X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
COVID-19 Response
Kool Stop Dura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts

Kool StopDura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(50 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(42)
(6)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(84%)
(12%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page
Much better than Shimano equivalent
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Can't beat 'em for entry/enthusiast level for those of us who don't want to spend $45 a pop for a pair of pads.

Reviewed 4/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great for wet weather!
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A good wet weather brake is essential for my area. I use the salmon inserts and the grip is so good that I can lock up my wheel during the pouring rain, if I'm not careful. Easy to install.

Reviewed 1/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid Response
by calvesofsteel
Competitive Racer
Bay Area
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using Kool Stop brake pads for years now for all of my aluminum rim wheel. I also like that they are made there in the Portland area. The stopping power is positive and consistent. Wet or dry I have found the pads to work great. Testimonial, I continue to purchase these pads for the last 9 years.

Reviewed 10/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
As close as you can get to disks with rim brakes
by Wester Flyer
Portland OR

If you live anywhere as rainy as Portland OR, don't leave home without Kool stop dual color pads. The work wet or dry.

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
as advertised
by Nate Todd
Seattle

Works good

Reviewed 3/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A solid performer.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Ive used these replacement pads on my dry weather bike for years. Stopping power is great and they wear very well. And they fit perfectly in the pad holders.

Reviewed 2/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great brake pads
by Anonymous
seattle

They work even in wet conditions. Love them more than Shimano pads.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Great product. Works well. Easy to install.

Reviewed 4/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
okay but not great
by rob214
Cycling Enthusiast
nola

works okay but not as great as I had hoped for, just a bit better than stock

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great Brake Pads
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great Brakes!!!! Way better stopping power than the ones I had.

Reviewed 11/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A good upgrade for your brakes
by rgwis
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced the brake inserts that came with my road bike. These inserts haven't glazed over and provide a consistent smooth touch when braking.

Reviewed 9/6/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
All I have used for 5 years
by ebae
Competitive Racer
MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using these for over 5 years. Great stopping power in most conditions.

Reviewed 2/24/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Does it's job and does it better than the competition
by Anonymous
Albuquerque
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Don't bother with other brands, these are the only pads to get for your clinchers.

Reviewed 2/17/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Nice product for price.
by Mtbjkv
Phx

I found the compounds used in these pads exceeded oem parts. Quiet and sure, plus they seem easier on rim surface.

Reviewed 2/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great replacment pads
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought the dry (black) pads. Easy to install. Quiet, great modulation and stopping power. Very happy!

Reviewed 11/12/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Solid stopping power
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

Exactly as described. Easy to install. Firm stopping power.

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Still my favourite
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Summerland B.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've always had the best braking with Koolstops V brake pads on my mountain bikes so after having iffy results with some other options I went for these for the road. Nice to be back. There are probably other types including OEM that last longer, but these stop with less effort and are easy on the rims.

They seem a little loose in the holders but that's just as well as you don't have to struggle to get them in and out. This means you're more likely to pull them and clean the grit out more often.

Reviewed 8/18/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
My go to pads
by Larry
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakdale, Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A great replacement pad for what came on my bike. Quite a bit stickier and no chatter on long descents. Kool Stop is a good product.

Reviewed 7/23/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good stopping power
by dvm2003
Cycling Enthusiast

This is the first time I have used Kool Stop on my road bike and have been impressed. They work well in wet conditions and have no rim chatter. I would definitely buy again.

Reviewed 7/11/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great brake pads...
by sygibson
Competitive Racer
Portland, OR

Great all-around brake pads for mixed conditions riding. Can't speak to longevity on them yet.

Braking feel is nice, smooth, and progressive, no grabby feeling, confident stopping power.

Reviewed 2/14/2013
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page