X
Signin to Your Account
Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Kool Stop Dura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts

Kool StopDura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(52 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(44)
(6)
(2)
(0)
(0)
(85%)
(12%)
(4%)
(0%)
(0%)
Previous Page

User submitted reviews

Review by Victor H

Best wet weather pads
by Victor H
Cycling Enthusiast
Eagle Creek,OR

Best wet weather pad, so much better then Shimano. rode across the US this year and had to replace them around 3000 miles so they have good life to.

Reviewed 9/22/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Merlin

Great pads!
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These have been my go to brake pads for years as early (2002 vintage) Shimano pads would actually take metal off of rims when riding in wetgrimy conditions.

Of course here in Portland, OR, I have to replace brake pads more often than my previous location, but find these work well in the rain.

I typically keep a set or two in my inventory so I'll have them when I need them.

Reviewed 6/7/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

salmon color, nice but don't seem to work as well as hoped on non-machined rims in the rain.
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast

salmon color, nice, but don't seem to work as well as hoped on non-machined rims in the rain. I will wait to see if the new rims need more break in time. About double the force on the levers is needed on my commuting bike when it's raining. I am also wondering if their compound has changed from years ago.

Reviewed 6/4/2019
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by AMP

Reliable add easy to install
by AMP
Portland, OR

Salmon pads work extremely well in various conditions, so i installed a set prior to 'Cross season. The install takes just a few minutes and the pads will last through the end of the year.

Reviewed 11/6/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Wester Flyer

As close as you can get to disks with rim brakes
by Wester Flyer
Portland OR

If you live anywhere as rainy as Portland OR, don't leave home without Kool stop dual color pads. The work wet or dry.

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Nate Todd

as advertised
by Nate Todd
Seattle

Works good

Reviewed 3/2/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Merlin

A solid performer.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Ive used these replacement pads on my dry weather bike for years. Stopping power is great and they wear very well. And they fit perfectly in the pad holders.

Reviewed 2/22/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great brake pads
by Anonymous
seattle

They work even in wet conditions. Love them more than Shimano pads.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Merlin

Works well!
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

These are excellent pads for dry weather. I've used them for years (not the exact same pads, of course) to replace stock Shimano pads when they wear out.

Reviewed 2/4/2021
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Great product. Works well. Easy to install.

Reviewed 4/5/2017
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great Brake Pads
by Anonymous
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Great Brakes!!!! Way better stopping power than the ones I had.

Reviewed 11/6/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rgwis

A good upgrade for your brakes
by rgwis
Cycling Enthusiast
Vancouver, WA
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Replaced the brake inserts that came with my road bike. These inserts haven't glazed over and provide a consistent smooth touch when braking.

Reviewed 9/6/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by ebae

All I have used for 5 years
by ebae
Competitive Racer
MD
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have been using these for over 5 years. Great stopping power in most conditions.

Reviewed 2/24/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Does it's job and does it better than the competition
by Anonymous
Albuquerque
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Don't bother with other brands, these are the only pads to get for your clinchers.

Reviewed 2/17/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Mtbjkv

Nice product for price.
by Mtbjkv
Phx

I found the compounds used in these pads exceeded oem parts. Quiet and sure, plus they seem easier on rim surface.

Reviewed 2/10/2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Great replacment pads
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

Bought the dry (black) pads. Easy to install. Quiet, great modulation and stopping power. Very happy!

Reviewed 11/12/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Solid stopping power
by Anonymous
Competitive Racer

Exactly as described. Easy to install. Firm stopping power.

Reviewed 10/21/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by rob214

okay but not great
by rob214
Cycling Enthusiast
nola

works okay but not as great as I had hoped for, just a bit better than stock

Reviewed 10/22/2018
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Anonymous

Still my favourite
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Summerland B.C.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I've always had the best braking with Koolstops V brake pads on my mountain bikes so after having iffy results with some other options I went for these for the road. Nice to be back. There are probably other types including OEM that last longer, but these stop with less effort and are easy on the rims.

They seem a little loose in the holders but that's just as well as you don't have to struggle to get them in and out. This means you're more likely to pull them and clean the grit out more often.

Reviewed 8/18/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Review by Larry

My go to pads
by Larry
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakdale, Ca.
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

A great replacement pad for what came on my bike. Quite a bit stickier and no chatter on long descents. Kool Stop is a good product.

Reviewed 7/23/2013
Thank you for your feedback.

Next Page