may vary. Also, the Y- strap brackets on the sides of the straps (on either side of your jaw) dont stay where you adjust them to be which is annoying. They can be easily moved by casual handling. Beyond these annoyances, the helmet is comfortable, and looks nice and well made. Just wish it were a bit lighter as they tout the light weight, and the straps were a bit more secure.

Reviewed 2/11/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.