X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack

Kool StopTire Bead Jack(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(32 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(23)
(6)
(2)
(1)
(0)
(72%)
(19%)
(6%)
(3%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Kool Stop my one stop
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Monroe Township, NJ

Have 20 wheeled bike. Removing and reinstalling are difficult. Even the strongest in our clubs have difficulty, but Kool Stop never fails to insure the install.

Reviewed 6/18/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Helps with mounting 20 inch recumbent trike tires
by Shawnz
Indiana
0 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

This tool really helps with mounting 20 inch trike tires. I have no issues mounting larger tires on my bicycles but the 20 inch tires arent near as flexible. This tool isnt perfect but it does help get them on the rims.

Reviewed 5/12/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must-have tool for every cyclist
by Houston cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
The mean streets of Houston, TX
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

Bought the Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack to assist in mounting a tight Veloflex Corsa open clincher on a Mavic Open 4 CD rim. I got both Corsa tires on with bare hands (see Veloflex review elsewhere, great tire!), but when I developed a slow leak in one tube, I decided to give my sore thumbs a break and take a chance with the Kool Stop tool. (Veloflex warns against using tools to mount their tight clinchers.) I am glad I did.

The Kool Stop is simple, strong and well made, and somewhat mimics the action of two strong thumbs. Best of all, it is safe to the tube, the tire, the rim and the user, yet enables one to slip the tire on within seconds. There's almost no way one could damage a tire or tube with the Kool Stop. Even if it sits in the tool box for months, the first time you use it, it will pay for itself, particularly when mounting, tight, flat, non-vulcanized high-threadcount tires like Veloflex or Vittoria. I would give it more stars if I could. Consider it like buying insurance. Hopefully, you will never need it...but you will be glad it is there if you do.

Reviewed 3/24/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works well but be careful on rim edges
by David
Daily Commuter
Seattle
4 of 4 customers found this review helpful.

I used these to mount a tough Schwable G-OneHED rim combination and ended up bending the bead of the rim. They work well but can provide too much leverage and damage your rim.

While I was never able to mount the Schwable on the rim, I removed them, straightened the rim flange, and was able to mount a similarly difficult Gravelking on the rim, this time being careful to not damage the rim flange.

So heads up.

Reviewed 2/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Not for Tubless
by Don
San Diego CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I bought this tool to use with my tubless 700c tires and wheels. It was not able to hold the tire bead to get it onto the rim.

Reviewed 1/16/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
An absolute must have
by MePlusBike
Cycling Enthusiast
Florida
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

If you've EVER struggled with getting a tire on your rim this would have solved your problem and saved your thumbs.

I broke 3 tire levers before breaking down and buying this item. The difference is unbelievable!

In my case I was using Vittoria Randonneur tires on a bontrager rim. I know some tires are very easy to fit on the same rims but I dint have those and had gotten quite used to the tires I had. I had also struggled before with the same tire but got over not. I didn't know there was such a gadget.

While not the smallest item its not too big to strap under your saddle. I won't leave home without it cos changing a tire in the rain is no fun. Changing in the searing heat is no fun. Now I don't worry about it.

Reviewed 8/22/2019
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
great tool
by Michael
Daily Commuter
New Jersey

Used this tool to put on my Schwalbe Marathon 700c Tire (HS 420) 700x32 tires last night 8/21/20 and it made all the difference in the world .

I very highly recommend this tool.

Reviewed 8/22/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
gives you the leverage you need to mount tough tires
by scappoose cowboy
Cycling Enthusiast
the mts. between Scappoose and Vernonia, or.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Some of the newer tubeless tires are getting hard to mount, this lever helps pull that last section onto the rim.

Reviewed 7/3/2020
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Awesome little tool
by David
Mesa
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

This makes life a little too easy. I almost miss the challenge of putting on tight fitting ties with my bare hands until my palms are blistered, then resorting to using tire levers and pinch-flatting a couple of tubes. Ha! Never again! I ride a touring bike with a giant seat pack and keep this with me all the time.

Reviewed 5/28/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
easy tire handling
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Salem Oregon
2 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

It greatly helps to get the very tight fitting tires off the rims for more easily repairing flats on the road. The length makes it hard to store in most under saddle bags

Reviewed 5/7/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Extra leverage for mounting tires.
by Phil W
Cycling Enthusiast
Southern Indiana
5 of 5 customers found this review helpful.

The Kool Stop Tire Bead Jack provides extra leverage for mounting those hard-to-mount tires. However, you must be careful not to pinch the tube when you grip the tire. It may be better for mounting tubeless tires. It works fine at home but it is too long for most seat bags or jersey pockets so it's not easy to take on the road.

Reviewed 3/13/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Time and finger saver
by Dr. Bob
Cycling Enthusiast
PNW
7 of 7 customers found this review helpful.

After a 2hr. struggle with Schwalbe tires and Mercury carbon rims I gave up. Saw the bead jack and gave it a try. 5 min. to mount 2 tires. Hooks over bead and levers over rim edge. If using tubes avoids the dreaded tube pinch.. Makes the first mount of tight tubeless tires to tubeless rims fairly easy. One of the top tools I have ever purchased for making your mechanic life easier.

Reviewed 9/23/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.