Questions? Call our tri Specialists! 1-800-445-4790
Kool Stop Dura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts

Kool StopDura 2 Shimano-Type Brake Inserts(Return to Product Page)

Add your own review
(43 customer reviews)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 stars
(37)
(6)
(0)
(0)
(0)
(86%)
(14%)
(0%)
(0%)
(0%)
As close as you can get to disks with rim brakes
by Wester Flyer
Portland OR

If you live anywhere as rainy as Portland OR, don't leave home without Kool stop dual color pads. The work wet or dry.

Reviewed 6/11/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Best Brake Pads for the Money!!
by Chicago J
Cycling Enthusiast
Chicago, IL
8 of 9 customers found this review helpful.

I have been riding over 30 years, and have a taste for top dollar product only if they functionon. In my experience through out the years, the Kool Stop Dura Salmon Pads are the best pads for the money hands down. I often hear or read the most common question of which is better SwissStop or Kool Stops. Well that is a little bit of a complex answer. Both are the best pads in the business, yet there are differences. Kool Stop grabs almost instantly with great power in the dry with no fade under heavy application, and in the rain they stop very well except they have a couple second delay before grabbing and then again very quick strong power delivery. This can startle or even cause lock ups and skidding for some not expecting it. The Swissstops have far better modulation, which means no instant grabbing, rather very smooth initiation and then grab progressively stronger with more lever application. The other nicety is that in rain the Swissstops have no delay rather instant application even when wet, lending to a more predictable braking. For overall stopping power black pads from KS are close in my opinion to SS, but still not their equal, rather the Kool Stop Salmon(wet) vs. SwissStop GXP(Blue-wet) is a clearer winner as the SwissStops have better over braking power and much better modulation. The other key notes in both brakes is that neither cause any wear to aluminum rims, and also last about the same under similar use. The final thing to note is their cost vs performance, here is where the divide comes in as KS are far cheaper and more readily available than SS. So in final I run SS on my road race bike, and KS on my cyclocross rig, as they both certainly have their place.

Reviewed 7/21/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Work great as replacment pads.
by Andrew S. (TriSports.com Staff)
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland OR.
9 of 23 customers found this review helpful.

Always use these, they work great!

Reviewed 9/14/2009
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Salmon pads work great for mountain rides
by NC biker
Cycling Enthusiast
Raleigh NC

The Salmon brake pads work great on mountain rides... even in dry weather. Even though they wear faster than the black pads, the extra stopping power is welcome on technical descents.

Reviewed 7/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than Shimano
by DonWA
Cycling Enthusiast
Palatine, IL

The bike came with Shimano pads but i found them to be noisy and rough on my expensive rims. I swapped the original pads for these. Great choice. Braking is every bit as good as the originals and the noise is gone. I find the Kool Stops treat my rims much gentler. A great plus as I hate to prematurely wear out the rims because the brake pad material was too hard.

Reviewed 6/25/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great pads and affordable too!
by dg363
Competitive Racer
Tucson, AZ

Really happy with these pads. I like them better than my original Dura-Ace pads. Excellent stopping power and I'm a larger rider, close to 200 lbs. So far, they've lasted well. Excellent value too.

Reviewed 6/30/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
as advertised
by Nate Todd
Seattle

Works good

Reviewed 3/2/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A solid performer.
by Merlin
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Ive used these replacement pads on my dry weather bike for years. Stopping power is great and they wear very well. And they fit perfectly in the pad holders.

Reviewed 2/22/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Better than the stock pads
by Anonymous
upstate SC

I replaced the Dura Ace pads (3000 mi) with these pads I have now layed down a couple hundred miles on these pads. Better than the stock pad.

Reviewed 2/20/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great brake pads
by Anonymous
seattle

They work even in wet conditions. Love them more than Shimano pads.

Reviewed 1/15/2018
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good fit, easy to replace
by Cycle_rod
Kennewick, WA

These new pads easily slip into Shimano Dura-Ace brakes. Quick and simple fix to worn-out pads.

Reviewed 1/9/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Works great easy fit
by Anonymous
Pdx
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Easy to replace, moderate wear

Reviewed 5/28/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
The best choice for wet weather
by Steven S
Cycling Enthusiast
Sherwod, OR
3 of 3 customers found this review helpful.

I go through about one set of pads per season on each of my bikes. While the salmon pads do wear a little faster than black or dual compound, these provide the best braking, even on dry rims.

Wet weather braking power is fantastic, even with cantilevers. I have slowly moved all of my bikes to cartridge holders, which is much more economical in the long run. I keep a couple of extra sets n my toolbox so I can swap out a bike at any time.

Reviewed 3/20/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Good Brake Pads at a Good Price
by Tahoe One
Cycling Enthusiast
Lake Tahoe, NV
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I ride 500-600 miles per month...and change brake pads twice a year regardless of wear... I think pads dry out or become glazed...and I like the modulation or feel of new pads. The Kool Stops feels softer than Shimano replacement pads...which I like...and you cannot beat the price

Reviewed 1/26/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Great product
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

Great product. Works well. Easy to install.

Reviewed 4/5/2017
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Smoother Better Modulation Than Stock Ultegra
by SJ_SpinAddict
Cycling Enthusiast
San Jose, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

I got the combo (wet dry) model to replace the original Ultegra pads. Initially the pads felt a bit mushier than the old pads but they either broke in or I got used to the sensation so it's a not an issue now. The softer feel may have been caused the by the salmon colored wet braking material. The biggest difference is that I get better modulation which is a big plus. At the moment I can't say anything about the longevity (only for less than 500 miles so far) nor very wet weather braking capability. I've not ridden these in rain but they seem to work fine in misty conditions.

Yes, I'd get these again assuming they last relatively long considering the softer material. The stock pads lasted around 7,000 miles.

Reviewed 1/15/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
A must for wet weather riding
by Avid Cyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, Oregon

If you ride in wet weather, you need this salmon softer pad. It does make a significant difference compared to the standard stock-black (harder) pads that come on the bicycle. I run these pads year-round, and replace them more frequently because of the soft composition. But, I like the grab around the rim that the soft pads provide.

Reviewed 1/5/2015
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Easy to install and provides good stopping power
by Anonymous
Cycling Enthusiast
Portland, OR

The design of Kool Stop brake inserts make it a snap to replace worn out pads. They provide good stopping power. The only negative is they seem to wear out a little fast (the orange ones more than the black pads of course - but overall they wear a little quickly).

Reviewed 9/19/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Immediately impresses with the firm grippy feel.
by krryfx
Cycling Enthusiast
Michigan
1 of 1 customers found this review helpful.

I have put a lot of miles on my bike and it was time to replace the brake pads. After discussions, research and study, I chose these. I have put about 500 miles on them so far and they are better than anything I have ever used. Firm and soft (if that makes sense) Wet or dry, they do a great job. Will make these a regular for future use.

Reviewed 6/20/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Much better than Shimano equivalent
by OaktownCyclist
Cycling Enthusiast
Oakland, CA
2 of 2 customers found this review helpful.

Can't beat 'em for entry/enthusiast level for those of us who don't want to spend $45 a pop for a pair of pads.

Reviewed 4/10/2014
Was this review useful to you? Yes/No
Thank you for your feedback.
Next Page