X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
AVOID SHIPPING DELAYS & SHORTAGES THIS HOLIDAY SEASON - SHOP NOW!
Lake CX241-X Wide Road Shoe

LakeCX241-X Wide Road Shoe(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(8 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(8)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(100%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
Cruise on these Lakes
by Maywantee
Cycling Enthusiast
Washington

This shoe has changed my orthopedic cycling life in a good way. This shoe is like a collage of all the things missing from other shoes. I have been a shoe loyalist for over 20 years, I thought I had the best. This shoe has altered my allegiance and my old shoes are now my back-up pair. The features of this shoe are notable. Aside from being the most comfortable cycling shoe I have ever worn, the designers have incorporated small details that make a really big difference. There are drain holes in the bottom! If you have ever ridden in the rain and filled your shoes with water, you will know how beneficial this is. The quick release lacing is brilliant, the construction solidly durable and the fit for my wide feet is reminiscent of the most comfortable slippers I have ever owned.

Reviewed 10/21/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The most practical and effective road shoes for yours truly.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I do quite a bit of off the saddle cycling (hills), over periods of 3 to 5 hours. I appreciate the stability and nice power transfer afforded by these shoes. But what really sets them apart is the plush comfort and easy adjustability. I love them, though I probably should have ordered black, since they are heading in that direction anyway :)

Reviewed 8/5/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Outstanding purchase for this wide-footed cyclist.
by KSottak
Cycling Enthusiast
Baltimore, MD
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I purchased these shoes after researching wide-soled/high-volume cycling shoes. I'm a bigger road cyclist (6'4"/190 lbs) with a high arch and apparently wider than usual front foot, although never required wide athletic or dress shoes. However, on longer rides (75 miles or more) in hot weather, I would develop excruciating hot spots on the balls of my feet, which I learned were caused by foot swelling/nerve compression inside a too narrow and rigid cycling shoe. I have tried many brands and styles, and ultimately took to wearing a PI model that was 1.5 sizes too large to allow extra space for my foot to swell. Read a good article about shoes with wider lasts vs. "high volume" and, after reading some outstanding reviews of the Lake CX241-X, decided to give them a try. I am very pleased. They fit like a glove--no more toes wiggling/foot sliding around inside the too long, poor fitting toe box. Boa adjusters make the fit perfect, and the soles are stiff and transfer power very well. Have ridden about 2 months, most recently on a century, and they felt great the whole time. They're not cheap (the only reason I didn't rate them a higher "value"), but at 50+ years old, I've come to appreciate critical importance of the foot-shoe-pedal interface to an enjoyable cycling experience,

Reviewed 11/9/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Shoe for Folks with Foot Issues
by kthuber
Cycling Enthusiast
Pasadena, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Lake designed these shoes specifically for people with foot issues. They are a game-changer for me. I have a bunion and hammer toe on my left foot, plus I have to wear a brace on that ankle. These are the only road shoes I have found that are comfortable.

Your foot is inside a smooth fabric "sock", so there are no spots that rub or pinch. And you have lots of freedom of adjustment in terms of where the shoe is tighter and looser. These shoes are very high quality with a really stiff carbon sole and nice, supple leather.

I love them so much I bought an extra pair for when my current pair wears out!

Reviewed 10/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Fantastic shoes for wide feet
by j.anthony
SC
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

These shoes have changed my life... seriously. I have wide feet, and have tried every major brand�s �wide� options. My last pair, a major brand out of CA which makes some nice helmets, were my most comfortable to date, but when I first put on my Lakes, I knew right away what I was missing. The problem with most other brand�s wide or high-volume options is they use the same sole (last) as their regular fit, and just add more upper material and claim a �spill over� area. It�s cheaper to manufacture, but what happens is your foot isn�t fully supported. You wouldn�t ride on a saddle that was narrower than your sit bones, right? Well, I didn�t know any better, and thought I had a nerve problem in my big toe, as it�d go numb on rides over 90 minutes, and be downright painful. Cycling is pain, so Rule #5 (HTFU) and I pushed through.

No longer. The Lake shoes have a wider last, and my foot is fully supported... the shoes disappear on my feet. No special insert is needed, and the uppers wrap around so nicely. They�re not the lightest, or the stiffest, but I don�t care anymore. They�re still very stiff, and power transfer is great... better yet, my feet are so comfortable that I can push harder, for longer, and do it without pain in my feet. Add the heat moldable heel cup and words fail to describe the perfection of the fit. I�m not going back.

If you have wide feet, do yourself a favor and treat yourself. These shoes are worth it.

Reviewed 8/23/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Wide Forefoot-Perfect Shoe
by M Perry
Ohio
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Simply put, I needed a wide toe box in a performance shoe. I have about 1000 mikes on these and love them. No more foot pain.

Reviewed 5/10/2021
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best road bike shoe I ever had!
by Robert HertBerg
orange county california
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

These shoes are very light, stiff and comfortable. They are everything you would ever want in a road shoe. They adjust so well with the double cable adjustment. I can get the right fit without pressure points anywhere.

Reviewed 9/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Pricey but worth
by Anonymous
los angeles
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have pretty wide feet and if you have any type of foot that is wide, look no further. I do always recommend getting insoles, no matter the shoe choice. One thing I wish would be better for the next iteration is stack height. But otherwise it is a perfect shoe.

Reviewed 8/20/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.